We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly comfortable, great location, terrific price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Quail Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Quail Inn to your Saves list
Desert Quail Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6626 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86351   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
CALL DIRECT AND SAVE!!
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbus, Oh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazingly comfortable, great location, terrific price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Desert Quail Inn in Sedona, Arizona, for 3 days. Initially, I was a little leery because the layout of the motel is reminiscent of motels of old, with the door of the room opening directly to the outside. I am happy to say that my concerns were unfounded. The room had a king bed with an uber-comfortable Tempurpedic mattress, a refrigerator, a microwave, a couch, a large flatscreen TV and a gas fireplace with a simple on-off control. It was quiet and the heating/cooling system provided good air circulation. They even had a ceiling fan, which made the room even more comfortable. The room and bathroom were immaculately clean and tastefully decorated. A swimming pool is available for those who wish to swim. We could even see some of the incredible red rock formations from the window of our room. The personnel at the hotel were cheerful and helpful, recommending some very good nearby restaurants, some within walking distance, and providing directions to regional attractions on request. The cost: $80 for two nights, $100 for the third night! If you want a resort with on-site spa treatments, this hotel is not for you. However, if you want comfortable, pleasant and spotless accommodations at a great price, head for the Desert Quail Inn in Oak Creek!

Room Tip: The hotel is two stories, and there is no elevator. If you have trouble toting bags upstairs, ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    248
    26
    9
    3
See reviews for
163
382
40
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel consists of two two story buildings with a parking lot in between. The design is similar to older motels built in the 1950s. From the outside, the Hotel looks like an older, but clean motel with fresh stucco and paint, and I was a bit disappointed when I drove up to the Hotel office, as I expected 1950s (yes, I was around then) rooms ... a bed, a tv, a chair, and a small bathtub and shower.

How wrong I was. to begin with, the room is probably about 30 feet long and 16 feet wide, a shade less than 500 square feet. You just don't find 500 sq. feet rooms at the price we paid for the room, particularly in Sedona.

Well, the location isn't really Sedona, is it? The Hotel is actually a few miles south of Sedona on Hwy 179 in Oak Creek Village near Bell Rock, one of the famous Red Rock formations that make Sedona famous. But the area isn't necessarily the low cost hotel area. For example, nearby is the Hilton - Sedona Resort and several other higher cost hostelries along with the pricey The Ridge on Sedona Golf resort. And the Hotel is right across the street from an Outlet Mall where you can shop at the Gap, Tommy Hilfiger, Bass, Big Dog and more. Downtown Sedona is actually about 6 miles north if you are interested.

Our room was clean and has all the necessities, which include free wireless internet (and a desk to place your laptop), a (I'm guessing at the size) 40 inch flat screen connected to DirecTV ... lots of channels including High Def, and a comfortable bed. It also includes a refrigerator, Microwave and a couch. The room definitely isn't your grandfathers 1950s motel room. It is the modern 2012 version.

Our room was on the ground floor and we were able to park right in front of it, so carrying our luggage and other things wasn't bad at all. If you get a room upstairs, however, you will be climbing stairs and, depending how far down the walkway your room is from the stairs, carrying your luggage down the walkway, too. The outside walkway is covered, but in inclement weather, blowing rain could get you wet.

One other disadvantage ... there is no breakfast service. But for the price and the room, who cares/ Not me!

Room Tip: Ground floor means no stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, Ca
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

First, let me say that I would rate this place a 4.5, not just a 4. This is a great budget option in a pricey area. This is an older motel that has been renovated very tastefully. We had a king room for 3 nights and it was spacious with not only the king bed but room for a nice couch and table along with a desk and chair.The decorating was uptodate and very stylish. There is a huge flat panel tv with HD DirectTV and loads of channels. Everything was very clean, both inside the room and all around the property. Daily cleaning was very efficient and all used items replaced, like the good quality bathroom items. I believe the owners live on the property and that shows in the eye to detail with everything in ship shape order. While there is no breakfast there is a fridge and microwave in the room along with a nearby Subway with excellent breakfast items. In Sedona there is also a Safeway, killer gourmet cinnimon rolls, and a Basha's with a good bakery along with all other items for a good breakfast. Highly recommended and would return when in the area.

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor room (remember there is no elevator) in about the middle so away from the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The rooms are very large. The beds are excellent my only complaint is the pillows are too hard. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. An older hotel that has been updated nicely. My husband liked the large LCD TV that had a million channels. Breakfast cafe literally right out the back door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We booked online and were thrilled at the cleanliness, decor and comfort of the room and the surrounding area. What was a great disappointment however was realising how much extra we had been charged for the second night. We were not able to keep the same room as it was booked out, yet the room we were allocated for the 2nd night was apart from a not needed fire, the same size, with the same size bed?? We realised later that we were paying nearly double the online price. We should of queried this but got confused with the dollar/sterling exchange rate. However, we would not want to put anyone off staying here because of our mistake. It is a gem and I would recommend it highly. If we were ever in this region again, we would not look to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyersburg, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I drove south out of Flagstaff toward Sodona, AZ. We had only planned to see the red rocks and connect back with I 17 and head East on I 40.

Needless to say, this didn't happen. We drove past the Desert Quail Inn, and we decided to check on spending the night. This proved to be the right decision. The rooms had been completely refurbished, had such pleasing decor that accented the colors of the area, and the beds were so comfortable! Such a wonder night's sleep, with total quietness. Also, every detail of cleanliness was observed. It was such a pleasing experience that we stayed an additional night, and I would loved to have stayed a week! It is definitely a do-over!!!

The location is wonderful: across the street from an outlet mall and near wonderful eating establishments. The views are spectacular.

I highly recommend this delightful Inn. The management will assist you with any questions you may have of the area. You will love your stay here!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley,UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at Desert Quail from 2nd to 9th October and found everything about the place to be excellent. Clearly the new owners have set about upgrading the property and from what I can see are doing a very good job. The rooms are really nicely furnished, of a decent size and have very much been upgraded since we last visited. Interestingly, we first stayed at Desert Quail in 1989 and this was our sixth or seventh visit since then. It offers a great location at a great price. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Quail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Quail Inn

Address: 6626 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#6 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Quail Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deset Quail Inn Sedona is located in the heart of Sedona's Red Rock Country, just south of Uptown Sedona in the Village of Oak Creek. The Desert Quail Inn Sedona offers beautifully furnished Guest Rooms and Guest Suites featuring in-room Jacuzzi's, cozy Fireplaces, Microwave and Refrigerator in all rooms, MemoryFoam Mattresses, Natural "green" Latex Mattress, soft sheets, plush towels, and Upgraded Amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Desert Quail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Quail Hotel Sedona
Desert Quail Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Quail Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.