We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy but clean and quiet.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Loaf Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Loaf Lodge to your Saves list
Sugar Loaf Lodge
1870 W. SR 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in Sedona
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy but clean and quiet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

This was our third stay here and as usual there was no problem. We were running way late on this trip but they had our room keys waiting for us and the room ready. They even turned the lights on for us. I know it doesn't seem like much but it shows us a personal touch. I highly recommend the Sugar Loaf!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArizonaJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Don't let the 4 Star reviews confuse you. This is a one star hotel. I give it a four for value, but it is a small hotel, kept well enough, with a nice pool and hot tub. It is not a place that compliments the serenity that one goes to Sedona to find. If what you come to Sedona for is to hike and just want to sleep someplace safe without cinder block walls then this will do the trick. That is all!
Sedona is beautiful and worth the trip no matter where you sleep.

Room Tip: The front would be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pokey0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We enjoyed a comfortable 2 night stay, was not your usual hotel/motel feel. The room was clean, spacious, light and airy.2 Q with white down comforters, BLUE towels (not the usual rough institutional white), 3 windows with blinds and curtains, plus an entry door with glass enclosed blinds. Eating area with micro/fridge. Comp. b'fst. of juice, coffee, yogurt, pastry. In addition to the pool/hot tub, there were chairs on our patio to watch the sunset/rise. Walk to restaurants, shopping within walking distance. An absolute recommendation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank plumtree4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I choose this hotel based on the rating AND cost. Just needed clean room and good bed. That is what I found. Nothing special except it did have a hot tub and pool that I used. Eventhough it was right on the main road in West Sedona, it was quiet! The bathroom appeared to be recently renovated and the TV had all the channels i needed.

Room Tip: I was in the room nearest to the road but never heard the road traffic so assume the others were eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dennish414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had originally planned to stay here on the first night of our trip, however when we went to get our rental car it was not available and we had to make other arrangements. I called the sugar loaf lodge at 6 pm to let them kow I was stuck in Scottsdale without a car and couldn't get there. The woman I talked with was very understanding and told me she wouldn't charge me even though it was a last minute cancellation and their policy is, I think, 24 hours notice. I really appreciated this as I was already very upset about not being able to get the rental. We had also booked the sugar loaf lodge for near the end of our trip on our way back to Scottsdale. We stayed one night. The room was not newly updated but clean and reasonably sized. The beds were very comfortable. The wifi worked well. There were a good variety of channels on the TV. We did not 'check out ' the pool. The room was quiet, we didn't hear any other guests. This is a clean, comfortable place to stay that is a short drive to the center of town and was very reasonably priced. We would definitely stay here again if we travel to Sedona again

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights while we were site-seeing in the Sedona area. This hotel is a "mom and pop" place that is about 30 years old -- we enjoy giving our business to small establishments. Their rates cannot be beat in Sedona. We were not disappointed with our stay. Our room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable, the mini-fridge was a bonus and the bathroom had plenty of hot water. The pool area was nice, but we didn't use it. The continential breakfast was good; we had yogurt and various pre-packaged pastries and granola bars to choose from, juices and coffee. Since the office is so small (yes, very small), we used the provided trays to take the food back to our room. Should our travels take us back to Sedona, we would like to stay here again.

Room Tip: Since the hotel is close to the highway, ask for a room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fab04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Sugar Loaf Lodge is a great example of value. Rooms have refridgeraters, microwaves and tables with three chairs. Beds were ultra comfortable and rooms were clean and quiet. A nice pool and hot tub were also onsite as well as a grill and bicycles for use at no extra charge. Breakfast of coffee, oj, pastries and granola bars are included. This hotel would be a great value anywhere but is especially notable for high priced Sedona.

Room Tip: Walk to the Oak Creek Brewery for some good local brews and a Colombian hot dog. Cheap and awesome e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pk2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
5.5 mi away
Wildflower Inn
Wildflower Inn
#30 of 47 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
5.1 mi away
Oak Creek Terrace Resort
5.7 mi away
Bell Rock Inn
Bell Rock Inn
#38 of 47 in Sedona
3.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sedona Village Lodge
Sedona Village Lodge
#44 of 47 in Sedona
3.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Sedona
Days Inn Sedona
#41 of 47 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 stars 726 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Views Inn Sedona
The Views Inn Sedona
#13 of 47 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Loaf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Loaf Lodge

Address: 1870 W. SR 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#18 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One level 15 unit guest rooms. Family owned and operated for 14 years.In-Room Refrigerators. King and Queen Beds. All Rooms Non-Smoking. Walking Distance to Shopping & Restaurants. Private in-room baths.Air Conditioning and electric heat in all guest rooms. Limited Pet Friendly Rooms (must be declared upon check-in). 24 hour cancellation policy(day before check-in). Free High-Speed Wireless Internet. Pool and Whirlpool. Scenic Views. Close to Hiking and Mountain Biking Trails. Shopping, Restaurants. Tours. Theatres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sugar Loaf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Loaf Hotel Sedona
Sugar Loaf Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing