We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay. Great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southwest Inn at Sedona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Southwest Inn at Sedona to your Saves list
Southwest Inn at Sedona
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3250 State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
USA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Nice Stay. Great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

Stayed two nights in May 2008.

We had a quite clean comfortable suite with a view which was located far away from 89A.

Caution: Rooms near the 89A could be noisy since we heard the road from our balcony.

Friendly staff.

Included buffet breakfast was passable.

Loved the location - a mile or so from the commercialized tourist trap of downtown Sedona.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    160
    55
    13
    10
See reviews for
146
338
18
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

My daughter and I recently visited Sedona, AZ. It is an absolutely lovely place to vacation. We stayed at the Southwest Inn and it was a perfect choice. The management and staff treated us like family and made sure all of our needs were met from a comfortable room, on-site breakfast in the morning, restaurant choices and directions, tour scheduling and suggestions and where to find anything we needed day or night. They actually watched over us in the nicest possible way. It was like being at home - away from home - and we found the extra attention comforting. Our room couldn't have been nicer. It was spacious and beautiful with every comfort provided. We will definitely go back!

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth Wright
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2008

We spent 5 nights at the Southwest Inn to celebrate our anniversary. When we arrived a chilled bottle of cider was waiting in our room along with a card that the staff all signed. This was the beginning of a fantastic stay in Sedona. The staff were all friendly and helpful; the breakfast was good; the view from the balcony was awesome.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, NJ
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

Sedona is one of those places where the magnificence of the landscape is more than enough to offset the clutter of cheap souvenir shops, awful traffic and long lines. “Uptown” Sedona is the traffic infested commercial center. Southwest Inn is located “Downtown” along US89A, a few miles to the west in a still busy but far less congested commercial area. This is a well run and classy little place that makes a nice base for enjoying the many things Sedona has to offer.

WHAT WAS GOOD: Despite being along a busy commercial strip, the grounds were very relaxing as a result of several bubbling fountains and other water features, nice plantings, and lots of cool southwestern style decorative touches....The second floor king suite was spacious and comfortable, with a very large bathroom, a good sized living room and bedroom and a nice balcony. Furnishings were simple but very nice, far more home style than your standard motel. The gas fireplace is a nice bonus....Though not unobstructed, views of the surrounding red rock landscape are very inspiring....An excellent full self-service breakfast is served upstairs above the main lobby in a spacious room that’s large enough to accommodate guests in a non chaotic manner even at peak times. Three PC’s are set up in a small office next to the breakfast area, providing free internet access....There’s a small pool and Jacuzzi on site. Staff members were consistently friendly and helpful.

WHAT COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER: Too bad the Jacuzzi jets were broken throughout our two-day stay. A late day soak in the pleasantly cool spring temperatures would have been great....There was a considerable amount of renovation going on during our stay, resulting in lots of service vehicles, plenty of furniture and equipment movement, and just a minor degree of disorder.

THINGS TO KNOW: You could probably get away without a car in Uptown Sedona but not here. Reaching anything from the inn would require wheels....The property is roughly on a ninety degree angle from the road, the office being closest to highway and the units toward the back near the pool, the furthest. Units toward the back would tend to have the most privacy and be least likely to encounter road noise....Second floor balconies have decent views of the red rocks (beyond the parking lot and surrounding structures); first floor sitting areas do not....Strangely, the Jacuzzi is physically separated from the pool area, requiring a short walk. There’s an ample supply of towels at both locations....There are several good restaurants just a short distance from the inn along US89A....Uptown Sedona is a five to ten minute drive.

BOTTOM LINE: If you don’t mind a little separation from the center of town (a good thing, in my opinion), this is an excellent choice. Pick this place if you’re looking for clean, comfortable and relaxing accommodations with an elegant touch, without the amenities of a pricier full service resort.

  • Liked — Good location; great staff; relaxing and nicely decorated grounds; large rooms
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonthill
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

We stayed here for 5 nights the end of April in the Mission King room. Quite a large bathroom, lots of closet space, big balcony, and the whole place is spotless. Groundskeepers and service staff were constantly sweeping and painting and tidying up -- clearly the owners take pride in their property. It is a very quiet location and the traffic noise dies right off at night -- we were able to leave our balcony door open while we slept. We found all the staff, from check-in to the concierge to maid service very helpful and friendly. We couldn't get the DVD player to work one morning, and called the front desk at 8:30 a.m, there was someone there in less than a minute to help us! The breakfast is quite good, although it doesn't vary a great deal, you won't go away hungry. The coffee is great, and the breakfast room attendant is a sweetheart who really does make you feel like a guest in her "home". There are 3 stations to access the internet FOR FREE, so people can check out tourist info or get their e-mail. Can't comment on the pool or hot tub as we never used them. I don't know why people keep complaining about the view -- you only see the parking lot if you look down! Look up and to the horizon, they are hills/mountains after all. Our only complaint is the bed was too soft, and I am sure that if we had mentioned it to the front desk, they would have switched it with another one, that is how accomodating we found them to be. I didn't think of it until our last night, though. There is cold iced tea and lemonade and coffee available all day in the breakfast room as well. Overall, maybe a bit overpriced but we were quite happy with our stay there.

The best and least expensive Mexican food we had was at Casa Bonita in the Basha's food shopping center. Barking Frog was good but over-priced, although the guacamole made fresh at tableside is outstanding! The Heartline Cafe has a lovely garden/patio and the food is very good there as well.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and breakfast
  • Disliked — Soft bed
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

Spent a night here in April 2008. Property appeared new and welcome was very friendly and helpful. We had a king suite which was very spacious, clean etc. We would certainly recommend and return to the Southwest Inn if returning to Sedona

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

The reviews that have been written are for them most part correct. The only problem we had with our stay was the so called "view". The pictures on the web sit showed the red mountains just outside the room. Standing in your room your view is only of the parking lot. You need to go out on the balcony and lean way out to see the red rocks. So do not think that you will be able to sit down on the balcony and see any view. You will only see a motel parking lot. I have included a couple of pictures to show what we got for a view from the second floor. Would I go back? Yes, probably just because the hotel was perfect in every other aspect. Oh, it is right off the highway so unless you close all the windows you will have a hard time sleeping.

  • Liked — Clean, friendly staff, nice size rooms and great choices for breakfast.
  • Disliked — View was very disappointing. Expected to see rocks much closer as depicted on web site.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southwest Inn at Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southwest Inn at Sedona

Address: 3250 State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#13 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southwest Inn at Sedona 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sedona's Premier Boutique Hotel: it's what you get when you combine the atmosphere of a Small Elegant Hotel with the personal loving touch of a Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Southwest Inn at Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southwest Inn At Sedona Hotel Sedona
Southwest Hotel Sedona
Sedona Southwest Hotel
Southwest Inn Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southwest Inn at Sedona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.