We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy but clean and quiet.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Loaf Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sugar Loaf Lodge
1870 W. SR 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$60 (USD)
Ranked #25 of 46 hotels in Sedona
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy but clean and quiet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

This was our third stay here and as usual there was no problem. We were running way late on this trip but they had our room keys waiting for us and the room ready. They even turned the lights on for us. I know it doesn't seem like much but it shows us a personal touch. I highly recommend the Sugar Loaf!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    74
    18
    10
    2
See reviews for
36
73
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Don't let the 4 Star reviews confuse you. This is a one star hotel. I give it a four for value, but it is a small hotel, kept well enough, with a nice pool and hot tub. It is not a place that compliments the serenity that one goes to Sedona to find. If what you come to Sedona for is to hike and just want to sleep someplace safe without cinder block walls then this will do the trick. That is all!
Sedona is beautiful and worth the trip no matter where you sleep.

Room Tip: The front would be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We enjoyed a comfortable 2 night stay, was not your usual hotel/motel feel. The room was clean, spacious, light and airy.2 Q with white down comforters, BLUE towels (not the usual rough institutional white), 3 windows with blinds and curtains, plus an entry door with glass enclosed blinds. Eating area with micro/fridge. Comp. b'fst. of juice, coffee, yogurt, pastry. In addition to the pool/hot tub, there were chairs on our patio to watch the sunset/rise. Walk to restaurants, shopping within walking distance. An absolute recommendation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I choose this hotel based on the rating AND cost. Just needed clean room and good bed. That is what I found. Nothing special except it did have a hot tub and pool that I used. Eventhough it was right on the main road in West Sedona, it was quiet! The bathroom appeared to be recently renovated and the TV had all the channels i needed.

Room Tip: I was in the room nearest to the road but never heard the road traffic so assume the others were eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had originally planned to stay here on the first night of our trip, however when we went to get our rental car it was not available and we had to make other arrangements. I called the sugar loaf lodge at 6 pm to let them kow I was stuck in Scottsdale without a car and couldn't get there. The woman I talked with was very understanding and told me she wouldn't charge me even though it was a last minute cancellation and their policy is, I think, 24 hours notice. I really appreciated this as I was already very upset about not being able to get the rental. We had also booked the sugar loaf lodge for near the end of our trip on our way back to Scottsdale. We stayed one night. The room was not newly updated but clean and reasonably sized. The beds were very comfortable. The wifi worked well. There were a good variety of channels on the TV. We did not 'check out ' the pool. The room was quiet, we didn't hear any other guests. This is a clean, comfortable place to stay that is a short drive to the center of town and was very reasonably priced. We would definitely stay here again if we travel to Sedona again

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights while we were site-seeing in the Sedona area. This hotel is a "mom and pop" place that is about 30 years old -- we enjoy giving our business to small establishments. Their rates cannot be beat in Sedona. We were not disappointed with our stay. Our room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable, the mini-fridge was a bonus and the bathroom had plenty of hot water. The pool area was nice, but we didn't use it. The continential breakfast was good; we had yogurt and various pre-packaged pastries and granola bars to choose from, juices and coffee. Since the office is so small (yes, very small), we used the provided trays to take the food back to our room. Should our travels take us back to Sedona, we would like to stay here again.

Room Tip: Since the hotel is close to the highway, ask for a room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Sugar Loaf Lodge is a great example of value. Rooms have refridgeraters, microwaves and tables with three chairs. Beds were ultra comfortable and rooms were clean and quiet. A nice pool and hot tub were also onsite as well as a grill and bicycles for use at no extra charge. Breakfast of coffee, oj, pastries and granola bars are included. This hotel would be a great value anywhere but is especially notable for high priced Sedona.

Room Tip: Walk to the Oak Creek Brewery for some good local brews and a Colombian hot dog. Cheap and awesome e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Loaf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Loaf Lodge

Address: 1870 W. SR 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#19 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One level 15 unit guest rooms. Family owned and operated for 14 years.In-Room Refrigerators. King and Queen Beds. All Rooms Non-Smoking. Walking Distance to Shopping & Restaurants. Private in-room baths.Air Conditioning and electric heat in all guest rooms. Limited Pet Friendly Rooms (must be declared upon check-in). 24 hour cancellation policy(day before check-in). Free High-Speed Wireless Internet. Pool and Whirlpool. Scenic Views. Close to Hiking and Mountain Biking Trails. Shopping, Restaurants. Tours. Theatres. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sugar Loaf Hotel Sedona
Sugar Loaf Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Loaf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sugar Loaf Lodge to your Saves list