We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southwest Inn at Sedona

Save Saved
You added Southwest Inn at Sedona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southwest Inn at Sedona
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3250 State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Guaranteed Lowest Rates
Ranked #13 of 46 hotels in Sedona
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Coming from somebody in the industry this place is excellent! Free breakfast, free wifi and a very attentive staff. We had the top floor, corner unit closest to the lobby. The view from the front patio was breathtaking in the morning, took some amazing photo's. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and even gave us some coupons for local eateries. The front lobby does close at a certain time and can be reached by phone; some people might find this irritating at times but the resort I work at in Scottsdale does the exact same thing. The breakfast was a very nice plus, make it yourself waffles, yogurt and mini burritos. They really go out of their way to make you feel welcome and appreciated. The beds and pillows are of better quality than most other resort's in the valley- makes for a great night of sleep. My only suggestion would be to get dvd players in the rooms! Besides that, hands down my favorite place to stay in Sedona on or off a budget, check these guys out! Keep up the great work guys. Cheers!

Room Tip: Top floor, corner units. Ask for an upgrade if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2dumbpugs, Manager at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your great review! I am very pleased that you loved your stay at the Southwest Inn and had a great time in Sedona!

We try very hard, and love it when we connect the value of what we have to offer to those travlers who appreciate us. Thank you for staying with us and made us part of your amazing trip! Hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    361
    142
    53
    13
    10
See reviews for
137
311
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, including over New Years. We loved the location as it intersects 89 and Dry Creek Road, so for hiking this part of Sedona, it was perfect. It is close to many restaurants and the local movie theatre in case you want to go to the movies for a night.

Breakfast was good, nothing fancy, could use some mixed fruit, but plentiful and enough protein.

The outdoor hot tub was perfect after a day on the trails, it was large, very clean and the perfect temperature.

All staff were friendly and knowledgable about the area, both for places to eat as well as local fav hikes.

All in all, we know where we are staying next time in Sedona.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2dumbpugs, Manager at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for a great review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Southwest Inn and a great time in Sedona!

Going down Dry Creek road is by far my favorite place to drive to get a better feel of how beautiful Sedona is. There are a lot of hiking trails and also a great place to take amazing pictures up close to the Red Rocks.

Once again thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed one night at the Southwest Inn on our way back home to Los Angeles. We wanted to stay in Sedona and the Southwest Inn seemed to offer the best value and had some pet-friendly rooms available for our 2 cats. The room was great with its own gas fireplace and large bathroom with whirlpool tub and separate shower. The upper level rooms have better views of the red cliffs, but we were only stopping here for a night and the lower level room was fine. The free breakfast was very good and included some delicious breakfast burritos as well as hot oatmeal, fresh fruit, bread and muffins. The small breakfast room was very clean.

Room Tip: Pet fee was $30.00/night for our 2 cats. Upper level rooms have better views of the red cliffs sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2dumbpugs, Manager at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your great review! I am pleased to hear that you and your pets had a great time at the Southwest Inn and in Sedona!

Our property is pet friendly, but we only have certain rooms for pets. You had a great room! The jetted tub is amazing after a long day and im sure your cats loved the warmth of the fire place. I hope you also got to try our great bean burritos. The bean burritos are a great way to start your mornings. They are a great energy boost!

Once again Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the Southwest Inn. I chose it based upon user ratings, and I was not disappointed. The room was clean, neat, and comfortable, with a beautiful view of the red hills of Sedona. The grounds were very well manicured, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is located on the south-end of town, away from the tourist-congested areas. The room was equipped with a gas fireplace, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, and wi-fi. Every morning, there is a continental breakfast equipped with Make-it-yourself waffles, black bean breakfast burritos, and oatmeal. I found the young man who works the night shift particular helpful, and Kenny the groundsman to be welcoming and warm. I will be returning to Sedona, and the Southwest Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable big room with surprise gas fire.
I wouldn't call it elegant or a boutique hotel ( in the European sense) but perfect for a night.
Breakfast was a bit weird but actually fine..do it yourself waffles and burritos to warm up....
Coffee and tea is impossible for non-American.. Warm water ( not boiled ) supplied.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Loved this hotel. My boyfriend and I stayed the weekend after thanksgiving and enjoyed our experience for many reasons: the staff was very knowledgable and recommended hikes and restaurants for us. Breakfast was available for free and there was a plentiful selection. The only downfall, if you can even call it that is the location. It's far from downtown...probably a five minute drive, but if you have a car and don't mind not being walking distance to things its great!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2dumbpugs, Manager at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and having a great time! We try very hard, and we love it when we connect the value of what we have to offer to those travelers who appreciate us! The location of the Inn is one of the great places to be. We are right down the road from amazing hikes, and not in the middle of all craziness in uptown. We love our guest and treat them like family. We are willing to do anything and everything to keep our guest happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I chose this hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and were not disappointed. It is a small hotel, looks pretty unassuming. We had a room on the upper floor. The room had everything (flat screen tv, fireplace, nice balcony with a couple of chairs, fridge and wi-fi). The only thing that seemed to be missing was a safe. The bed was comfortable and the sheets and pillows looked fresh and inviting. The breakfast was included. The room where the breakfast is available is comfortable, cheerful and kept spotlessly clean. Good choice of cereals, breads, yogurt and even fresh "make yourself" waffles. The coffee was fresh and hot. This hotel almost had the ambience of a "bed and breakfast" place.
Front desk staff are very friendly and helpful with directions and booking activities.
It is located a little away from the downtown area. Which is a good thing. However if you have a room close to the highway, you may find the highway traffic noise a little distracting. On the positive side, the view from the balcony is fabulous.
To sum it up, we had a very comfortable stay in a hotel which is clean, efficent and well run.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floor and towards the end which is furthest away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2dumbpugs, Manager at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for the positive review and staying at the Inn!

It makes me happy to hear that you and your wife had a great time and enjoyed everything we have to offer. We love it when we connect the value of what we have to offer to those travelers who appreciate us. The location of the Inn (I think) is perfect. We are located right next to Dry Creek Road, which is the access to the Wilderness Canyons of Sedona.

We are very pleased you stayed with us and hopefully we will see you sometime in the future

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southwest Inn at Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southwest Inn at Sedona

Address: 3250 State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sedona
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#14 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southwest Inn at Sedona 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sedona's Premier Boutique Hotel: it's what you get when you combine the atmosphere of a Small Elegant Hotel with the personal loving touch of a Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Southwest Inn at Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southwest Inn At Sedona Hotel Sedona
Southwest Hotel Sedona
Sedona Southwest Hotel
Southwest Inn Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southwest Inn at Sedona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.