We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't sure @ first, but the view was great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whitehouse Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Whitehouse Inn to your Saves list
Whitehouse Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2986 West Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Cherokee, OK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wasn't sure @ first, but the view was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's, true, this is pretty much a no frills hotel. It's reasonably priced and the rooms are huge. When we arrived, I kept wondering why I had chosen this hotel, but when we got to our room, the view from the balcony was great! There are red rocks behind the hotel and the balcony was a nice size. Our room was clean & quiet.

Room Tip: Choose a 2nd floor room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    58
    23
    3
    8
See reviews for
17
55
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While the gentleman who checked us in was very polite and nice, that's about as far as the "welcome" wore...

Within 2 minutes of opening the shoddy door to our room, I killed two cockroaches the size of bottle caps.

There was trash and cigarette butts all over the balcony from the previous guests.

The paint looks as thin as wax paper.

The bathroom felt as solid as one in a motorhome...built in 1970. The towels are so poorly mismatched I thought they were stolen from various motels the housekeeping staff works at. Oh, and they were THIN, AND SCRATCHY AS HELL.

The beds were OLD, and very bouncy/uncomfortable. Linens felt dirty, and each bed only had a topsheet and a thin microfiber/fleece blanket. Ugh. Gross.

The whole location just looks and feels a little sketchy.

We checked in late, and literally couldn't wait for the sun to rise the next morning to get out of this dump.

Do yourself a favor, and spend literally five more dollars and stay across the street at the Days Inn.

PRO TIP: Order pizza from Moon Dogs Pizza down the street. PHENOMENALLY-GOOD!!!!

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

We stayed in the place for a night. This is not the other Sedona places that has charm or unique location. But you are not paying for that either. So why rate it as such.
The good:
Price, Hot Shower, comfortable bed, and large room. Easy access - on the main street Hwy 89A And the best part it is NON-SMOKING Motel. This is a big plus for non-smokers. Just enjoy clean, crisp, Sedona Air.
The Bad:
Not close to the uptown, not walking distance to anything particular.
The Ugly:
No views - just the road from room. Place is old.

Summary:
This is place to spend night, after spending day hiking or whatever you do in town. You are greeted by a friendly person who gives you a room key and you go in your room take a hot shower and fall asleep watching TV. Wake up and go on about your day in town or drive to wherever.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aukra Municipality, Norway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

We stayed for one night after a day in Grand Canyon. Room was big and not cleaned well enough (someone's dirty sock was under the bed and hair was in the sink). Beds are extremely uncomfortable, walls are paper thin and so on...unfortunately i can not think of a good word for this hotel.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

I was in Sedona for the first time this past October and stay at The Whitehouse Inn. It was a fantastic place to stay. The owners are so great and helpful. The room is very clean and spacey. Great location as well. I will definitely stay here again! It made my trip that much better

Room Tip: I stayed in 2 different rooms. Both were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Nothing fancy about this place. The room is very much your typical motel room, but everything was clean and the location was close to everything in Sedona. If you don't need any frills (I mean no frills at all, you have to pay for ice) then this is your place.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Not bad at all for the least inexpensive place I could find in Sedona. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable,(or maybe I was simply exhausted by all the fabulous hikes Sedona offers) Had a small fridge, micro-wave, in room coffee...just fine if you only need a place to sleep....because there is so much outdoor activity!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitehouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehouse Inn

Address: 2986 West Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitehouse Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We extend our most cordial welcome to you and thank you for visiting the Sedona White House Inn. If you have any questions or concerns, feel free to contact us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Whitehouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitehouse Hotel Sedona
White Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitehouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.