We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Briar Patch Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Briar Patch Inn
Save
You added Briar Patch Inn to your Saves list
3190 N. SR 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 31 Sedona B&B and Inns
vancouver bc
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

lovely cabins. Tastefully decorated. Peaceful and quite. Relaxing. Amazing staff.
Breakfast to "die for".
Clean. Incredible sense of "calm" when you arrive.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    28
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
91
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
NC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

The Briar Patch Inn is nothing short of wonderful. Imagine waking up in your rustic cabin, walking by the wooded areas to a gourmet AND healthy breakfast served on the banks of bubbling Oak Creek, with background provided by friendly and excellent musicians. Yoga in the meadow. A massage in the outdoor private space. Exploring the natural wonders of Sedona by day. Writing it all down on your shady porch. I'd go back there in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Mills, Pa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stayed at the two bedroom Heron cabin. A path to Oak Creek and a swimming hole was just outside the door. The cabin was fully furnished with a rustic decor with slate floors. There were many places to sit under the trees by the cabin including a large swing and hammock. A superb breakfast was included each morning consisted of steel cut oatmeal, fresh fruits, quiche, soft boiled eggs, fresh baked muffins, breads and cookies along with fresh squeezed juice, coffee or tea. You could choose to eat inside the lobby or outside at tables near the creek. Don't forget to get a snack and beverage in the afternoon.

The staff were very friendly and helpful by answering any questions about nearby attractions. It was very relaxing, no TV or telephones. Cell service is spotty but a pay phone is near the office.

Do yourself a favor and visit this quaint inn 3 miles north of Sedona, Arizona.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

My "other half" said, "I want to go hiking in the woods, somewhere pretty, near water/a creek, with a rustic place to stay." We travel frequently, usually to urban places (i.e. we are spoiled on service and accomodations), so Sedona's Briarpatch and a nearby hike have been a PERFECT fit! As others say, it's not the cheapest place in Sedona, but if it fits your budget and you want AWAY from hustle bustle, it's delightful.

We are here mid-Sept, grabbed one of the last 2 cabins avail with 2 days notice - Treetop. 2 queens, LR, full kitchen, no wood-burning fireplace, but they don't allow it yet anyway. IF it was allowed, we'd miss it, since we are from Phoenix where it's too hot to bother, so we are enamored with fireplaces. Treetop has a private patio covered in vines, up the hill from the creek. With more notice we would choose a creekside cabin and leave the doors open to hear the meditative sound of the creek. But for last minute, we are THRILLED with the space and privacy of Treetop. (And we are trying to tread lightly, since it's here on TA that we learned we are upstairs from occupied Owl!).

We arrived after hours, but there was a basket waiting for us with a personalized welcome note, map, flashlight, and cabin key, all of which we were impressed with. We felt greeted, even when they were closed!

Staying here is completely away from downtown Sedona, but only a couple of miles for those that are excited about the town. Being "natives," we are no longer really interested in the commercial part of town, just the natural red-rock beauty, so Briarpatch on Oak Creek Canyon is perfect. The breakfast is delightful, great quality, and to sit creekside with live music and the creek's babble is sublime. We actually sat for over 2 HOURS, long after we were done eating, just listening to the creek and music, gawking at the scenery, and watching fluffy-tailed squirrels dart through the trees. Impressed that they arrange your room to be remade while you are at breakfast. We visited Wooly and her twins, the sheep on site, which is just an added fun rustic quirk. Today we headed north up 89A to hike the Inn-reccomended West Fork trail, which was amazingly light with hikers for it's popularity. Absolutely gorgeous, crossing the creek there several times, steep red canyon cliffs looming above, huge shade trees lining the way.

Brairpatch offers a light snack late afternoon. Due to our hike, we missed cutoff, but the staff was gracious in digging out cookies to go when our13-year-old son asked an hour later.

As with other reviews, we also really like the peaceful CDs avail in the cabin, nice touch. WE LOVE NO TV!!! Because we wanted the peaceful hiking getaway, we opted to not even go to dinner in town, but rather brought a few cans of chili with us, corn chips, a bottle of wine, and made dinner in the quaint, clean cabin. A little reading and we are ready to sleep before 9 pm. It's wonderful.

Our 13 year-old was afraid he'd be bored, but he likes to read and explore, and the peace and scenery seduced him just as readily as it did us! We are ALL incredibly relaxed...

We did not use the spa, etc services, but they look wonderful, and the massage room creekside sounds WOW, as well as the Tibetan treatment.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

We booked a two night stay at the Briar Patch Inn B&B in Sedona August 4-6, 2009. We had three cabins for a group of 8 friends. The place is located in Oak Creek Canyon a few miles outside of the hustle and bustle of Sedona. The place is rustic, incredibly green and quiet. First, I want to thank the Briar Patch Inn staff for helping set-up the stay. They were so incredibly helpful in booking the stay from finding cabins to meet the group’s needs, managing payment from eight people, etc. Same service during our stay. We had a small issue with a cabin after hours, and the owner showed up within minutes to fix it with a smile.

We ended up having three cabins all next to each other. The pictures on the website do the cabins justice; they are rustic, but have everything needed for a comfortable stay. I liked the private furnished patio, the cd player with selection of relaxing cds in the room, the small gift of worry dolls, and fresh wildflowers welcoming you upon your arrival.

My cabin (Swallow) was the smallest of the three and had a little fridge in the bathroom and a coffee maker. The other cabins had full size kitchens with appliances and everything needed to cook. The bathroom in my cabin was super small with a tiny shower, but charming with a hand-painted sink and stocked with ample towels.

The included breakfast is simply marvelous. The food I believe is mostly homemade, and you get to eat outdoors by the creek while enjoying live music/

They have done a great job preserving the natural environment of the creek. The place is very green and is super quiet. You can take a stroll to the creek, meet the Inn’s goats and you’ll run into tons of squirrels and if you’re lucky see other wildlife. We saw a few skunks at a safe distance.

This is perhaps not the cheapest place to stay in Sedona, but it’s worth every penny. You leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. I highly recommend the place and will be back myself, hopefully sooner than later.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

Wonderful location, so lush and tree-filled with the creek down below the breakfast patio. Very hospitable folk taking care of everything. Superb home-made "good for you!" breakfasts are an excellent start to set you up for your day in red-rock country which is so accessible from here. We visited with friends who took Owl while we had Sparrow. We were surprised that Owl and Sparrow run at the same rate even though Owl is much smaller and be aware that Owl has neighbours overhead.

The rooms are cabin-like, beds are comfortable, all clean and very rustic. Dark and cosy. Plenty of hot water for your shower - which is snug. Coffee tray and cd player (with relaxing cds to borrow!) were a very pleasant provision. Chairs to sit out or in - your choice. As others have mentioned - no use of log-burner during the summer season - but then, why would you?!!

We took the cabins they had left - which were perfectly fine - but, if we came again and had more time ahead and had saved up enough, would go for the accommodation on the creek edge.

Not cheap but, hey, it's Sedona! We enjoyed our stay and slept well. Overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, ky
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

If individual cabins tucked along side a bustling creek sounds nice, then punch your ticket. The staff is over-the-top nice and the facilities are quiet and top notch. Lots of greenery and little paths wander over the grounds and they have a couple of sheep that free range in the middle of the facility. The sheep are the closest thing you'll find to meat on the grounds. Being a carnivore, I found them oddly comforting. They do have some sausage and cheese, crackers, etc for snacking late afternoon so it's not all veggie.
The breakfast was nice. It's heavy on the breads with a single egg dish, hard boiled eggs and steel cut oatmeal...that kind of stuff...but all of it very tasty. Their home-made granola was really good.
I enjoyed lighting a fire that afternoon and just chilling with some wine while the GF took a walk and decompressed down by the creek.
I'll be honest here guys, it's geared towards the women but it has enough to appeal to us too...ummmm for the short term. The cabins are rustic enough that if you light a fire, you can imagine you're deep in the woods ready to go on a hunt.
No T.Vs or internet. Just a cd player with lots of mystic mood music...lonely flutes, etc.
My GF absolutely loved it there so...it was good for me too. As she has told me countless times, it's all about her. :-)

Note: There's a nice little market right on the road on the left a couple of miles up the canyon away from Sedona. Stop in and get a bottle of wine and some stew or sandwiches for a very cozy dinner inside the cabin. There is no microwave so we heated the stew by the fire in the coffee mugs. You can also put the stew in the coffee carafe and turn on the burner but it's not as "romantic"...and that's all I'll say about that.

Note: we stayed in "Owl" and the people connected to us upstairs were heel bangers...pretty noisy and there was a sewage smell for a brief time while my GF was having her moment down by the creek. The place is old and these kinds of things will happen from time to time. But the smell was very minimal and disappeared after only a short while.
Note: There's a trail about 15-20 minutes up the canyon...it's called "Call of the Canyon" and it's a really nice level hike along the canyon and stream. You have to cross the creek several times over fallen trees and rocks so wear water proof shoes or sandals with wool socks (we went in March) cause you likely get your feet wet. It's only 4 miles and very scenic. THEN go to the little market and get dinner for the night and while she's showering, fix it all up. Take some candles, build a fire and let 'er rip.
Once you come here, you will come back...we will.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Briar Patch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Patch Inn

Address: 3190 N. SR 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Briar Patch Inn Sedona
Briar Patch Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Briar Patch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.