We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Quail Inn rocks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Quail Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Quail Inn to your Saves list
Desert Quail Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6626 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86351   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
CALL DIRECT AND SAVE!!
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Desert Quail Inn rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Over Christmas my husband and I stayed at the Desert Quail Inn and loved it! The room was fresh, clean and relaxing. It seems as if the room was recently redecorated and the job done well. Tasteful art, wonderful large screen TV, and a firm king bed. The HVAC ran cleanly and quietly and the window opened as well. The shower/tub and toilet are utilitarian and clean separate from the sink/ basin. The room is non-smoking. Chairs are provided outside each room for said reason. There is a small coffee maker and packets of coffee plus a fridge to help start the day. The location is perfect! Across from outlet stores and near a nice array of shops. Two coffee houses are within a few blocks as are restaurants. Oak Creek is less "fancy" than Sedona and the vibe is different. I would prefer to stay in Oak Creek; Sedona is a short drive away. Our room had beautiful views of Bell and Courthouse Rocks plus the generally gorgeous scenery of the area. Our room was very reasonably priced ( $85/night including taxes) and we received our value for the price. The owners/managers are on site and available for assistance which is comforting. Everything functioned well and smoothly. I recommend The Desert Quail Inn to any traveler who wants a clean, comfortable, well-priced place to stay while visiting the Sedona/Oak Creek area.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor which offers the views of the beautiful Red Rocks. No elevator so this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    234
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
158
358
37
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

For the price, it was a decent room with a working heater and fireplace. We got in late and the manager helped us call a bunch of restaurants to see if they were still open. He gave us a great recommendation for breakfast the next morning as well. The great service definitely makes up for anything else lacking.

The one thing that was inconvenient is that the shower pressure for hot water was nil right after my friend took a hot shower with full pressure. You might have to wait 20 minutes between showers to get a hot full-pressure shower in the morning or else you'll take a burning cold one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeastern US
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I spent one night at the Desert Quail Inn while visiting Sedona recently. I thought it was a very nice room at a very reasonable price. Location is in Oak Village, which is only a few miles from the center of Sedona, quick drive, however the surrounding area at the hotel is beautiful.

Room was spacious, clean and well appointed. I had a large king bed which was very comfortable, nice bedding. The bathroom was updated and had nice amenities. Nice size flat screen TV with good cable selection and fast, wireless internet access. Management was helpful and attentive. Overall I was very happy with my stay. It's a nice motel at a great value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I was very skeptical when booking this hotel on Expedia. The rate was too good to be true and so was the location. Well when my husband and I entered the hotel we were greeted by the manager that was helpful and very professional. The room was amazing. Flat screen tv tastful decor. Oh and the housekeeping staff is so efficient. BY FAR the best stay in Sedona.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This place had very reasonable rates. The room was clean and staff was friendly. Bed was very comfortable and room was spacious. Ended up staying 3 nights here. If in this area again I will certainly stay at these lodgings again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I am currently staying at the Desert Quail, having driven half-way across the country.
Planned on staying only one night but the room is so lovely with huge king bed with memory foam topper (I have one at home in NJ and will definitely get one for condo in AZ) and lovely fireplace I simply have to stay an extra night. The room is immaculate; there is a fridge and a microwave and plenty of room to store clothing and such should you have a much longer stay.

Nick, the manager, told me a place to walk to for dinner/drinks but he also mentioned a grocery store which is literally steps away. I went there and bought wine and food and enjoyed staying in my room with the fireplace on the cozy sofa and watched a movie on my computer. For awhile before too cold I sat outside on chairs provided and had a glass of wine and looked at the mountains. Sedona is an awesome place and so much fun to walk around and lots of interesting things to buy (if you are into that) and great places to eat. Looks like a bunch of stores walking distance from here, too, so I will check those out today.

This place is a treasure and I will definitely be back here!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A wonderful stay, originally booked for 2 nights but extended to 6 nights. My husband and I decided the environs were a great place to unwind on the last leg of our USA trip before heading home to Australia. The Desert Quail is situated in Oak Creek Village surrounded by the Red Rock Mountains about a 10 to 15 minute drive out of Sedona on the scenic 179 highway. We enjooyed being out of the very commercialised Sedona. Nick the proprietor was very friendly and helpful in suggesting great places to eat like the Red Rock Cafe for breakfast and amazing coffee and muffins (GF) at the cafe around the corner where they roasted their own coffee beans. The historic copper town of Jerome was also a great day out. The rooms were comfortable with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker and a sofa to relax in at the end of a hard days sightseeing or walking. There are beautiful walks everywhere around the area. We choseto travel to the Grand Canyon about a 2 hour drive rather than stay in the freezing conditions. We really enjoyed the drive as we saw Williams, Oak Creek and the San Francisco mountains on the journey. We felt like we were saying goodbye to a friend when we were farewelled by Nick.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Quail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Quail Inn

Address: 6626 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#5 Family Hotel in Sedona
#11 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Quail Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deset Quail Inn Sedona is located in the heart of Sedona's Red Rock Country, just south of Uptown Sedona in the Village of Oak Creek. The Desert Quail Inn Sedona offers beautifully furnished Guest Rooms and Guest Suites featuring in-room Jacuzzi's, cozy Fireplaces, Microwave and Refrigerator in all rooms, MemoryFoam Mattresses, Natural "green" Latex Mattress, soft sheets, plush towels, and Upgraded Amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Desert Quail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Quail Hotel Sedona
Desert Quail Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Quail Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.