We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Begs for a longer stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Creek Terrace Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Oak Creek Terrace Resort to your Saves list
Oak Creek Terrace Resort
4548 N. Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 31 Sedona B&B and Inns
Aarhus, Arhus, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Begs for a longer stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

After winding down the canyon road from the North, we were met by the sight of this cozy, charming hotel nestled by the creek several miles before entering the more touristy strip in Sedona. We were received by a friendly, service-minded man (the owner?), who was ready to offer any information we might need. We overnighted in one of the smaller rooms, but larger rooms with fireplaces are available close to the creek, where one can hear the soothing sounds of the babbling creek. A short exploration down the terraces to the creek revealed many idyllic spots under the oaks near the creek, adorned with various lounge chairs that invite one to stop, sit and revel in the the beauty of the location.

The charm of the hotel is enhanced by small lights in the trees, beauftiful bronze garden sculptures, and a feeling that here was a place where time loses meaning.

The room itself was cozy and comfortable, with nice little touches here and there. The beds were very comfortable, but the bathroom was perhaps a tad on the small side. Not a problem, really, and as I noted earlier on, we did overnight in one of the smaller rooms.

All in all, the Oak Creek Terrace Resort begs for a longer stay. If you visit Sedona Canyon, I highly recommend this special, reasonably priced hotel outside the touristy section of Sedona.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    64
    21
    19
    16
See reviews for
30
128
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This unique resort was a hidden gem, stumbled on it ..greeted by a perfect front desk person Brenda, and the variety of units and location was outstanding. Fireplace in the room , quiet river front sandwiched between Red cliffs it is a place dreams are made from..Great place for nature lovers !!Close to Sedona and sight seeing..

Room Tip: several different...all are good value!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The unit we were in was older and needed updating badly. I don't mind if something is older as long as its clean. We did not get the feeling the place was clean since we could visibly see cobwebs hanging from the ceiling and built up dirt on the baseboards; not to mention someone else's hair in the bathroom & jacuzzi.

The shower got hot water quickly, but the sink never got not water.

Initially our heating unit was so loud it woke us every time it went on. I will say that the management was very nice and very responsive. So once we let them know of our concerns they did what they could to correct it.

Room Tip: The grounds are really nice. Ask the managers if you're in an updated room like the one in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is our second time visiting here. While the view is beautiful and it is quiet and quaint I seemed to notice more imperfections this time. For the price you are getting a quiet secluded type atmosphere. The exterior appearance is great. When we opened the door to our room it is nice but very much needed some updating. The drywall next to the hot tub needed obvious repair. Not really sure why that section of the wall is not tiled over. It would eliminate that bad drywall.
Our bathroom was ridiculously small and the floor at a slant. If you had to sit on the toilet, you had to sit at an angle do to the limited space that was there. There was no firescreen for fireplace or fire untensils either. I called and asked for a poker and received a heavt duty pair of grilling tongs. If you want a hideaway this is the place. If you want better quality upgrades, I sugesst somewhere else.

Room Tip: Go to the website and preview the pictures of the room prior to booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed three days at Oak Creek Terrace. Our room was great. We especially enjoyed the Jacuzzi after our hike in the Gran Canyon. We also appreciated that they Red Rock Park passes for visitors to use. the best thing about staying here was it was close enough so we would got out to eat but also far enough away we could enjoy a respite from the hustle and bustle of Sedona.

Room Tip: Their website has a layout of the room locations as well as pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We found this place by luck on a quick visit to Sedona. This is one of the prettiest properties we have ever stayed in. The grounds are beautiful and the views are spectacular. The staff were very attentive and helpful from Reservation to checkout. There is a general quirkiness about the place, but that is part of the charm. Our room was one of the ones "on top" and It was small, but we spent most of out time outside watching the changing colors in Oak Creek Canyon. In fact rather than face the crowds in Sedona proper we got a bottle of wine and salads at a grocery store and had dinner on the deck at sunset.

Just to clarify; this is an older property that has been lovingly maintained and upgraded. they have done a spectacular job with what they have. If you are expecting a modern Hilton, stay in a modern Hilton. If you are an adventurous traveler, this place is for you.

We are already planning a longer stay next spring.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have stayed in many resorts in Sedona over the past 30 years, but hadn't tried Oak Creek Terrace untill last week. What a pleasent surpise. I'm 6'2' and my wife 6' and we didn't find the rooms small at all. we stayed in a room the first night and a bungalow the 2nd night and found both comfortable, Clean and well appointed. Jacuzzis in the rooms. The staff were helpful and what can you say about the surrondings?! On Oak Creek. Tables and chairs every where, statues, fountains. A very relaxing stay and 3 miles from town. You just can't stay in Sedona or on Oak Creek this well for the price. We will recommend to friends and return again and again.

Room Tip: Bunglow 21 quiet with micro and mini fridge..enclosed porch with fountain and flat screen HD tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oak Creek Terrace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Creek Terrace Resort

Address: 4548 N. Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Oak Creek Terrace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Creek Terrace Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Creek Terrace Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.