We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful thing to do in the spring.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palatki Ruins

Palatki Ruins
Forest Road 525 to Forest Road 795, Coconino National Forest, Sedona, AZ
928-282-3854
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 38 Attractions in Sedona
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
Attraction details
cottonwood, az
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful thing to do in the spring.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We loved this place. One of the workers there was a little irritable, but the place is a easy hike to see one of the best places in Sedona.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    76
    12
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
MOUNT HOREB
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Informative guides, hard to get to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Had read about the rough roads to get there, and they weren't kidding! It took a good 40 min. from West Sedona in our small rental car over very bumpy, dusty roads. Gorgeous spot, tho - very remote.

They had enough staff on hand to give us a guide up to the petroglyphs. A fairly short hike, not too steep. Our guide educated us on the paintings and carvings - good tour. He also showed us where on the other trail we could view the cliff ruins without climbing up (mom unable to do). A very nice flat walk to where we could view the ruins from a distance.

On the drive back to Sedona, we saw some Javelinas along the roadside. Very neat!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Verde, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“hidden jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Terrylynn, our friendly guide was wonderful! the volunteer at the drawings was outstanding as well. SO INFORMATIVE!! next time I want to take a pen/paper to write down all he said- wow! fantastic photo opportunities as well. learned alot! and we will be back!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice attraction after a bumpy drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Glad to see reviewers have been mentioning the rough road getting out there. It is a very interesting site, and the volunteers do a great job explaining the history. Allow about 45 minutes from West Sedona to get out there so you don't have to rush.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A peek at native America !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

True, the ride seemed a little long and a bit bumpy, but it was well worth it. We didn't know to call ahead and they were very gracious to us. It was a nice hike--even for those of us who do not regularly hike. The pictographs were amazing and the volunteers were so friendly and informative. You do need a Red Rock pass......tip....at the visitors center we purchased a National Parks pass for $10 which paid for itself over and over. It covers Red Rock pass and more. What a savings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palatki Ruins also viewed

 

Been to Palatki Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palatki Ruins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.