We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for the Sedona Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Quail Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Quail Inn to your Saves list
Desert Quail Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6626 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86351   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
CALL DIRECT AND SAVE!!
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Wallace, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Value for the Sedona Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great value for the Sedona area. Just a few easy miles south of the center of Sedona. Nice big rooms and wonderful foam matress on a king bed. Best bed of the trip! All usual room amenities were excellent. Just to note - a convenient SubWay across the street is great to grab a sandwich in the morning to take on your day's hike!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    234
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
159
358
37
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were only able to stay at this hotel one night as they were quite booked (Fri night). We were impressed w/the site. It was completely remodeled/painted, was very clean, and comfortable. The views are amazing. As Sedona rates go, this was reasonable. The only disappointment was in not having breakfast included, however, we were directed to an awesome breakfast restaurant directly behind the hotel which had fabulous food and decent prices. Couldn't ask for more at these rates. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed at 5 hotels in 10 days during my Southwest Trip and Desert Quail Inn offered the best value....It was also very close to being the nicest Suite I stayed at. My room was new, the decor was fresh, warm and inviting, and the unit was clean with good sound proofing. This was probably the best bed I slept in during my trip and the room had King Bed, nice couch, Coffee maker, good A/C, and a Flat screen TV with Direct TV service. There was no Breakfast I was aware of, but the Red Rock Cafe was only a few steps away, Cafe Jose a nice walk. (may I suggest a partnership to the Owner)
Location is nice in quiet Oak Creek with Restaurants, viewpoints and shopping nearby (walking distance). It is about 10 minutes from Downtown Sedona by Car.
The Owner is interesting to talk to and he has a strong commitment to the success of the operation and therefore the Guest's comfort and satisfaction.

Room Tip: I stayed in a King Suite on the second Floor, roomy and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I am actually writing this review from the only downfall of this room, the bed is quite hard. You'll see, however, that I give this place an excellent review. We paid $85 taxes inc. for our roomm, bew HD TV with Direct TV, King bed, couch, table, coffee maker, air conditioner that works great. I definitely recomend staying here if you are coming to check out the energy vortexes. You wlil not regret it.

Right across the street are some outlet malls for quick easy shopping, on the other side about 200 feet from the hotel is a large grocery store complete with alcohol.

Staff was amazingly helpful too offering solutions to questions we hadn't even thought to ask simply because she knows the area and knows things we may be looking for. A+

Room Tip: We stayed in 102 and had absolutely no issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, ME
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the desert Quail Inn at both ends of our two week adventure to Arizona and Utah. We were very pleased both times. The place is very attractive and clean. It is close to restaurants, markets and the main road. When you stand in the parking lot and look around, you are surrounded by the classic Red Rock beauty of Sedona. We would go back there in a heartbeat!

The manager is a wonderful multi-lingual gentleman that is right on top of his operation. He and his staff are courteous and professional in all respects. A great value and wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: They are all great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilgore, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This small hotel is not only in a great location, but it comes at a great price. The room was quite comfortable and inviting. I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a cozy spot in the Sedona area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in August for a long weekend and enjoyed every minute - we booked the corner jacuzzi suite which was a steal, money-wise. It's a small 'motel' but it definitely has a luxury feel inside the rooms. You can tell the current owners have really put a lot of love into renovating the place - the furninshings, the new wide screen tvs, etc, were all awesome and very impressive.

We mostly stayed in our room as it was a romantic getaway for us and weren't really bothered. It is in a nice location in Oak Creek Village and you can just walk up the street for groceries, coffee, sub sandwiches, etc. It's very quiet and relaxing, we didn't use the pool but it looked nice and clean and very inviting.

The only issue we had was that the bed felt a bit harder than we like - perhaps because it was a new purchase, I'm not sure. We both tossed and turned and woke up sore each morning though, so thankfully the jacuzzi helped soothed the muscles! We adored the tv, the armoire for the clothing, the shower, the fridge...everything, basically. We will definitely be back for another stay!

I'd also like to point out that no Apple product or phone works at the hotel - we had absolutely zero service while in our rooms and around the hotel proper. But once we left the area our phones worked like they usually do - it's as though the hotel is in iphone-free zone, which can be nice, but also very annoying if you want to use your iphone for other things! But it was a small annoyance and didn't ruin our stay. ;)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Quail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Quail Inn

Address: 6626 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#5 Family Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Quail Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deset Quail Inn Sedona is located in the heart of Sedona's Red Rock Country, just south of Uptown Sedona in the Village of Oak Creek. The Desert Quail Inn Sedona offers beautifully furnished Guest Rooms and Guest Suites featuring in-room Jacuzzi's, cozy Fireplaces, Microwave and Refrigerator in all rooms, MemoryFoam Mattresses, Natural "green" Latex Mattress, soft sheets, plush towels, and Upgraded Amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Desert Quail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Quail Hotel Sedona
Desert Quail Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Quail Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.