We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stary, stary night in Sedona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evening Sky Tours

Evening Sky Tours
Sedona, AZ 86336
928-203-0006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 76 Tours & Activities in Sedona
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Professional Astronomers host you for an evening of stargazing using giant telescopes and laser pointers. Chairs and blankets are provided. View Saturn, Mars, Jupiter, galaxies and more. Tours start at 8:30 p.m.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stary, stary night in Sedona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a great star gazing experience this week. We had a beautiful clear night with Matt as our guide. He was very knowledgeable and easy going. We were able to see Jupiter and Saturn with four moons and the rings. Matt also pointed out many constellations with a laser pointer and told the Greek myths they are named after. The coyotes and pups also were very vocal and that was pretty cool too. It is a great way to spend an evening in Sedona!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    18
    3
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
“Night Sky littered with stars...ending with Saturn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I was recommended to do this tour if I ever visit Sedona. Just recently moved to AZ from CA, and living in Glendale, the 1.5hr drive wasn't bad. Getting to Sedona and seeing the majestic Red Rocks during the day is amazing.

Seeing the celestial night sky via the tourguide of Evening Sky Tours was great. I came with a date during Easter weekend. Temps at night where in the low 50s. They provide blankets, and chairs. Turn off all cell phones as you want your eyes to adjust to the night, and then you look up and you'll see that famous astronomer Carl Sagan was right when he said "There are more stars in the universe than there are grains of sand in all the beaches of the world".

We started off with Jupiter, and then the guide progressed with his powerful laser pointer pointing out the other stars, including the two dippers (Little and Big), and all the other galaxies. And then the finally was Saturn and all her majestical rings.

The weather was partly cloudy during the day so we were nervous as was the tour guide but in the end, the sky cleared up and it was amazing. Highly recommend doing this tour.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Star Power”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The guide was very good, pointing out the binary star in Cassiopeia and showing them through the light filter. On this night we were able to see the Comet Pannstars, two shooting stars, several satellites, the background light from the Milky Way Galaxy, Jupiters rings and a host of constellations. Our guide was very knowledgable and it was a fantastic tour of the sky.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Starry Starry Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Saw the milky way for the first time! Growing up in NYC you don't realize what you are missing. The sky tour was great. Like going to a planetarium show, but with a real sky. Just amazing to see so many stars with the naked eye. The telescopes brought things into view I had only seen in pictures.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful stargazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I visited Sedona for the first time in February 2013. We were not sure what to expect with Evening Sky Tours but ended up really enjoying. I did get pretty chilly towards the end. If you go during the winter months, dress warmly!! Our guide was very knowledgeable and we learned a lot. The moon was very bright and there were a few clouds so we didn't get the best views of the stars but were able to see way more than we could ever see in the city.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Evening Sky Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evening Sky Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.