We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take Out was Awesome, too!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elote Cafe

Elote Cafe
771 State Route 179, Arabella Hotel, Sedona, AZ 86336
+1 928-203-0105
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 139 Restaurants in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Issaquah, Washington, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Take Out was Awesome, too!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

After reading all the reviews, I was determined to try it. Got there at 5pm, the line was so long (I missed that part of the review...). In order not to miss the sunset, we ordered to go (about 20 minutes wait). While waiting, we tried the Cucumber~Lime Margaritas, very addictive and refreshing!
We enjoyed the following yummy food right on the hotel balcony. It was quite perfect!

Elote (BEST THING!!) - Fire roasted corn with spicy mayo, lime and cotija cheese 7.50
Guacamole was great!
Smoked Chicken Enchiladas (SO GOOD!!!) - All natural house-smoked Chicken with salsa verde and chipotle crema 19.00

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,670
    429
    141
    60
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth the wait.........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The food and service here are top notch. We arrived an hour before opening and were the only ones in line. Within 10 minutes the line was growing longer by the minute. Arrive early!
This allowed us to avoid the crunch of people who were waiting for tables as the lineup could have filled the restaurant twice!
We tried the corn dip appetizer and it was delicious. We shared the lamb and were glad we did. It was the best I've ever tasted and very large portion.
I've already recommended it to a friend who is going to Sedona. You won't be disappointed

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What can I say?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

What can I say that hasn't been said in 1600+ reviews? The food was amazing. Don't miss the signature Elote appetizer. Part of the amazing experience was the wait and talking to so many interesting people. The white sangria helped too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johnsbury, Vermont
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great restaurant for a special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

While visiting Sedona for two weeks, we ate at Elote for a belated anniversary dinner out. We wanted to go someplace special, and this is about as special as it gets. They do not take reservations, so get there early or be prepared to wait. We arrived at 4:35PM for their 5PM opening. There was already a line all the way down the ramp from the second floor entrance to the parking lot.

The chef here has found the secret to success, because whenever we visit Sedona, this place is always busy. Even when we were finished eating, there were lots of people waiting to be seated.

The emphasis of creative Mexican cuisine with fresh local ingredients, when possible, results in dishes you will not find elsewhere. I had Pollo en Mole Poblano - House smoked chicken in a puebla style mole, and my wife had Vegetable Relleno - Vegetable picadillo and nut stuffed poblano chile with oaxaca cheese, salsa verde, crema and pumpkinseed crusted goat cheese balls. Both were unique and delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Would love to give it a five star!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Bottom line, you can't get a table unless you're willing to a) get there by 4PM and stand in line for an hour for first seating or b) get there at a decent hour (6 to 7 PM) and wait an hour or more for a table. The owner has by his own admission a small kitchen so they can only serve so many people. There's very limited space to sit while you wait so not much fun. There are just too many choices in Sedona to eat where a)they take reservations or b) the wait is much less. We've eaten here twice - both times sitting at the bar because, you guessed it, the wait for a table was over an hour and the bar area is first come first serve. The menu is very interesting and tasty but, for our money, it just isn't worth waiting in line for. Elote has gained a much deserved reputation for its menu. For locals, it's gained a much deserved reputation for a place to avoid because of the long lines. Good friends decided they were going to Elote for their anniversary on a weekday in March. They arrived at 4:30 and the line was so long they left immediately because they figured they wouldn't get in for the first seating.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elote Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Elote Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elote Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.