We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Star Motel
Save
You added Star Motel to your Saves list
295 Jordan Rd., Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We felt lucky to stumble upon this place while walking in uptown Sedona. Anne (the owner) was very friendly and gave us a lot of helpful information on things to do and places to stay, we really enjoyed chatting to her. She even spotted that we had a bottle of wine and provided us with wine glasses and an bottle opener!

Sedona is a very beautiful location (there is even an amazing view from the car park!) and we enjoyed 3 nights in this comfortable and very clean motel room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    44
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
18
65
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield, Minnesota
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Another trip to Sedona and what a trip it was! Once again Anne and Marcel made me feel at home. That alone is worth a lot! The rooms are clean and comfortable, plus it's the best value in Sedona for rooms. The location is fantastic and you can park your car and walk the town. Plus Anne will tell what to see and where to go, she really goes out of her way to help people. I spent 6 nights there and 6 nights in June. I can't think of any place I would rather stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Rooms are simple and basic, but very clean at what might be the best price in this part of Sedona. Anne (the owner) is very hospitable and welcoming. She gave me a lot of suggestions on places to see, eat etc. and they were indeed wonderful suggestions. Uptown Sedona (which is where this motel is located) is a nice little area to walk around, check out some incredible western clothing, and other boutiques. It is a bit touristy, but still very nice. Tlaqapaque Arts village, which is my favorite thing in Sedona, is only a 20 min pleasant walk away. Cowboy Club restaurant next door (recommended by Anne) has good food and drinks (loved the Sangria !). I had breakfast at Hitching Post restaurant, a nice little inexpensive diner, and it was great. There is also a walk-in, open to the public, meditation room at Peace Place, also right next door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

WOW...Yes awesome place.
Very clean.
Very comfortable.
Great location...parked my car right in front of room and walked everywhere after that.
Everyone is very nice, helpful and want to do whatever possible to make your stay the best!
I was there over Thanksgiving weekend, 4 nights.
Would never want to stay anywhere else!
Ever.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulapineflat, Owner at Star Motel, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Hi MRBIZ,
I want to thank you for writing a review of The Star. It was a pleasure meeting you and having you stay with us more than once!
I hope to see you on your next visit to Sedona.
Sincerely,
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I arrived late on the 6th of October, and Ann came out from her home to give me the key and welcome me, She had left a note on my door with her cell number.The room was clean, and welcoming....very comfortable!!! She had made sure I had a coffee pot waiting for me there!! I went on to the Grand Canyon on the 8th and was touring the state, enjoying the diversity of the nature and loving it! I changed my trip around a bit, and Ann was always very understanding of my date changes, and I spent my last two nights here on the 18th and 19th. I had a room behind the motel with my own little patio and it was very enjoyable!!! I will definitely come back to Sedona and in my mind, this is the ONLY place to stay. Everyone is so very nice, and the location is withing walking distance to all of the shops and restaurants in Uptown Sedona, making it very convienent for everything!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulapineflat, Owner at Star Motel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
DLKS,
I was so nice to have you return to the Star at the end of your holiday and hear about your grand adventures. I am glad that we had a room for you. I look forward to your return visit.
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed in the upstairs suite, Room 10 which allowed us to sit on the balcony and watch people strolling up and down the main thoroughfare. Of course, we strolled up and down ourselves. This suite has a well-stocked kitchen and lots of room to spread out and hang out. This was a quick trip, but we'd love to go back when we can stay a while!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a kitchen or room to spread out a little, room 10 is perfect and you get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulapineflat, Owner at Star Motel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Brenda C
I am pleased that you enjoyed the people watching from the balcony at unit 10. It has always been my favorite places to sit and watch Sedona "happen" and to watch the rocks change color at sunset.
I hope that you make it back soon.
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was my first trip to Sedona. I had not made reservations, did not know October was one of their busiest tourist months and had no clue where to go or what to do. I got the name and number for the Star Motel from the Tourist Information Center. I knew instantly that I was in the right place when I heard the owner's voice on the phone.
Anne put me at ease and took away all my concerns immediately. She had a room, told me how to get there and even met me at the door of her office when I arrived. From the moment we shook hands I knew I had a friend in this wonderfully kind lady.
While there I witnessed time and time again her thoughtfulness as she helped anyone who stopped in. Even if she did not have a room available she would help them in whatever way she could and always with a smile.
The rooms have a retro charm that fits with this 1950's motel. The furniture was custom made. The rooms were spotlessly clean and in great working order. Outside each room there are comfortable chairs and a little table where you can sit and enjoy the view. There are rock formations, such as Snoopy Rock, the Three Bears Rock and others, that great you as soon as you step out your door.
The location is directly behind the main drag of Uptown Sedona, which means easy walks to shopping, dining, entertainment and tours. I can think of no better place to esperience the charm of Sedona than the Star Motel.
If I thought I could, I would have just moved in and lived there. But alas, I could not. However, I intend to ALWAYS book all future visits to Sedona with STAR MOTEL! I cannot imagine Sedona without Anne. She is the best feature of that wonderfully magical place!

Room Tip: All rooms I stayed in were comfortable, clean and quiet. I stayed in three different rooms so that I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulapineflat, Owner at Star Motel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Adrianne,
Thank you for your thoughtful review of the motel. It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your first (but not last) visit to Sedona. I look forward to seeing you soon.
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Motel

Address: 295 Jordan Rd., Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sedona
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#20 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Star Motel is located in the historic center of Sedona, uptown. Location, location, location! Galleries, restaurants, and shopping. The motel has been family owned for over 30 years. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Queen and king sized beds, walk in showers with seating, Wi-Fi, parking in front of guest rooms. All rooms have red rock views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.