We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway - hiking in Sedona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2250 West Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 46 hotels in Sedona
GreenLeadersSilver level
restondrums
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great getaway - hiking in Sedona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We just returned from three days here, and found the Sedona Rouge to be everything we were looking for in Sedona….Romantic, restful, energizing, and most of all – fabulous views and ambiance. It feels very intimate and “boutique-y”… from the flowing fountains in the lobby to the small but active restaurant and bar (where you feel like the locals know where the action is! J) Rooms were gorgeous, fab mattress and bedding, loved the chaise lounge, fireplace to die for. Our only complaint was the lighting, where “energy-saving” bulbs left everything looking dim & dismal in the room except on the sunniest days. Customer Service throughout was top notch – the Concierge, Robin, was especially good, and every request we had of the hotel was quickly granted. Our two massages at the spa were great, although a little pricey at $120 an hour. We would definitely return!

Room Tip: Obviously, the Red Rock Premiere rooms are "it."
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    261
    73
    28
    14
See reviews for
127
406
36
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We take extended roads trips every year with our dog, including Vancouver, BC and Montreal. We stay at the most upscale, dog friendly properties we can find. Without a doubt, the Sedona Rouge ranks at the very top of our long list of hotels. Our pet friendly room on the main floor was so comfortable. The trade off for this perfect room means giving up a view of the red rocks. We decided we could always go outside and look around because the formations are everywhere. We definitely made the right decision. We looked out onto a manicured green grass fenced area. Rarely did anyone walk by so we always left our curtains open. So private for a shared space. Sheer curtains were provided in addition to the room darkening draperies.

We loved the bed so much that we are seriously considering buying one from their website! It has a luxurious pillowtop without the dips and sags. We detest mushy, overly soft beds which offer no support (like the Four Seasons Biltmore Santa Barbara). My husband and I both looked forward to going to sleep at night. The shower pressure was unbelievable. I have not experienced a shower with so much pressure for years. Not sure how they do it, but it was a real treat. Our only minor complaint might be the lighting. Although they provide a lighted magnifying make up mirror, the lighting is still too dim. The lighting in the main room could be brighter also,.

Sedona is not very large. We thought being in West Sedona was ideal. Being "downtown" would be too crowded with tourists milling around and all of the tee shirt shops a real turn off. Being across the street from Safeway was very handy. The highway 89 is the main route through town with motorcycles, trucks and cars--4 lanes and so noisy. Our room was located in the second group of buildings from the highway. We considered Sedona Real and after we saw the property a few feet from 89 at a busy intersection, we were so glad we chose the Sedona Rouge.

We found the concierge very helpful, setting up my husband's tee time at the Seven Canyons. He paid a reduced rate by booking through the hotel. The concierge also guided me to a few interesting boutiques as well as giving us printed out directions to the Grand Canyon and the best route to Phoenix. We ate at Elote, which is a fantastic experience as well as Dahl and DiLuca across the street (expensive yet delicious with a pet friendly patio). Our third night we ate Reds and took advantage of happy hour as well as the $50 hotel credit. (at check in no one told me about the credit ). Very good dinner and so convenient after a long day at the Grand Canyon.

When we packed up to begin our long drive to our next destination, my husband said,"when can we return?!!" We have our 2013 road trip itinerary set up and the Sedona Rouge is definitely first on our list (we're hoping they offer another mid week special next year).

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the front side. Highway 89 has fast moving, constant traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at the Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa during a 3-day photography weekend trip to Sedona. The hotel itself is very peaceful; it's quiet, and it is well laid out. Despite being on one of the main roads in Sedona, we didn't hear traffic once. All that said, the true gem at the Sedona Rouge is the staff; everyone we talked to was incredibly friendly and helpful. If you want to see the sights, make sure you talk to Robin at the concierge desk. She gave us the rundown on all of the best photography spots, and was incredibly helpful. Great hotel, great staff, great value- we'll absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors give better views of the rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Sedona Rouge and I wanted to write a review. We (me, my wife and my two year old daughter) stayed in room 103 and the whole stay was near perfect. The front desk staff including Steven, Kelsea (also booked out Pink Jeep Tour with a 10% discount), Michael and the manager Erick were so nice and acommodating. There were others that helped ensure our stay was relaxing and our needs were met too but I would be remissed if I didnt mention Robin the concierge. She knows so much about the area, the activities, the restaurants but is not pushy or assuming at all. She just wants you to enjoy the area at your own pace but shows genuine interest in what you are doing.

Here is my review of the hotel in terms of the grounds, the rooms, the restaurant

Grounds - very peaceful, no noise from 89A, beatiful fountain in the courtyard, nice/clean pool and jacuzzi, nice view from 3rd floor observation deck

Room - we were in a room that had a smalll/private patio that opened up onto the pool area. It was room 103, two queen beds, bathtub, flatscreen tv - super cozy and they kept it clean

Reds Restaurant - nice atmosphere attentive staff including Cindy, Melanie and Paula and great food actually. We received a coupon for our daughter's free breakfast every day and we even got a voucher for a free "small plate" every day we were there. The food is actually really good and the atmosphere is nice

Spa - my wife used our spa credit that was included in the midweek package towards a 60-minute deep tissue massage. She loved the facility (sauna, steam bath) and massage.

It was a great price for a really nice place away from the hustle and bustle of the town. Don't miss out on Sedona Rouge

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We just got back from our trip to Sedona and our stay at the Sedona Rouge. What a great time. We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary. When we returned to the hotel after going out for a while on our first day there was a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in our room. What a nice surprise. The staff were all great. Every night there was entertainment in Reds bar/restaurant. The concierge was very helpful. The room we stayed in was excellent. Can't say enough about this hotel. Great experience. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Carolinas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband, my five year old and I stayed at the Sedona Rouge around the middle of April 2012. Even before arriving at the resort, the concierge was so incredibly patient and helpful in getting our trip worked out (and we had to reschedule twice!). Sedona Rouge has customer service down pat. Everyone is eager to lend assistance and you are always greeted warmly throughout the resort. SR was immaculate and the environment is very serene and quiet. The fact that there is a shopping center (with starbucks, hello!) did not negate the relaxing atmosphere whatsoever. We stayed in a top floor sweet with view of the red rocks, and enjoyed the lovely view. The food at RED's was very, very good and well prepared. Again excellent service here. Bar staff are friendly and welcoming. As far as the spa, the ayurdervic specialist was very good. I wish the pool was a bit bigger and that the spa facilities were better (especially for the $$!) the services also could be improved, B- here. Overall, we came away feeling incredibly relaxed and had a really, really great time in Sedona. Sedan Rouge is actually a good value for the money. I would definitely stay at Sedona Rouge again and would recommend the resort to anyone trying to decide on accommodation, but who can't spring for 5 star spa resorts in the area.

Room Tip: Stay by the meditation garden and you'll be at the opposite end of where the supermarket is loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The spa has a friendly staff, huge variety of treatments and will customize to what you want. Very clean, professional and well managed. The change room was very clean and has a steam room and outside hot tub. Very relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa

Address: 2250 West Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sedona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#5 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#8 Family Hotel in Sedona
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#17 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, GCommerce Solutions, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Rouge Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.