We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and Friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barking Frog Grille

Barking Frog Grille
2620 West Highway 89-A, Sedona, AZ 86336
(928) 204-2000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 158 Restaurants in Sedona
Price range: $14 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food and Friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We dined here with our two boys in mid August. Our host and waitress were both super friendly and nice to our kids.

I had fish tacos and my husband had the signature chopped salad. Everything was fresh and delicious and the salad in particular was very well presented.

My kids ate from the kids menu and the portions were quite generous.

The decor was lovely with a colourful hacienda style building and beautiful spanish accents.

Would eat there again and actually liked it better than their other restaurant, The Cowboy Club.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    385
    153
    63
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Show Low, Arizona
2 reviews
“Nothing WORSE than DRY Pork”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I choose The Barking Frog for the name, Cool name. The atmosphere was nice the waiters were nice enough. But the food wasn't the best. My food was over cooked and dry. I would not return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarkingFrogGrille, Guest Relations Manager at Barking Frog Grille, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not have a better experience when you visited the Barking Frog Grille. We take great pride in every plate we serve, so your feedback is very important to us. We hope you'll give us another try the next time you are in Sedona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Miserable Dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Visited this restaurant in early July and thought if I waited to write this review it may have a different outcome - but, even after a month and a half, my family still feels that this was our worst dinner in Sedona - which is an AMAZING location. The service was awful. The servers (we had two different people helping us) were miserable. Never a smile - just made our experience so unpleasant. They seated us in a back room all by ourselves, got our order wrong, took forever to give us our food, never gave us the discount voucher we had (didn't notice that till we left unfortunately). Seriously - the food here was not good enough to make up for the service. We actually left in a bad mood. Just an unpleasant experience. This had received great reviews so thought we would try it, but now we know we will never go back. There are so many other great places to eat in Sedona - try something else.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarkingFrogGrille, Guest Relations Manager at Barking Frog Grille, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not have a better experience when you visited the Barking Frog Grille. We take your feedback very seriously. We pride ourselves with our high standard of service. So we were disappointed to hear that your service was not satisfactory. We hope you'll give us another try the next time you are in Sedona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south east florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Arrive Hungry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This was my second trip to the Barking Frog, visited Sedona last year in March and enjoyed a great seafood dinner and delightful prickly pear margaritas! This time we came in hungry after a hike just in time for happy hour. Several of the appetizers are discounted along with house drinks, beer & wine. Seems to make the afternoon better. We both had the Chili de Poblano Relleno, feeling the vegetarian vibe & yummy house wine. The chili was huge, had to be the best stuffed Poblano I've ever eaten. It was good we ordered the same dish or one of us would've been jealous. Sadly, no room for dessert.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Refueling on cactus fries & a yummy ipa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Needed a beverage and a snack while visiting Sedona for the afternoon. Spotted the Barking Frog and was attracted to the unique name.

Lucked out - loved the decor, my beer, the cactus fries were peppery and wonderful with my beer, and the lady bartender was knowledgeable, friendly and efficient! Well done Barking Frog!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barking Frog Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barking Frog Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.