We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lodging in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southwest Inn at Sedona

Save Saved
You added Southwest Inn at Sedona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southwest Inn at Sedona
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3250 State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Guaranteed Lowest Rates
Ranked #12 of 45 hotels in Sedona
Oregon, WI
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good lodging in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have previously spent time in Sedona at long-term vacation rentals but just had 5 nights on this past visit so needed a hotel. There are lot of choices but were very pleased with the SWINN. The room was perfect for our needs, reasonably priced, with a good view from the balcony to the red rocks. We like their far west location to be away from the craziness of uptown and closer to hiking and restaurants. We used the hot tub every day after our hikes. The breakfast buffet including burritos was one the best we have ever had. Also, great coffee.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a 2nd floor room as all rooms face the parking lot but higher up you get a good v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    365
    145
    54
    13
    10
See reviews for
138
318
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
L.A,CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was a romantic getaway for 2. The Apache Suite was cozy enough and decorated with attractive Southwest decor. We stayed here based on other reviews and were happy we selected this place for 5 nights ...Just a few things stood out . I travel for a living, so these things were noticeable to me. The King bed was extremely comfortable.This isn't a fancy place.. We stayed in the upstairs suite with balcony- but it overlooked the unsightly parking lot. I thought the down comforter should have had a duvet or been covered/wrapped in a sheet. The amenities in the shower(soap,shampoo,etc) were nice quality. The comfy Robes were a nice touch.Nice to have a fridge, but having a few creamers inside for the coffee would be lovely. The "DVD only" TV in the living room area w fireplace needs to be updated to a regular flat screen. The pool/spa were small& separate from each other and not that enticing. Loved the nutritious self serve breakfast -hard boiled eggs, hot grain cereal with sliced almonds/raisins, cold cereal, burritos ( blk beans, quinoa, rice, tomatoes, green chilies, make yourself waffles, yogurt, toast, coffee/tea/juice)
Helpful staff, but had to ask 3x for a table for the balcony (instead of a foot rest/low still mini table)
EZ to drive to Vortex Hiking spots, but you will need a car to get to the main area of town. We didn't mind being 10 min drive away from everything-restaurants, shops, hiking.

Room Tip: Upper floor suites with balcony/view twds rear of property have less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The location of the hotel on the west side of town ended up being a little inconvenient for us as all our activities were on the other side by the Airport Road, but not a massive problem. The pool and outdoor spa areas were small but fine, although not well used at that time of year.

The rooms were very dark unfortunately, and with all the lights on still felt quite dark, which was a real shame. I wonder if the upstairs ones may have attracted more light. Wifi was patchy, although I fear this may have been simply a distance issue as we were in the furthest room from the main road (a good thing overall) The fireplace however was a real pleasure, giving some atmosphere to the room.

Bed and in-room facilities were ok, 3 star standard. Breakfast was simple - a little down on the standard I'd had elsewhere on the trip, but reasonable.

Overall it's fine, but not great. Would look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Southwest Inn! The location is excellent as we took two great hikes (Devils Bridge & Solder's Pass) both just a few minutes away. The room was very clean and everything worked well. The breakfast was excellent and extensive with an excellent person preparing, cleaning and making breakfast perfect. Front desk was very helpful on hike information. Only small downside was the pool was not heated and more like swimming in a mountain stream.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Beautiful hotel close to everything but just far enough away from the hub to be peaceful and relaxing. Breakfast is included, it is amazing and nutritious. Rooms are very clean, comfortable beds, fireplace, very private and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great room and front desk. Only downside is breakfast is open at 7:30 am; quite late for us hikers who want to get outdoors early. Great breakfast selection and a few hot items. Loved the fireplace and robes. Easy walking distance to many restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the property; very quiet. I also would recommend the 2nd floor for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Conveniently located, clean and comfortable with a helpful staff, this was a nice place to land on an an overnight trip to Sedona. The room featured high quality beds, comfortable pillows and bedding, as well as a responsive heating and cooling system which supported a good night of sleep. Even the hotel was fully booked and is located beside the main road, once our patio door closed, we were not troubled by noise from other travelers or the party across the street. The bathroom was nice, but the fan made a tremendous noise when in use. Robes were stiff; the laundry should use fabric softener.

Room Tip: We paid $10 extra for a second floor room with a small deck and a view of the mountains. It was wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southwest Inn at Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southwest Inn at Sedona

Address: 3250 State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#14 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southwest Inn at Sedona 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sedona's Premier Boutique Hotel: it's what you get when you combine the atmosphere of a Small Elegant Hotel with the personal loving touch of a Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Southwest Inn at Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southwest Inn At Sedona Hotel Sedona
Southwest Hotel Sedona
Sedona Southwest Hotel
Southwest Inn Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southwest Inn at Sedona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.