We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with a spa pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southwest Inn at Sedona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Southwest Inn at Sedona to your Saves list
Southwest Inn at Sedona
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3250 State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel with a spa pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed 3 nights whilst visiting the local area, which has wonderful scenery, and the Grand Canyon.

Rooms were large, clean and well-equipped with very comfortable beds. The area was quiet, but the air-con could be quite noisy.

Not a walkable distance from town, so need to drive. but otherwise well situated with some lovely scenery outside the door. Lower rooms have a covered seating area outside and upper rooms a balcony.

Staff very friendly and helpful and the decor and spa pool were great. Breakfast was interesting, with burritos instead of the usual eggs and sausages.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    170
    58
    15
    11
See reviews for
157
354
19
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Harris, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here again, love this hotel! Quiet, yet great location only minutes away from everything Sedona has to offer. Our travel plans changed so we had a couple of extra days, driving over to Sedona was a no brainier. But we (and our dog) needed 2 nights on short notice, they only had one night available, but when we checked in the staff informed us they were able to make arrangements to get us both nights. As always their beautiful southwest decor, and very clean comfortable rooms were a hit with us!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Decided to stay at the Southwest Inn after reading the reviews on here. The property and room was very clean and very comfortable and tastefully decorated and updated. The location of the property was great too. Not too far from town and situated on the road with very nice views of the Red Rocks.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I chose the Southwest Inn at Sedona based on reviews on this website and was not disappointed. The room was spacious and clean, the bed was comfortable and the location was great for a couple who doesn't want to be in the middle of town.
We enjoyed the breakfast 3 of the 5 mornings we were there -- just enough to satisfy folks who have plans and don't want to wait for restaurant service. Cereal, yogurt, waffles, burritos, juice, and an apple to go -- we thought it was just enough.
We really enjoyed the balcony at sunset. Didn't try the hot tub or pool, so can't comment on that. The grounds were clean and the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.
We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Second floor toward the southern end of the property will be quieter, but offer less sunset vista th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The room is way overpriced for the quality of the room. It seems very out dated. We had ants in our bathroom all over the counters when we notified the hotel they just thanked us for letting them know. The staff was friendly when we arrived and made helpful suggestion about sedona but that's about it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here for four nights of our spring break with our two teenaged kids. We had a King suite where the kids shared the sofa bed in the living room. There were plenty of drawers for us all to unpack, as I hate living out of a suitcase. The location is nice, close to town, but away from all the crowds and bustle of "uptown" Sedona. Trailheads to our two favorite hikes, Boynton Canyon and Devil's Bridge are around the corner and just up the road.
The staff was helpful, suggested some restaurants, including Oak Creek Brewery, which we would recommend. The wall mounted hair dryer burned out as soon as I turned it on, but they had a replacement in the office which worked fine. For us, the breakfast was great. Coffee for my daughter, waffles and burritos for my husband and son, and oatmeal for me. Some more fruit, even just bananas, might have been nice. My 12 year old son, who seems to have a bottomless stomach these days, said the burritos were the highlight of his trip - they say a man's heart is through his stomach...
The rooms are clean, appear just as pictured, and the towels and bed linens were very nice, as are the robes. After days of hiking, I slept great, even in our room, which was closest to the highway. There was some traffic noise, but nothing too bothersome. The only bummer was when we went to soak in the hot tub one night and the water was not hot enough. It was tepid, and too cold to stay in.
I thought this was a really good value and I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others. This was my first visit to Sedona, and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We have wanted to visit Sedona but couldn't find a nice place that was affordable during spring break. Stumbled on Southwest Inn at Sedona, and we are so glad we did. The whole place is immaculate, the rooms are lovely and very comfortable, and it had the best hotel bed I have ever slept in! The kiva fireplace was perfect on chilly nights, the pool was great on the hot sunny days, and breakfast was perfect very day. LOVED their homemade breakfast burritos and will try to replicate that at home! We got a room with a jacuzzi tub - only used it once. It took forever to fill, but mostly we didn't bother with it because the outdoor hot tub was absolutely perfect- I think we used it at least twice every day. It was great even on chilly days and nights - great to soak and watch the stars. The Innkeeper Craig was the nicest guy - super friendly and helpful The place was both a treat and a bargain - we would be thrilled to stay there agin!

Room Tip: Don't bother with paying for a in-room jacuzzi tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southwest Inn at Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southwest Inn at Sedona

Address: 3250 State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sedona
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southwest Inn at Sedona 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sedona's Premier Boutique Hotel: it's what you get when you combine the atmosphere of a Small Elegant Hotel with the personal loving touch of a Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Southwest Inn at Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southwest Inn At Sedona Hotel Sedona
Southwest Hotel Sedona
Sedona Southwest Hotel
Southwest Inn Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southwest Inn at Sedona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.