We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Quail Inn

Save Saved
You added Desert Quail Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Desert Quail Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6626 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86351   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 46 hotels in Sedona
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Desert Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We chose the Desert Quail based on other Tripadvisor reviews and are so happy with our choice. Some expressed disappointment that Sedona itself was so far away. Our reaction is just the opposite as we enjoyed being out of town, and the drive along 179 is outstanding. Even our end room had a great view of the beautiful red rocks.The room was spacious and comfortable with a microwave and refrigerator. Having breakfast at the nearby Red Rock Cafe was a delicious experience, and we also enjoyed the Marketplace Cafe across the road. Wednesdays there feature a very generous wine tasting special. Motel staff was very helpful, and we would have loved to stay longer than two nights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    194
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
134
294
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We weren't sure what to expect because this motel had much better prices than others in Sedona, but reassured by the other reviews, we stayed here one night in November. As others have noted, the outside is just a typical looking motel with all outside entrances - not bad but nothing special. However, when I opened the door, both my husband and I were quite surprised by how nice it looked and it was definitely more upscale than the outside. The room was very attractive, clean and had a microwave and refrigerator.Those items were very nice since we were on a long road trip and had a cooler with food with us. It was also nice to be able to cook our oatmeal for breakfast since the only downside of this motel is that there is no breakfast supplied.

The owner was very helpful with recommendations for dinner and sightseeing. I did have some problems with the WiFi but he was very apologetic and did everything he could do to help me with that.

It is about 7 miles south of town, which we didn't mind as we were heading that way upon our checkout anyway. There are a couple places to eat close but be aware of this distance from the town so you are not surprised.

If you want to save money but not sacrifice on comfort or quality, be sure to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have stayed two nights during Thanksgiving break with my daughters and friends. I choose the hotel based on Trip Advisors reviews and the reasonable rate. We all loves Desert Quail Inn after we open the doors in our rooms. The rooms look much better than hotel website pictures (sorry, no offense). Good values, clean and big room, nice staff which provide map and travel suggestion. There is a supermarket just behind the hotel with walking distance. At frist, I thought it might be a little bit far to sedona town center, in fact, I like this hotel more because it can avoid the crowd. Bell Rock just close by. V-Bar-V petroglyph only 20 mins away if you like indian rock art. This is the 2nd times, I visited Sedona, I love this place, so if I ever go again, I will stay at Desert Quail Inn for sure..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge Ca
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Nice room, great bed, tv - little bit of mold in shower and sink drained slowly, otherwise a very good value. The hotel is in a good location, near the best Sedona sights - the touristy area is about 7 miles away, but also has the best restaurants. The hotel is a great value if you don't miss luxury at triple the price.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs across from office - at least a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Vermont
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in October. We chose Desert Quail Inn based on other Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. Staff were friendly and helpful. The Management provided us a discount coupon for our Pink Jeep Tour. Room was large and well appointed with mini frig, overhead fan, and gas fireplace; bed comfortable and seemed new. The best part were the wonderful views of the surrounding area from the balcony and the street. We would definitely stay here again. A wonderful breakfast restaurant, Red Rock Cafe, just steps from our room served excellent, reasonably-priced food.

Room Tip: Great view from second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed at the Desert Quail Inn for 5 nights. As some earlier reviewers noted - don't be fooled but the exterior which looks like a old fashioned motel. The rooms are huge, beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and well appointed with comfortable mattresses, a fridge and a microwave. The service was amazing and the location perfect for exploring the wonders of Sedona. Although they don't have a restaurant there is a great breakfast spot, the Marketplace restaurant and a grocery store within a block of the hotel. If you are willing to walk 10 to 15 minutes there was a great Thai restaurant, coffee shops and bakeries. I think that this motel is one of Sedona's best kept secrets.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I found this hotel through an internet search, which can be a crap shoot. It said new management and recently renovated, so I decided to give it a try for one night. The layout and facade are reminicent of the 50-60's, but the room was spacious and immaculate, the bed was comfortable, pillows great and QUIET. We were also pleasantly suprised to find Direct TV. (TV without a menu irkes my husband no end) We were so please that we returned for the weekend after another planned stop.
I would recommend this place to everyone visiting Sedona. Great value for your money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Desert Quail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Quail Inn

Address: 6626 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sedona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#10 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Quail Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deset Quail Inn Sedona is located in the heart of Sedona's Red Rock Country, just south of Uptown Sedona in the Village of Oak Creek. The Desert Quail Inn Sedona offers beautifully furnished Guest Rooms and Guest Suites featuring in-room Jacuzzi's, cozy Fireplaces, Microwave and Refrigerator in all rooms, MemoryFoam Mattresses, Natural "green" Latex Mattress, soft sheets, plush towels, and Upgraded Amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Orbitz, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Desert Quail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Quail Hotel Sedona
Desert Quail Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Quail Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.