We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southwest Inn at Sedona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Southwest Inn at Sedona to your Saves list
Southwest Inn at Sedona
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3250 State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“lovely property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had a wondeful 2 night stay at Southwest Inn at Sedona. Front desk folks were very accommodating, both by phone for the reservation and once we checked in. Suite was quite comfortable. Only problem we had was the bedroom AC was VERY noisy. The 2nd night, we turned it off, opened windows and slept soundly. They helped to arrange a Grand Canyon tour package with Pink Jeep Tours which was also great. A nice Labor Day weekend escape!

Room Tip: we got a 2nd floor corner suite with a nice view and an outside deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2dumbpugs, Owner at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Our air conditioners are environmentally friendly. We try to inform inform our guests of the "environment" setting, which reduces the noise level. I too enjoy opening my window, turning the fan on, and sleeping in the Sedona high desert night air.

I am glad that you found the recipe for a good nights sleep,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    170
    58
    15
    11
See reviews for
157
354
19
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Southwest Inn at Sedona is a great place to stay. The rooms are very nice and the guy at the front dest went overboard to make sure that he answered all of our questions and made some great recommendations. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2dumbpugs, Owner at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you, for your kind words. We only wish that you could have stayed longer so that you could have: enjoyed a sunrise hike from the the turn out off of Red Rock Loop; and a sunset hike out on the flat rocks at the jeep trail 152C, which is just over the ridge from us.

I always recommend that our guests take the time to drive out, ride out, or walk out Dry Creek Road, which is the access to the wilderness canyons, and the rumored UFO Base; so, I do get a little nervous when they do not return--did they find the UFO Base?

Hope to see you again, when your travels bring you back to the Southwest,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conover
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were delighted with our choice of Southwest Inn. Our "room" was a two room suite with a small kitchenette area and a spacious bathroom. We stayed for four nights and found it very comfortable. The standard of cleanliness was excellent, the bed was very comfortable, the amenities were nice and the breakfast had enough variety to please different tastes. it is indeed just off the highway, but we did not find it noisy - possibly because we used the air conditioner throughout our stay. We were not bothered by the distance from the shops - they were a short drive away. And we found the restaurant across the road to be both excellent and a fun place for dinner. We paid a reasonable price and certainly got our money's worth. We were so busy enjoying Sedona that we had no time for the pool. The staff was very helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very disappointed in this property. It is right on the highway, and traffic noise was very annoying. The red rock views are okay, but limited. The "deluxe" room we stayed in was nice, but not very roomy. Ceiling fan was broken, and a/c was noisy. Front desk staff was not very friendly. Breakfast buffet okay, and in a nice setting. Pool is small and right next to the parking lot. For the price, it wasn't worth it.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are best, but you have to climb stairs. Don't take a room near the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2dumbpugs, Owner at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Sedona is uniquely located in between 3 sets of Red Rock Mountain ridges, which tends to trap the noise level down low at times. What most of our guests love about our location: is that we are on the western side, which is away from the heavily populated tourist section of Sedona; our access to Dry Creek Road (50 yards) which accesses the Wilderness Canyons of Sedona (which is why people from all over the world come to Sedona); and our location to Red Rock Crossing, which is the 2nd most photographed location in the western USA, and offers a true Huck Finn - Tom Sawyer swimming hole, underneath the Cathedral Vortex--it does not get any more beautiful than this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

If you are looking for a luxurious place to stay in Sedona but can't afford the high prices of spas, then the Southwest Inn is a fabulous choice. Reasonably priced, clean, very comfortable and the second floors have views of the red rocks. The beds were very comfortable and the contentiental breakfast was a surprise with home-made burritos that were healthy and filling-perfect for a day of hiking. We loved this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2dumbpugs, Owner at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you, for such a wonderful review. We all put in a lot of work to appeal to individuals, such as yourselves, who appreciate the value that we offer. You might like a blog that we have posted: regarding the choice of value: http://www.swinn.com/Sedona-AZ-Hotel-Blog/bid/56523/sedona-hotels-cost-value-and-luxury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is really a 2-story motel with limited views of the red rock mountains (but great views of the parkimg lot). It is located away from most of the shops and restaurants so you must drive everywhere. Front desk staff was very nice and full of recommendations for us. Amenities are quite limited and the pool is next to the parking lot and very small (but my kids didn't care). Breakfast was good and had enough variety for our two night stay. TV didn't really work so staff offered to try and move us or give us a free DVD player. I'm glad we did not spend much on the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2dumbpugs, Owner at Southwest Inn at Sedona, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Interesting review: A lot of guests love our location at the western gateway to Sedona, because of the lack of "tourist hustle and bustle"; in addition to our location next to Dry Creek Road, which is the access to the Wilderness Canyons of Sedona. Thunder Mountain is an easy walk from our location, and many enjoy watching the sunset from our front porch, and yet others are too focused on looking down at the parking lot??

Regarding our amenities--in a recent comparison against several Las Vegas hotels, we consistently outscored them due to the custom choices of soaps and bedding, the monogrammed robes, the David Stoeckline Western Art, and the Native Arizona landscaping.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The room and surrounding grounds are impeccably clean. The breakfast, included with the room rate, has good variety. The road next to the hotel is the start of a scenic drive. Please note that you must arrive to the hotel before 9:00 PM unless you make advance arrangements.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southwest Inn at Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southwest Inn at Sedona

Address: 3250 State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southwest Inn at Sedona 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sedona's Premier Boutique Hotel: it's what you get when you combine the atmosphere of a Small Elegant Hotel with the personal loving touch of a Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Southwest Inn at Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southwest Inn At Sedona Hotel Sedona
Southwest Hotel Sedona
Sedona Southwest Hotel
Southwest Inn Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southwest Inn at Sedona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.