We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Quail Inn

Save Saved
You added Desert Quail Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Desert Quail Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6626 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86351   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
CALL DIRECT AND SAVE!!
Ranked #7 of 45 hotels in Sedona
St Louis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Value, Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We went to Sedona the 2nd week of January, 2013, as part of a larger trip, to see the Grand Canyon. We arrived at 3:00 Saturday afternoon 1/19. The weather and views were breathtaking. The temperature was almost 60 degrees, 40 degrees warmer than home. The check in process was very smooth, and the owners were very friendly at Check In. We got the 2nd room, ground floor, from the lobby. We had a wooden bench outside our room, and being smokers, and Internet addicts, immediately sat in the Sun, plugged into the free Wi-Fi, and proceeded to map out our plans. We opened the door to the room, and were taken aback by how spacious it was, I mean this had to be the lowest price place in town, but it was rated so highly on Trip Advisor, I had to check it out. It was perfect, had a King Bed, Sofa, Flat Screen tv, Refrigerator, Microwave, and a small, but decent bathroom. If you go to Sedona to see the beautiful rocks, and the sunsets, Save your money and stay here, it's a fraction of what the resorts charge, and the perfect place to relax after a day out in the desert.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    386
    202
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
139
304
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Charles, MO
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I booked this place because of all the online rave reviews. When we first drove up and I saw that it actually looked kind of like just your everyday mom and pop motel on the outside. WOW! What a surprise when we actually walked into our rooms. First of all, they are MUCH larger than the exterior belies, tastefully decorated and very well equipped. Our room had a gas fireplace, a jacuzzi (was that ever appreciated after a day of hiking!), a nice sized refrigerator and a large flat screen TV. The beds have memory foam mattresses - a little soft for my liking, but that is just a personal perference. I am sure most people will love them. This is a small thing, but I have stayed at much more expensive places that did not do this - within 5 minutes of getting into our rooms, the front desk called to be sure everything was satisfactory. What?!? Nobody does that! I thought that showed the level of customer service at this establishment. Added bonus - GREAT restaurants are very nearby. Red Rocks Cafe is just behind the motel and fabulous for breakfast, but that is another review Miley's and Cucina Rustica are a very short distance one way and a great coffee shop just a short distance the other way. It is only 15 minutes from downtown Sedona and you will find it to be one of the most breathtaking drives in the area. I would not hesitate to recommend this place although that probably means I will have difficulty booking a room in the future because it will be so popular.

Room Tip: It IS located right on Hwy 89, so request a room towards the rear of the property. This isn't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I really liked this little place. The room was clean and very tastefully decorated. The bed was comfortable and the staff was accomodating and really helpful. The room even had a quiet heater which is rare in hotel rooms. The only suggestion I would make to them for a more comfortable stay would be to have more than a thin blanket on the bed. If they had thicker bedding I would have enjoyed staying here for my whole trip.

Room Tip: Choose a room towards the back to cut down on traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beltsville, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were last in Sedona in 1999, and very surprised at how built-up it has become. Outlet Mall? Sedona, really?

Last visit we stayed right near the "downtown roundabout," and we were very happy that Desert Quail is located on the less-congested side of town. Many dining and shopping options are in walking distance. We had left a business conference in Scottsdale, and Sedona was a great halfway point for a day trip to the Grand Canyon.

The owners and staff of The Desert Quail were very friendly, attentive, and accomodating. We loved our room, my husband even commented on how large it was. The carpet and furnishings appeared brand new, and the room was immaculate. The fireplace was wonderful, considering it was below freezing outside for our entire 2 night-3 day stay. We truly appreciated having the refrigerator (good and cold!) and the microwave; a nice grocery store (IGA) was just behind the hotel; we stopped in everyday.

The Desert Quail was priced just right for our budget needs, and we would definately stay here again, and recommend.

Some other day trips we took were to Montezuma's Well, Montezuma's Castle, and Flagstaff. Rt 180 was a nice drive, on the way between Flagstaff and the Grand Canyon.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms with views of the red rocks. Since I cannot walk very far, we appreciated being ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Due to lack of communication among our group we double booked. The owners were decent and honest. They had our CC, but let go. They deserve to be commended. They run a very clean facility in a very nice neighborhood. If you are looking for a place where you can enjoy a stay in Sedona without paying premium $$, this is it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a very pleasant two day stay at Desert Quail Inn. The room was very clean, newly remodeled, two queen size beds, large flat screen TV, microwave, and refrigerator.

The staff was very polite and helpful. The suggestions made for breakfast and dinner were so delicious.

We will definitely come back to stay at Desert Quail Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Over Christmas my husband and I stayed at the Desert Quail Inn and loved it! The room was fresh, clean and relaxing. It seems as if the room was recently redecorated and the job done well. Tasteful art, wonderful large screen TV, and a firm king bed. The HVAC ran cleanly and quietly and the window opened as well. The shower/tub and toilet are utilitarian and clean separate from the sink/ basin. The room is non-smoking. Chairs are provided outside each room for said reason. There is a small coffee maker and packets of coffee plus a fridge to help start the day. The location is perfect! Across from outlet stores and near a nice array of shops. Two coffee houses are within a few blocks as are restaurants. Oak Creek is less "fancy" than Sedona and the vibe is different. I would prefer to stay in Oak Creek; Sedona is a short drive away. Our room had beautiful views of Bell and Courthouse Rocks plus the generally gorgeous scenery of the area. Our room was very reasonably priced ( $85/night including taxes) and we received our value for the price. The owners/managers are on site and available for assistance which is comforting. Everything functioned well and smoothly. I recommend The Desert Quail Inn to any traveler who wants a clean, comfortable, well-priced place to stay while visiting the Sedona/Oak Creek area.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor which offers the views of the beautiful Red Rocks. No elevator so this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Quail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Quail Inn

Address: 6626 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sedona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#10 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Quail Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deset Quail Inn Sedona is located in the heart of Sedona's Red Rock Country, just south of Uptown Sedona in the Village of Oak Creek. The Desert Quail Inn Sedona offers beautifully furnished Guest Rooms and Guest Suites featuring in-room Jacuzzi's, cozy Fireplaces, Microwave and Refrigerator in all rooms, MemoryFoam Mattresses, Natural "green" Latex Mattress, soft sheets, plush towels, and Upgraded Amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Desert Quail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Quail Hotel Sedona
Desert Quail Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Quail Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.