We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchantment only partly lived up to the name” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Enchantment Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Enchantment Resort to your Saves list
Enchantment Resort
525 Boynton Canyon Rd., Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Cambridge, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Enchantment only partly lived up to the name”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2007

The main thing Enchantment has going for it is the amazing location. There are gorgeous red rock views in almost every direction you turn. Also, Mii Amo spa is absolutely fabulous. We always felt extremely at ease within Mii amo and enjoyed their cooking demos too. Mii amo is an excellent destination, the bad parts of this review apply only to Enchantment.
The food at Enchantment itself was a bit of a letdown. I guess they are trying to be healthy, but while that made sense at the spa, it makes less sense at the resort. Everything was undersalted and low on flavor. Breakfast was especially horrendous, everything seemed pre-made days before and reheated. The whipped cream was from a can and the maple syrup artificial. Cheap quality for high prices. We had much better food in town.
A major problem was that my husband developed a sudden allergy to fabric softener and got hives all over his side and shoulder. I contacted the front desk to request new sheets washed without fabric softener, and two days in a row they failed to adequately relay my request to housekeeping. Finally I realized I should just call housekeeping directly, and then a manager promptly understood and fulfilled my request. But I was very disappointed in the front desk's incompetence. On the second day of the trouble, I went in person to the front desk, and the woman seemed completely freaked out by my (politely and calmly delivered) complaint. She acted as if I was being very aggressive when I was very consciously being as low-key as possible, it was very strange and made me feel like it was my fault that we had this problem. All we needed was to be referred to a housekeeping manager! Very disappointing for such a supposedly high-class resort.
If I had to do it over again, I would buy some kind of Mii amo package to get that access, but stay at a much cheaper place in town.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,116
    266
    91
    49
    43
See reviews for
372
712
42
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2007

As you drive to get to this resort you will never forget the unbelievable views that you will see all around you......especially
as you are coming into the Canyon to arrive at the resort. We
stayed at the Enchantment to spend our 20th year Anniv. As
we entered to check in we had the most Awesome staff member
Dev to help us. He was great with our 3 children (yes we had to
bring our kids) and really made us feel welcome with our kids.
The casitas were great ......we especially loved the bathrooms and fireplace. The Mii Amo spa is a journey in itself and you
do not want to miss this Spa ! We hiked with our small children
and they just loved this place also! The coyote camp was great and they really enjoyed learning about all the indian culture and
making terrific crafts. Service was great thoughout our stay and
the only negative thing was that the Yavapai Rest. was wonderful
for breakfast but, a little bland for dinner (My husband ordered the
duck and did not particularly care for it and I had the scallops
and lobster dish. The scallops were great but the lobster had
no flavor.) Again though , the views were magnificent and the
dessert was yummy! Sedona itself has some great places to
eat and the Cowboy Club was our favorite! You have to try
the Prickly Pear Margarita and the Prickly Pear fries......they
are delicious! Definitely, go for the Cowboy Cookie dessert
as well !!! We had such a relaxing time and this trip was also
very educational for our children. We travel alot and our kids have been allover the Caribbean, but their first stay in Arizona
was great and this resort was heaven on earth!!

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

The Enchantment Resort and Mii Amo Spa is a luxury resort in the "World's Leading Hotel" group. And it belongs. I've stayed at several hotels in the "World's Leading Hotel" group, usually high-end resorts near major world attractions, and this one is stunning. The terrain is so beautiful, and the people are so warm, it takes a while to adjust, if you're from the city like I am.

I stayed for three days in August of 2007, and was blown away. When I read the reviews online, I thought, "Egh. Sounds okay, I guess." But the view from our hacienda astounded us—the red rocks of Sedona literally enveloped the valley where this private resort is nestled. It's breathtaking! There's no other resort in Sedona like this. And there's nothing in this valley except this resort. It is private, secluded, and sprawling. Avid hikers will go nuts here. The resort sits among several hidden hiking trails of varying degrees of difficulty. I prefer to hike to the restaurants.

The resort's restaurants are great, with unique dishes made with fresh ingredients, and a healthy flair. Even the standard dishes have a decent presentation, and each restaurant has a poised, gracious staff. I found the prices to be reasonable. And after a recent trip to Europe, the prices here are a bargain.

The spa is cavernous with a massive hot and dry sauna and whirlpool, and room after room of other whacked-out new age amenities—from hot rock massages to whirlpools and meditation rooms. The spa also features an interesting restaurant where the wait staff really loves to talk food.

Back on the grounds, there's a chipping green golf course, nine holes, which is mind-blowing considering you're golfing among the Red Rocks, with golf carts whirring past every couple of minutes delivering clients to various locations in the huge campus.

The staff is friendly and is happy to cart you to wherever you'd like to go on the campus. (Five dollar tips here and there let them know you mean business, and the service level met the expectation. Even at a luxury resort, if you tip bigger than most, watch the service level jump. It's fun to watch. When you tip big, there's always someone available, always someone to help.) To the spa. Back to the golf course lodge. Back to your room. I'm not much of a hiker, so I asked an attendant to drive me on a golf cart to the start of the hiking trail. (They would have driven the golf cart over the edge of a cliff if I'd asked them.) Room service is great, not only for the presentation, but for the almost invisible staff that picks up your tray almost as soon as you leave it outside your door. Silent. Gracious. Invisible. Accessible. Almost eerie. In the middle of the wilderness, no less.

Regarding the location of the hotel, it's a little off the beaten path, but Sedona's so small anyway, that you cover the town and all its shops in about a half-day. So what's a ten minute drive from downtown to an incredible, secluded luxury resort?

I did notice that there was a very crowded cluster of haciendas just behind the hotel central building. All of the haciendas appeared to be booked, with cars overflowing the streets. It was so strange to see this traffic jam, when the rest of the resort was deserted. In our cluster of haciendas, the entire road was empty. We were just next door to the main hotel building, yet so secluded. Were all those people together in the same group? Did they choose low end rooms in a cluster? We had a secluded two king bed hacienda with balcony. It was more like a suite, I guess for about 250 bucks a night. What other options were there? After seeing the suite, who cares? Ask for a suite in a less crowded street.

The Enchantment Resort is plunked down in the middle of the stark Red Rock wilderness of Sedona, so you'll have to get used to the occasional june bug greeting you at your door as you exit your hacienda. Consider yourself lucky that it's not a mountain lion, and count your blessings. Also, there's no cell phone coverage, and the in-room Internet "no worky". There are three PCs in the business center, good for free internet access and printing last minute plain tickets.

Also, when you go into town, don't be alarmed at the townsfolk here. We were nearly accosted by a local woman who was so friendly that she stuck her head in through our passenger window as she offered to help us read a map. In the big city where we're from, we expected her to grab our wallet. Not here. She's just friendly. It's unsettling, really. And part of this town's incredible charm. You have to warm up to it. Once you do, you'll be under its spell. It'll change you. You'll let down your guard so much that when you go back to the big city, you'll get your wallet stolen immediately.

  • Liked — The spa, the food, the friendly staff.
  • Disliked — No Internet, no cell phones.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

My husband and I are self-proclaimed travel addicts and hotel snobs. We stayed at the Enchantment during the Labor Day weekend and we absolutely loved it! Customer service was superb. It really is the best we've experienced and we travel quite a lot.

Although we arrived a couple of hours before check-in, they were more than happy to escort us )with a golf cart) to our casita. TBecause it was our anniversary, they gave us complimentary champagne, chocolate covered straberries, and a beautiful postcard signed by their staff! What a great touch!! Oh, and the casita? BEAUTIFUL! The bathroom is spacious and luxurious. The bed and pillows are comfortable. The whole room is well-maintained...it's so darn quite! We loved it! When we asked if they have a dvd player so we can watch dvd before bed, they brought a WHOLE 'nother tv with dvd player RIGHT AWAY!

Located about 6 miles away from the city center, the Boynton Canyon backdrop of this hotel is spectacular! There are plenty of outdoor activities to do at the resort...and everyone is SUPER nice!

We enjoyed the Sunday Jazz Brunch. They had a wide variety of gourmet food to choose from: eggs benedict's, crispy bacon, cocktail shrimps, smoked salmon, crab legs, caviar, mimosa, and so much more!! The dessert selections were top of the line and delicious! Most importantly, they don't rush you!

After checking out we decided to finally go to town...we literally didn't leave Enchantment Resort. Try the 101 Omellette restaurant in town. They've been around since the 1950s! There's a wait and they don't take reservations but it's definitely worth the wait, their huevos rancheros is the best!! :0) The place is clean, the quality of food is great, the cost of food is cheap and customer service is good.

  • Liked — Service
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

What a beautiful place, both the surroundings and the resort itself. The staff was friendly and very attentive. The grounds were pristine and the services were both plentiful and convenient. Our room was tastefully appointed, the bathroom enormous and the beds very comfortable. The bucket of o.j. and the newspaper outside our door each morning was a treat. The spa was a pleasure and provided everthing one could wish for. The pools, tennis courts and hiking trails were well-used by all of us. The breakfast (try the granola!) and lunch options were terrific. Dinner and service at the Yavapai Restaurant , however, weren't quite what they should have been for the hefty price. Nevertheless, we were made to feel very comfortable and we enjoyed our stay immensely. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Disliked — Dinner at Yavapai Restaurant
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

We just returned from a week in Sedona at the Enchantment.The rooms we had were clean,the furnishings were spotless, and the bed linens were top notch.
The room service menu and food at the Enchantment were average at best. My child has a medical condition that requires constant care in terms of food limitations and many times the ingredients off a dish were incorrectly described to us.
The Spa was the highlight of our trip and gave us the ability to relax in an atmosphere of caring,yet unubtrusive service.The food at the spa ,{portion control and all} was gourmet and far superior to the meals we had at the other two resort restaurants.
The location is awe inspiring,go to relax,go to the spa, hike the red rocks, and don't worry about older t.v.s and no cell service in Boyton Canyon. This is the perfect location to reconnect with your loved ones. My entire family, including our young adult children loved this vacation

  • Liked — The spa,the beuatiful view from our room
  • Disliked — Room service and main restaurants
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

Went for a girls trip to Mii Amo Spa. We checked into Enchantment for the first night, then moved to Mii Amo for our 4 day all inclusive spa stay.
Don't expect friendly service at Enchantment...but when you get to Mii Amo, expect A+++++ treatment because that is what you will receive.
The rooms at Enchantment are "lodge-like" and spacious, very private adobe buildings. Fresh orange juice & paper delivered in mornings. The rooms at Mii Amo have a more Zen like appeal to them. Also very private, roomy and cozy with a fireplace. When you return to your room in the evenings, your turn down service has your fireplace going, soft music playing and a special gift on your pillow each night. You also get fresh juice and paper each morning. The staff is so accommodating it is hard to believe. The don't know the word "no"!! We just felt so spoiled and pampered. No need to take fancy clothes, most guest at Mii Amo hang out in their robes, swim suits or workout clothes. It is very clean and the food is delicious! Really good food. One of our favorite things was to go to our evening spa treatment and have our dinners waiting for us in our room when we were done. Yes, they do that too! It is beautiful, small, peaceful and serene. A great place to get away from "real life" stresses.

  • Liked — Clean; they spoil you; the surroundings are beautiful.
  • Disliked — Loved everything about Mii Amo; Enchantment employees could be friendlier.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Enchantment Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enchantment Resort

Address: 525 Boynton Canyon Rd., Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#2 Family Hotel in Sedona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#3 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#3 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by stunning views of red rock Boynton Canyon and the Coconino National Forest, Enchantment Resort combines the rugged grandeur of the Southwest landscape with luxurious amenities and Native American culture. All 218 Arizona-style guest rooms, completely renovated, have beehive fireplaces and private patios with views of the towering crimson cliffs. The 70-acre resort offers guests more than 100 activities each week including hiking, mountain biking, tennis,cooking classes, arts and crafts, and Native American programs. Resort guests enjoy exclusive access to Mii amo Spa, consistently ranked among the world's best, and Seven Canyons golf club for 18 holes of golf with stunning views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Enchantment Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enchantment Hotel Sedona
Enchantment Hotel And Mii Amo
Enchantment Resort And Mii Amo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enchantment Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.