We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elote Cafe

Elote Cafe
771 Highway 179, King's Ransom Hotel, Sedona, AZ 86336
+1 928-203-0105
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 158 Restaurants in Sedona
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Oakland
2 reviews
“Great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I loved this restaurant! The food and service were both great, as well as the tasty margaritas. We had the lamb adobo and the scallops, both were delicious. We were there before it opened, so didn't have to wait. I highly recommend this gem in Sedona!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,505
    369
    124
    54
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Berwick, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“best meal in sedona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

elote is probably one of the best restaurants we have ever dined at on all our vacations here and abroad. service was un believable and let's just say everyone that visits sedona should put it first on their list. be patient as you wait in line to open as no reservations are taken which i think is a brilliant idea. chef jeff even took the time to visit our table a sign a copy of his cook book. elote is special-keep it up!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Arrive early”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Everyone knows that Elote does not take reservations (no clue as to why) so skip lunch or eat a very light lunch and get in line about 4:15-4:30 pm for their 5pm opening. You will not be disappointed. Creative Mexican cuisine at good prices. If they took reservations, I would go more often. The fact that I ordinarily refuse to wait in line for anything in life but will go early to eat here should tell you the food is worth it!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very disappointing - NOT worth the wait and would not go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Wow, I can't believe all of the good reviews on this place! We stayed at the adjacent hotel and read about the long wait times so we got there a half hour before they opened. We were at the front of the line but sure enough, it filled out really fast behind us and the place turned into a zoo. We ordered the "Elote" as an appetizer and it was pretty good. The entrees were OK, nothing special at all and definitely not worth even a 5 minute wait. I'm from Los Angeles and we have really good Mexican food here so I'm not sure if maybe I'm jaded and expected something that would blow my mind, or if this was just an average place. Maybe for Sedona it's good, but in my book, its just average.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Ridiculously delicious and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Just loved this place. When we arrived at our hotel, and asked for a recommendation for dinner, there was no hesitation that we had to go to Elote. Excellent margaritas, excellent service, the signature dish Elote is actually an appetizer and we drooled over it. Carnitas were the best I've ever had. Very reasonably priced. Fun night.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elote Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elote Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.