We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best mexican restaurant anywhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elote Cafe

Elote Cafe
771 Highway 179, King's Ransom Hotel, Sedona, AZ 86336
+1 928-203-0105
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 159 Restaurants in Sedona
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best mexican restaurant anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were told about this place by the waiter at the Enchanted resort and he was right on the money. Elote opened at 5p we arrived at 5:15 and had an hour wait. Don't worry, they have a bar that you can pick up a drink and carry outside. Being a lover of margaritas they offer a flyer sampler that had three different margaritas on a very cool stand. The food isnt typical american mexican food but healthy and fresh recipes. My husband had a leg of lamb and I had a beed enchalada, both were delish!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,508
    370
    124
    54
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ellsworth, Maine
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This was one of my places to eat while visiting Sedona. We finally decided to go during one of the slowest nights. We arrived on a Tuesday around 7PM and had around an hour and 15 minute wait. We ordered a couple of margaritas and proceeded to the outdoor space where the fire pits were located. One nice thing is you can share a seat with someone you don't know and come out as friends. Seating could be on first come basis which could be in the bar area. We were called around the time they gave us and proceeded to the bar for dinner. We were greeted by Adrien. He was quick to acknowledge our presence and offered us chips and homemade salsa . He recommended drinks as we sticked with the margaritas. Try the 3 sample margaritas if your nt su of the correct one to order. We started with apps, elote dip and the tamales.Both were tasty with the chips. For dinner we ordered the chicken enchiladas and the lamb. Both were tasty and enought to fill us up. The only downsides of the meal was there was much fat still on the lamb. there gentleman next to me ordered the same and there was no fat on his leg. Dessert was one of the highlights. The highlight was the homemade ice cream. We ordered the dessert with the homemade cornbread, fresh whipped cream and vanilla bean icecream with the jam and sauce. this s enough for 2 people. This will be a place for us to visit again as we don't mind the long wait. One thing I noticed was there is no manager on site only the owner chef and the employes truly work together to make this a excellent place. If you are asked to sit at the bar, go for it. Adrien is very personable and offers great insight.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Be patient, or take it 'to go'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Really great food, and fun atmosphere. But the wait is always over 30 minutes. Last time, even showing up at 8:15 (last dinner orders taken at 9pm) it was still a 45 minute wait. The hostess suggested that a 'to go' order would only take 10 or 15 minutes. That was the answer.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Our absolute favorite!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Be prepared to wait. They don't take reservations, and you will most likely have to wait 45 minutes to be seated. Doesn't matter! Enjoy the popcorn and drinks while you wait. And if the patio is open, it's a real treat. The food is AWESOME. We went twice last year, and twice this time. Be sure to have the Elote appetizer. Yummy! And buy the cookbook! My husband made me an Elote meal last year for Mother's Day that was just divine. Hopefully this year will be a repeat. :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fine Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

When we planned our trip to Arizona, and specifically to Sedona and the Grand Canyon, we were told by a relative that we HAD to go to Elote Cafe in Sedona. I'm so glad they did. Service, food, and menu options were wonderful. We went home with their cookbook, signed by owner executive chef Jeff Smedstad, which was a wonderful reminder of our beautiful evening there. Highly recommend it. (Get there early, or be prepared to wait... very popular.) They do not take reservations.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elote Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elote Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.