We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Briar Patch Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Briar Patch Inn
Save
You added Briar Patch Inn to your Saves list
3190 N. SR 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Sedona B&B and Inns
Plattsburgh, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“a very special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2007

My wife and I just spent three nights at the Briar Patch Inn and I would find it hard to believe why anyone visiting this place wouldn't agree that it is special. Unlike many properties in Sedona which seem to be located on small parcels of land, the Briar Patch sits on nine acres. And what nine acres they are. The first adjective that comes to mind in describing them is "shady". In Sedona, that seems to be a rarity. We went in June and, as one would expect, the sun was blazing down pretty good. It was so nice to come back to a leafy retreat. We never put on the air conditioning. The Briar Patch is located about two miles north of downtown Sedona (which is called "uptown") on the beautiful road leading down from Flagstaff. Each cottage is geared to privacy and thus they are scattered throughout the property. All are located in the shade. Whoever did the landscaping did a magnificent job.
All b & b's tout their breakfasts, but this one is something else. While the breakfast food is certainly very good, it is not the food that makes the experience so pleasant, but where you eat it. The breakfast is set up in the beautiful central building which serves as the reception/lobby area to the property. While you could take it back to your room, most guests carry it by tray out to tables that are set up (in the shade) overlooking the creek. What a scene. But there's more. While you are eating breakfast, a duo is playing classical music. You just want to linger-and you can, since breakfast is served from 8 to 10. The staff is right on top of things, walking around making sure that everyone is pleased with their table and meal. Yet they are not in any way obtrusive.
Our cottage was lovely--very tastefully done. The furniture was extremely comfortable and obviously not bought en masse. Some inns and b & b's try to project individuality but fail. Not this one.
As far as being outside uptown Sedona, this, in my opinion, is a plus. While the red rock views are great, uptown Sedona is poplulated by t-shirt stores and stores selling cheap souvenirs. Hucksters tried to engage us in conversation. I have visited Sedona twice and both times I couldn't wait to get out of the uptown area.
If you want a memorable stay in Sedona, put the Briar Patch on your list.

  • Liked — the physical setting
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    28
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
47
101
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

We chose the BPI based on TripAdvisor reviews and location of the property. It's just far enough out of town, but not too far. It's an easy drive to town and back for dinner, activities, etc.

We arrived Friday evening for check-in which was personal and professional. We stayed in Creekside cabin, which is right on the water, 2 bedroom. It was just my husband and myself, so we only used 1 bedroom, but would have been plenty of room for a family of 4. Full kitchen with misc. utensils provided, coffee and maker, CD player with asstd. CDs, our cabin did have a small tv, however we didn't turn it on so I can't comment on reception. Cabin was very clean, totally cozy.

The grounds were beautiful, it was nice to be in nature, greenery everywhere, shady trees, and the creek constantly providing it's own soundtrack.

Breakfast was served buffet style in the office. Each day we had oatmeal, a hot egg dish, a variety of baked goods, incredible brown bread, hard and soft boiled eggs (perfect!), fresh fruits, variety of teas, juice, coffee. They even had soy milk upon my request (dairy allergy). We ate by the creek with their "house musicans" playing nice breakfast music. Each day when we returned to our room after breakfast, our wine glasses from the night before were washed and put away, coffee maker cleaned and restocked, towels restocked, bed made, room cleaned, etc, all while we were at breakfast!

I would definitely recommend the Briar Patch Inn to anyone looking to enjoy Sedona in a comfortable, relaxed environment.

  • Liked — Location, truly feeling like a welcome guest
  • Disliked — Didn't get to stay long enough
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Creek WI
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2007

Our son, daughter-in-law and four grandchildren spent a wonderful two days with my husband and I in the Ponderosa at the Briar Patch. Plenty of space for all of us. Wonderful views from the porch, kids playing Monoply and all eating at the big table in front of the fireplace are memories we'll cherish. We did our own cooking and found the kitchen to be well equipped. The creek was a definite lure for the grandkids. We hated to leave.

  • Liked — Able to accommodate 8 comfortably; well equipped kitchen; very comfortable
  • Disliked — I can't think of a thing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerffili, Wales
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2006

This was a special treat booked for us on our journey back from the Grand Canyon by our friends who were accompanying us. I found it a delightful spot, extremely pleasant in its position, layout and collection of catering ideas. That decking overlooking the stream, with its table and chimenea, the combustion of which contents providing us with heat as we settled down for the later evening - after eating out at the Javelina in Sedona- with a couple of bottles of wine. was something special.
Despite the very beautiful venue, however, don't think that you can have a pleasant pre breakfast walk outside the campus. Anyone who is used to ambling on what looks like a country lane is in for a shock, as the road outside turns to be the main highway down Oak Tree Canyon with drivers who are completely unused to pedestrians. So the slightly limited walking space within the compound is obviously the preferred option, especially when you walk into the garden and find ready laid coffee, tea and other cold drinks on the tables dotted around. Breakfast is provided indoors, and one takes the trays to those tables for open air consumption if you so wish.
A novel place, with great little ideas, but I would suggest checking the plugs and points in your "little hut" as quite a few weren't working. But then, why complain, when you're enjoying yourself1

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — The road outside the campus
  • Tips/Secrets — Enjoy it. It's special and unique!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2006

This is one of the very best places we have stayed at. It is just a couple of miles from Sedona in a small forest overlooked by wonderful rock formations. The cabins are cool and rustic with beautiful furnishings and a fully equiped kitchen. The staff are absolutely delightful and will really put themselves out to help you. The breakfast area is just delightful and the food is delicious and healthy. You can have a massage if you wish in an outdoor (but heated) sanctuary overlooking a river. The gardens are lovely too and you can sit outside enjoying the trees and lawns which are perfectky maintained. A small plumbing problem in our cottage was attended to within 30 minutes. Do note that there is no TV (presumably becaues reception is too poor in the canyon floor). Once we got used to it, it was really soothing just to read in front of the crackling fire that is made up for you every morning.

  • Liked — Beautiful setting, delightful cottages, great staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2006

Loved it. The cabins and property are charming. They offer an amazing spread for breakfast every morning, which you can eat indoors or outdoors. The cabins are clean. You don't have television or phone though, so you should plan to have activities if you're staying in. I wouldn't get excited by the "watering hole" they have. It's a dirty, mossy pool of water that you wouldn't want to stick your toe in... but other than that it's a great deal and place to stay.

  • Liked — Quiet, clean cabins on private property next to creek.
  • Tips/Secrets — Book in advance, and if you're staying in, make sure you have activities/books since there's no TV.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2006

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Briar Patch as a girl’s getaway and loved every minute of it. The breakfast was fabulous, healthy and plentiful, enough to satisfy one till dinner. The cabin was rustic in a since that they were cabins but couldn't not have been anymore perfect for the setting along the creek. The kitchens were a delight for easy meals and cold water (and wine). What was most impressive was after a long day in the sun it was a blessing to return to the cool, lush, green environment at the Briar Patch.

We did enjoy a massage in the gazebo which was priceless!!! By far the best massage I have ever had. The Briar Patch arranged for a husband and wife (Mark and Cindy?) on an afternoon, I had Mark and could not say enough about him, great job!

With regards to the staff, there was not a time when we returned from breakfast that our entire cabin was not cleaned (including the dishes in the sink). They took care of you hand and foot if requested. Their suggestions of restaurants were right on the money and they were more than happy to make reservations for you. In my mind there is no other place worth staying and in the near future I will plan a return trip to the Briar Patch with my husband for it’s one worth sharing.

Although, if you are planning a visit with small children this may not be the most fun for them. No pool or entertainment, however if your not planning on spending the day around the cabins they will be fine. However, it is more of an adult atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Briar Patch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Patch Inn

Address: 3190 N. SR 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 9 acres along the lush banks of Oak Creek. Nineteen individual cabins, kitchens, fireplaces, private patios, and free breakfast included. Creekside massage is available in our open air gazebo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Briar Patch Inn Sedona
Briar Patch Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Briar Patch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.