We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Loaf Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sugar Loaf Lodge
1870 W. SR 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$60 (USD)
Ranked #25 of 46 hotels in Sedona
Stafford, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

What a delightful surprise our stay at the Sugar Loaf Lodge was. Started out booking because ratings were good and price was great. Was a GREAT find! Clean and Sufficient for our needs. Sedona is such a "out door" town that we only wanted a clean, comfy bed each night. Sugar Loaf was that and more.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back are best. off road and closer to pool and hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    74
    18
    10
    2
See reviews for
36
73
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

When we first saw the Sugar Loaf, although I had read reviews on TripAdvisor, I was skeptical. It doesn't look like much from the outside but it was a great little place. I was impressed with the clean smell when we walked into the room. Although the place is old, it is well maintained. The A/C worked well, the beds were comfortable and it was very clean. The fridge was a plus and worked well. I will definately stay there the next time I visit Sedona and would encourage anyone else looking for a small and inexpensive motel to give it a try.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schererville, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

You can't beat the price and location on this motel! Beds were decent and comfortable. Hot tub was perfect after a day on the trails in Sedona. Jerry is very helpful and interesting. We would definitely stay here again the next time we visit Sedona!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This little property is more than it seems. Great pool, hot tub and barbecue area at the back. Nothing fancy but then if that is what you are looking for please feel free to look elsewhere and pay much more. The room was spacious, clean and had all the amenities. Fridge, microwave, coffe maker, ironing board and iron were all there when I arrived. Very friendly staff and always willing to help out. Central to everything from shops and restaurants to trails and sights. Save your money for what Sedona has to offer and stay at the Sugar Loaf Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

After reading several review on Tripadvisor, we settled on the Sugar Loaf. We wanted a clean, non-chain motel and what we found was this and more! Jerry in the office was helpful and awesome. The 24 hr hot tub and BBQ were perfect after a day of hiking and the room was clean and spacious (Rm 16). We met other travellers who told us they always stay here while in Sedona and having repeat customers is always a sign you are doing something right.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cary, nc
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This place was clean, friendly, well-located and retro. Making reservations was extremely easy as was the check-in/check-out process. It was a very quiet room with comfortable beds. It was nicely located with many restaurants, shops and amenities within-in walking distance. In fact, directly across the street is a great restaurant, Picazzo's Organic Italian Restaurant. I would recommended this budget hotel to my friends. The only reason that I am giving the service a 4 is because the owners were away and the staff, although incredibly friendly, was doing double duty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had a room for one night and found it meet our needs quite nicely. We were comfortable, the location was handy to walk to stores and shops, the owner was very helpful with maps and tips on what to see. A small assortment of breakfast items were available in the office, included in the price, yogurt, pastries, granola bars and coffee and juice. The pool is open all the time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Loaf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Loaf Lodge

Address: 1870 W. SR 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#19 Family Hotel in Sedona
#25 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One level 15 unit guest rooms. Family owned and operated for 14 years.In-Room Refrigerators. King and Queen Beds. All Rooms Non-Smoking. Walking Distance to Shopping & Restaurants. Private in-room baths.Air Conditioning and electric heat in all guest rooms. Limited Pet Friendly Rooms (must be declared upon check-in). 24 hour cancellation policy(day before check-in). Free High-Speed Wireless Internet. Pool and Whirlpool. Scenic Views. Close to Hiking and Mountain Biking Trails. Shopping, Restaurants. Tours. Theatres. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sugar Loaf Hotel Sedona
Sugar Loaf Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Loaf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sugar Loaf Lodge to your Saves list