We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star Motel Little Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Star Motel
Save
You added Star Motel to your Saves list
295 Jordan Rd., Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Star Motel Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

But of a late review, we stayed here in march, 2013, had a room on the ground floor, nice and big, with a small kitchenette area, Kettle, Microwaves, etc.

Enough though is it just of the main rain, there was no road noise at all, the room was nice and comfortable and clean, also had a small table with two 2 chairs out front so you were not confined to your room.

Anne was wonderful full of knowledge and tips on places to go.

We loved staying there, and I would stay there again if we ever went back to Sedona.

Also smack bang in the middle of town, which was great walked everywhere

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    41
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
17
61
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Star Motel is a fantastic place to stay in Sedona.

We were lucky to stay in room #10 (the only second floor room) for a week: Double queen beds, couch, coffee table, a great kitchen and mountain views from every window—even the bathroom shower. The finest part of that room could be the scenic patio with a table, chairs and lounger. It might have the best view in Uptown Sedona. We stayed for a week and spent most nights on that deck enjoying the stunning mountains. While drinking wine and eating cheese. A great place!

The walk is just seconds from the Star Motel to the nice shops, stores and eateries of Uptown Sedona. Check out the candy store right across the street and the sidewalk restaurants.
Anne, the Star’s owner, is friendly and lovely, and gives great advice on what to see. She took quite a bit of time to answer questions and draw maps. She’s a gem! In fact, she exemplifies the excellent service that seems to be a Star Motel tradition: One day as we walked back to our room an older gentleman struck up a conversation in the Star Motel’s parking lot. He explained that he and his wife wanted to take a look at the room they stayed in once. Of course, the accommodating staff of the Star took them into that room even though they were “just passing through on this trip”. They had such fond memories of the Star Motel they wanted to “just take a peek” at their room—the one they stayed in 50 years ago!

The Star Motel. It’s the only place we will stay in Sedona.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Maine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was my second trip to Sedona. We stayed at a rather lah-dee-dah hotel our first trip. Twice the money. The view was nice but only if you walked out to it. The location was a drive to uptown Sedona. The Star Motel, on the other hand, is located right smack dab in the middle of all the shops - you can walk right outside your room easily and book a jeep tour, a trolley ride, or shop. I am in my 60's so wasn't interested in walking miles - you don't need to when you stay here. A convenience store is next door with fair prices. I loved the Star Motel - it reminds me of a 70's style motel, yet the rooms are perfectly clean, with microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer and they provided me a coffee maker. No pool, but quite frankly me in a bathing suit is not an attractive sight, so not big on my priority list. I spent hours just sitting in the chair outside my room and people watching! And the view of the red rocks - is right smack dab there, outside your room! The owner, Ann, is a lovely woman who does all she can to accommodate. I travel on a tight budget so I appreciate this wonderful little motel at a fair price. My daughter lives in Sedona and I'll be back - and I'll be staying every time at the Star Motel. A diamond of a place. Many thanks Ann for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed the night here and had a very nice experience. Great location next to eats and shopping. Staff was very nice. Was nothing really special about the room. But was very clean and for the price was just right. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed several days at Star hotel in Sedona and if you are looking for a fine value hotel with a very helpful and fun owner this is the place. Located in the middle of the business district with easy access to all that entails this is a great choice, especially if your needs don't require luxury. Anne is a fine hostesses with all sorts of great advice and info about Sedona.

Room Tip: I liked the kitchenette at the top of stairs...great view in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very good place for discovering Sedona and the surrounding area. The rooms are adequately furnished and the small fridge is a welcome accessory. Very clean , best location, very friendly and helpful staff. Will go out of their way to accomodate you. Bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This motel was within waking distance to every place in town. The owners were fantastic. We could not be there before check in time. They gave us a call and said they would leave our key under the mat. It was there. You don't get that service any where.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Motel

Address: 295 Jordan Rd., Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#24 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star Motel is located in the historic center of Sedona, uptown. Location, location, location! Galleries, restaurants, and shopping. The motel has been family owned for over 30 years. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Queen and king sized beds, walk in showers with seating, Wi-Fi, parking in front of guest rooms. All rooms have red rock views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.