We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slide Rock Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Slide Rock Lodge
Save
You added Slide Rock Lodge to your Saves list
6401 North Highway 89 A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
IN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

After spending a horrible night in another location in Sedona, we found the Slide Rock Lodge and moved in for the duration of our stay. There were several room styles to choose from and we chose a more simple, modest room. All the rooms we saw were clean and neat and we were pleased that our room was also clean and rustic. The bathroom, while small, was totally functional and clean. We could tell that updates had been done to the bathroom. Our bed was also comfortable. The Lodge is also nicely nestled at the base of a gorgeous mountain setting.

The owners were very nice to us and if I ever come back to Sedona, I would certainly stay at the Slide Rock Lodge again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    13
    2
    2
    13
See reviews for
15
15
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williams, AZ
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Spartan is one thing, but not even soap provided! Room was unimaginative and dismal. Substandard see-through curtains. Room is in definite need of upgrade!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reston va
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

dont understand the positive reviews about the slide rock inn, I got there at midnight and entered room #4, the carpet was filthy and the bed was even worse, I awoke at 6 am and waited till 8 to drop my keys off and proceeded to get the hell out of there. I know its rustic but come on this place hasn't been upgraded since the early 70's - stay away !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We had gone to Sedona without a plan. Wanted to go to the Grand Canyon. Beyond that plans were open. We stayed at a Ramada in Flagstaff the first night. Blah. Drove down to Sedona the next day on 89a, beautiful road. Like I said no plan. As we drove through the canyon we were looking for that perfect lodge or cabin to spend the next 3 days and nites. Found it. Slide Rock Lodge. Andy and Joann. Nicest people you’d ever want to meet. We sprung for a suite, 2 rooms, a little kitchen, fireplace, clean, homey, couldn’t have been better. The kind of place that makes you feel like your staying at your uncles cabin up at the lake. They even have some creek bottom that they own so one afternoon we spent a refreshing time listening to the water and skipping rocks. Andy was a font of local knowledge on what to do an where to go. On our forth day we didn’t fly out till midnight. Andy n Joann let us stay late so we could have a full day and still freshen up and get a little nap before we headed off. That’s country hospitality so lacking in our world today. We can’t speak highly enough of our experience at Slide Rock Lodge. If you go please say hi to Andy n Joann for us Have fun

Room Tip: Call ahead and get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

The owners were so rude! They accused me of being a liar. It was my birthday and I had 3 friends staying the night with me in our room but my family or 3 more were up for the day to eat cake in the hotel with us, then we were all going to slide rock, then my family of 3 were going home and my 3 friends and I were staying the night. The owner woman would not let my family stay. She said I paid for 4 people to be on here property and that's all that was allowed. She kicked my family off their property. We were there 10 mins and I got a refund. DIdn't stay the night. But I'm glad. The place didn't look too clean anyways. I wouldn't trust sleeping there with those owners anyways. And may I not forget to mention on the 2nd floor of their office right when we arrived the 2nd owner a male almost feel through it when a wooden board came loose. I wouldn't trust the cheap make of the place. I also paid $140 for my room and when I showed up there was a huge sign out front that said Vacancy $99.00!! How fair is that?? Would never recommend this place to anyone!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

I travel all over the world and stay in the best hotels. When I need to care for myself I come to The Slide Rock Lodge in Sedona and watch a fire while smelling the fresh air. My husband and I just spent our anniversary again and experienced a slice of Heaven. Not fancy just perfect mojo. It is usually sold out because I think there are only 20 rooms and everyone wants to walk along Oak Creek, a private walk that they own. They are building a wine patio and wine and cheese room ... Sweeter than ever.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Unfortunately, we were delayed getting to this hotel and only spent 12 hours on site. We arrived in the dark after a long day of travel. I had called the owner when I realized we wouldn't get in until late. JoAnne very kindly left the key under the mat for us so that we were able to get into our room. Since we arrived in the dark, we weren't able to appreciate anything around us except the sky full of stars.
When we woke up in the morning we were blown away by the red rocks rising up all around us! This place was gorgeous and we found it refreshing to be disconnected from TV and WiFi. I would emphasize the "lodge" part of the name rather than the "hotel" part. If you like to be outdoors, this place is fantastic: you can sleep with the windows open and sit on the porch. If you are a Hyatt/Hilton fan, you may not appreciate what this place offers.
The owners are pleased to assist you with directions and their knowledge of the immediate area and also of Arizona (Andy was happy to provide suggestions on seeing the Grand Canyon).
We enjoyed the location: only 1/2 mile from Slide Rock State Park. It allows you to arrive at the park early enough to avoid parking hassles and the bigger crowds.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Slide Rock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slide Rock Lodge

Address: 6401 North Highway 89 A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Slide Rock Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slide Rock Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.