We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King Size With Fire Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Quail Inn

Save Saved
You added Desert Quail Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Desert Quail Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6626 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86351   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
CALL DIRECT AND SAVE!!
Ranked #7 of 45 hotels in Sedona
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“King Size With Fire Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here recently at the tail end of a 15 day road trip. Through out this trip there were all sorts of places we stayed that were not clean at all, the Desert Quail was a nice change. The room was spacious and clean. There was a nice gas powered fire place (for a bit extra) and along with that the bed/bedding was really comfortable. There was also a couch and table in the room that made it comfortable to relax in. Overall, for the price against other Sedona hotels, this one is an easy choice.

Along with all this, Nick (I think) at the front desk, was a lot of help. He called around to see if there were restaurants open and gave honest advice on the places that we should go see and avoid in the area. He also offered for us to see the room before we paid for it which is always a plus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    386
    202
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
139
304
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at the Desert Quail Inn. We just needed a cheap places to stay. We are very impressed and would completely recommend this inn to fellow budget travelers. The room is very clean and big. The maid service cleaned the room promptly at 11. Overall the inn is ran as if it cost three times as much as it really does. This is a perfect place to stay if you need a cheaper place to stay while visiting Sedona.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We just went to Sedona for a 5 days vacation and we stay in Desert Quail inn for 4 nights and Days Inn for 1 night. Although both get good reviews, I would say that Desert Quail Inn is far better than Days Inn.

Desert Quail Inn is very clean. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The room is large and confortable, and there is a groceries store right behind and an outlet mall right cross the street.

I will stay there again next visit for sure, if they have room available.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

The staff was amazing and accommodating. We upgraded to the suite with the jacuzzi and fireplace with a king size bed. The room was huge and the amenities did not disappoint. The price was a little high but for great memories it was more than fair. The location is decent but a little far from downtown Sedona. Overall, great stay!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula OH
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in Dec 2012 and this was a wonderful choice. Close to shopping and a great cafe for breakfast is next door! Our room had Granite countertops and a fireplace, with a memory foam mattress - really comfortable. I would high recommend and would stay here again without question.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon House, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We chose to stay here based on the good reviews I saw on Tripadvisor. On our arrival we were checked in by a gentleman whom I assume is the manager, and he was delightful! He gave us a lot of great information about places to eat, and sights to see. We would never have known to drive up to the airport at a certain time to see one of the most spectacular sunsets we've ever seen.
The motel itself is very nice, and of typical motor lodge style. It's located a short (less than ten minute), BEAUTIFUL drive out of Sedona. Plenty of restaurants and stores immediately nearby.The parking lot was well lit, nice landscaping, and the office was welcoming. Our room was spotlessly clean, and nicely decorated. There was a nice mini-fridge large enough for our wine, beer, and leftovers. Maybe a standard sized coffee maker would have been nice, but the little one worked fine.
The only problem we had was that the hair dryer didn't work; and the shower curtain rod had come loose, so the curtain wouldn't stay closed and the floor got very wet. I left a note about this for the housekeeper when we went out for the day, and everything was completely repaired immediately. And when we checked out, the beautiful lady in the office actually thanked me for bringing those problems to their attention!
We would absolutely stay here again! Fabulous value for a very nice motel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is an 18 years old hotel which was remodeled in recent years. It is located on Hwy 179 on the southern outskirts of Sedona in the Village of Oak Creek, the modern suburbs of Sedona, AZ. The room was very spacious, with new furniture, TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and an ironing board, soaps and shampoos. The bathroom was immaculate and the heating unit was very quiet. You could barely hear it running, unlike other hotels where the unit grinds at you and drowns any conversation. The price was inexpensive, which I would consider a bargain for a town that is knowns for its tourism business all year round. After all, it is Red Rock Country with magnificient view of the Red rock mountains and formation that surround Sedona. The location was about 7 or 8 miles outside Sedona proper but, for such a price, it was well worth the drive. The drive is very scenic too. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to enjoy a nice and clean place for a very reasonable price in such a touristic town. I will patronize this hotel again in the future.
The hotel does not have a restaurant nor does it provide breakfast facilities, however, right around the block, in a strip center, you could have your breakfast at the Red Rock Cafe, a quaint and excellent breakfast and lunch cafe. Enjoy.
John R

Room Tip: Don't call a hotel/motel locator service. The price is more expensive through the service. Call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Quail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Quail Inn

Address: 6626 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sedona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#10 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Quail Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deset Quail Inn Sedona is located in the heart of Sedona's Red Rock Country, just south of Uptown Sedona in the Village of Oak Creek. The Desert Quail Inn Sedona offers beautifully furnished Guest Rooms and Guest Suites featuring in-room Jacuzzi's, cozy Fireplaces, Microwave and Refrigerator in all rooms, MemoryFoam Mattresses, Natural "green" Latex Mattress, soft sheets, plush towels, and Upgraded Amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Desert Quail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Quail Hotel Sedona
Desert Quail Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Quail Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.