We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The most relaxing stay ever"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slide Rock Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Slide Rock Lodge
Save
You added Slide Rock Lodge to your Saves list
6401 North Highway 89 A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“"The most relaxing stay ever"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The owners, Andy and Joanne, are two of the most congenial people we have ever met. They were so gracious with their time and information about the area. The whole mood of the place was very peaceful and immediately put us at ease. The fact that you are staying in a cabin made us feel even more secure.The location is perfect - about 5 minutes from Sedona, but you are surrounded by trees and mountains so it is so easy to relax. We are very thankful we found this place and would not think of staying anywhere else in the Sedona area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    13
    2
    2
    13
See reviews for
15
15
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I am quite surprised about some of those very negative comments. We stayed in Slide Rock Lodge for one night, because the camp side was already full. The owner was very cooperative and helped us out with all our questions where to head for breakfast, which hikes to take and so on. She even let us use her phone because we were kind of unprepared and forgot to get a prepaid card for our US vacation.
All together I would say the service was great, the rooms were nice but a little bit too pricy for us, because our intention was a camp site instead.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We've been staying at Slide Rock Lodge several times a year for over 28 years. We travel all over the world and have to say this is one of our favorite places. The owners Andy & Joanne have always been warm, friendly, & accommodating or we wouldn't keep coming back! The lodge offers rooms with the warm cabin feel. You can get a room with a fireplace or without. There are suites available at the lodge also. Cabin #1 has its own private patio that’s a nice place to sit after hiking & soak up the sun. Slide Rock Lodge has it’s own private access to the creek if you like to explore or just spend the day by the water. Other must haves for us: rooms are spotless, the nights are quiet, the water is hot, & the beds are good. Slide Rock Lodge checks all the boxes for these. Slide Rock Lodge excels on value, service, cleanliness, & quality. We’ll be back soon!

Room Tip: You can get a room with a fireplace or without. There are suites available at the lodge also. Cabi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

My wife and I on a whim traveled to Sedona from Southern Utah. We had made no hotel accommodations. Arriving late in the evening we drove by as our eyes caught a beautiful lodge. Boy are we thankful we pulled in! Joanne was an absolute pleasure. She took great care of us and put us in Room #1. It has the cutest fireplace and a private outdoor patio in the nice shady canyon. Our king size bed was comfortable. Upon check out we asked Andy what places he might recommend we visit and 20 minutes later he had pulled out a map and had it all marked up with at least 10 points of interest. We visited several of these and are so grateful for the time he took to help us. Joanne and Andy are fantastic and the lodge is exactly what we were looking for to partake of the Sedona experience. Thanks again! Dave and Catrina (Utah)

Room Tip: Go with Room #1!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

When I first found Sedona back in 1996, I stayed at SlideRock Lodge and found the mountain location perfect after a day exploring the beautiful and energetic downtown Sedona. They had my favorite feature which was a REAL wood burning fireplace, and as a writer and artist, I found that space important where it was almost a ritual to reserve the same room. Over the years, I looked forward to coming to Sedona also because the owners, Joanne and Andy, really cared about the guests. They are rare hands-on people where each guest is treated as family. I've probably stayed elsewhere one or two times over 20 years, but now a Sedona trip won't seem complete without staying at Sliderock Lodge, and seeing Joanne and Andy. They have also upgraded their rooms to a lovely Southwest decor, keeping authentic Cedar walls, and beds to have the best night's rest.
And when you return from an evening of events or dinner, you can arrive at Sliderock to view the milky way stars in the sky without any city lights, and smell the aroma of cedar wood. For adventurers, family, or anyone's vacation, Sliderock Lodge is the ONLY place I'd rather stay in Sedona! --Carolyn

Room Tip: The double rooms are spacious and highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rapids, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My wife and I got married at Slide Rock and stayed at this cozy family orientated motel some 12 years ago and wanted to go back on our trip out West. Andy and Joanne...the owners...were as cordial as ever and made our stay fantastic. Now...if you're looking for a motel with lots of trimmings, this isn't it...this is a down to earth motel run by a neat couple who will do anything to make your stay enjoyable....complete with fireplaces in most rooms...it's rustic...but the perfect place for a secluded getaway. We love it...and will happily return the next time we head west...there's no swimming pool or fitness center....but who needs one in Oak Creek Canyon...with its beautiful walking paths...and a trout filled stream across the road!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Rarely do you meet people who have SO clearly made the wrong career choice but the owners of the Slide Rock Lodge have done so. If you are one of the people who got lucky and were treated with some basic human kindness then count your blessings this time but stay far away in the future. I wish I had researched more carefully before ever stepping foot on this property. I cannot think of a single demographic that can count on being treated well at this lodge. The property is not thriving under their care, their "guests" have to take their chances on the mood and whim of the owners for a kindness. Makes you wonder what they are doing to their beautiful surroundings that can't speak for itself if they treat everything else so poorly. Their rates may be reasonable for Oak Creek, but please, please, please think about how you want the money you work hard for to be used. Do you really want it to go to people who are so bad at what they do? To the owners, seriously, think about getting your license in taxidermy or embalming where you don't have to be around living beings. To those beings who are no longer living, sorry to sic these people on you, you really do deserve much better

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Slide Rock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slide Rock Lodge

Address: 6401 North Highway 89 A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Slide Rock Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slide Rock Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.