We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Loaf Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sugar Loaf Lodge to your Saves list
Sugar Loaf Lodge
1870 W. SR 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

What a delightful surprise our stay at the Sugar Loaf Lodge was. Started out booking because ratings were good and price was great. Was a GREAT find! Clean and Sufficient for our needs. Sedona is such a "out door" town that we only wanted a clean, comfy bed each night. Sugar Loaf was that and more.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back are best. off road and closer to pool and hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    87
    22
    12
    2
See reviews for
42
86
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar City, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

When we first saw the Sugar Loaf, although I had read reviews on TripAdvisor, I was skeptical. It doesn't look like much from the outside but it was a great little place. I was impressed with the clean smell when we walked into the room. Although the place is old, it is well maintained. The A/C worked well, the beds were comfortable and it was very clean. The fridge was a plus and worked well. I will definately stay there the next time I visit Sedona and would encourage anyone else looking for a small and inexpensive motel to give it a try.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schererville, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

You can't beat the price and location on this motel! Beds were decent and comfortable. Hot tub was perfect after a day on the trails in Sedona. Jerry is very helpful and interesting. We would definitely stay here again the next time we visit Sedona!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This little property is more than it seems. Great pool, hot tub and barbecue area at the back. Nothing fancy but then if that is what you are looking for please feel free to look elsewhere and pay much more. The room was spacious, clean and had all the amenities. Fridge, microwave, coffe maker, ironing board and iron were all there when I arrived. Very friendly staff and always willing to help out. Central to everything from shops and restaurants to trails and sights. Save your money for what Sedona has to offer and stay at the Sugar Loaf Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

After reading several review on Tripadvisor, we settled on the Sugar Loaf. We wanted a clean, non-chain motel and what we found was this and more! Jerry in the office was helpful and awesome. The 24 hr hot tub and BBQ were perfect after a day of hiking and the room was clean and spacious (Rm 16). We met other travellers who told us they always stay here while in Sedona and having repeat customers is always a sign you are doing something right.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cary, nc
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This place was clean, friendly, well-located and retro. Making reservations was extremely easy as was the check-in/check-out process. It was a very quiet room with comfortable beds. It was nicely located with many restaurants, shops and amenities within-in walking distance. In fact, directly across the street is a great restaurant, Picazzo's Organic Italian Restaurant. I would recommended this budget hotel to my friends. The only reason that I am giving the service a 4 is because the owners were away and the staff, although incredibly friendly, was doing double duty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had a room for one night and found it meet our needs quite nicely. We were comfortable, the location was handy to walk to stores and shops, the owner was very helpful with maps and tips on what to see. A small assortment of breakfast items were available in the office, included in the price, yogurt, pastries, granola bars and coffee and juice. The pool is open all the time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
5.5 mi away
Wildflower Inn
Wildflower Inn
#29 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sedona Village Lodge
Sedona Village Lodge
#44 of 48 in Sedona
3.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Bell Rock Inn
Bell Rock Inn
#36 of 48 in Sedona
3.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
1.1 mi away
Whitehouse Inn
Whitehouse Inn
#42 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Sedona
Super 8 Sedona
#37 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Loaf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Loaf Lodge

Address: 1870 W. SR 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#19 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One level 15 unit guest rooms. Family owned and operated for 14 years.In-Room Refrigerators. King and Queen Beds. All Rooms Non-Smoking. Walking Distance to Shopping & Restaurants. Private in-room baths.Air Conditioning and electric heat in all guest rooms. Limited Pet Friendly Rooms (must be declared upon check-in). 24 hour cancellation policy(day before check-in). Free High-Speed Wireless Internet. Pool and Whirlpool. Scenic Views. Close to Hiking and Mountain Biking Trails. Shopping, Restaurants. Tours. Theatres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sugar Loaf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Loaf Hotel Sedona
Sugar Loaf Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Loaf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.