We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mex-American menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barking Frog Grille

Barking Frog Grille
2620 West Highway 89-A, Sedona, AZ 86336
(928) 204-2000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 160 Restaurants in Sedona
Price range: $14 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Lebanon, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Mex-American menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had a good Mexican meal here, but were really trying to find a good frozen margarita. The marg was nothing to get excited about, but our meal was good and reasonably priced.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    385
    153
    63
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Brilliant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely lovely inside.
Food was fabulous, I had Lamb shank.
The waiter Nate was so personable.
Well worth the visit

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, AZ
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were there with a large group [40] celebrating a neighbor's 80th birthday, and we had to select one of three entrees, which is to be expected with such a large group. There was an open bar and an hors d'oeuvres table to begin with. Both the service and food were excellent. I selected the prime rib entree and asked for a well done piece. Yes, yes, I know you prime rib connoisseurs will wince at the idea, but I just can't eat bloody meat. They took a regular piece and put it on the charcoal grille to give it the doneness I asked for. The charcoal flavor gave it an added twist; It was perfect.There was even enough to bring home for the next day.

The service was excellent. The waiters were attentive to your requests, and you didn't have to ask for a drink refill; they were johnny-on-the-spot.

I would highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

I was not sure of the value because our host paid for the whole affair, but judging from the on-line menu, http://www.barkingfroggrille.com/menus.html, it is definitely an upscale place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“Honest food at honest price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is one of those local family restaurants which locals frequent for its tasty American-style food with some southwestern influences. Staff is friendly and attentive, food is in good portions, prices are fair for a tourist town.

We tried the mushroom burger (vegetarian) and baby back ribs. Both were finished completely, as the food was very tasty. Burger came with great crispy sweet potato fries, the ribs with peanut cole slaw, an interesting variation on a familiar side dish. There was a special to upgrade from half rack to full rack for $1, a real bargain and a huge meal.

The is a family friendly place, with lots of kids eating with their parents. All seem to have left happy.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unique Resturant with Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Barking Frog is a Sedona must to eat at because of the good food and unique atmosphere. It is a little pricey but fun. The restaurant has just hired a new chief and he is spicing up the southwestern menu. This is the time to eat at the Barking Frog Grille because of the new chief and new food dishes! Enjoy. :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barking Frog Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barking Frog Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.