We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Great.......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cucina Rustica

Cucina Rustica
7000 Hwy. 179, Village of Oak Creek, Sedona AZ 86351, Sedona, AZ 86351-9270
928 284-3010
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 158 Restaurants in Sedona
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Always Great.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Our favorite restaurant in Sedona. We eat there both evening we were in Sedona on this trip. Our server Amy was wonderful - we have food allergies and she helped with selecting items that could be modified to be dairy free. The restaurant offers gluten free pasta. Over the years we have tried all the 'house specialties' and they are all very good. The wine list is extensive - Amy suggested a wine that went well with everyone's food selection.
Walking distance to the Hilton Resort and Spa.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    745
    251
    96
    44
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambria, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Overpriced with spotty service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Cucina Rustica is the best restaurant in the Village of Oak Creek, but only because there isn't much competition. Sit at the bar, especially during happy hour, and you'll find the bartenders helpful, attentive and friendly and will promptly serve your dinner in place. Not so for some of the regular servers. We ate there regularly for years and the same waiters had the standard greeting "Have you ever been here before?" For the size of portions, Cucina definitely overcharges. If you order a house salad (extra price), specify wine and vinegar. Default choice is something with soy sauce (in a Mediterranean-style restaurant no less).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Foodie Magnet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have family in Sedona who are devotees of Chef Lisa Dahl's 3 restaurants. We sat at the bar in spite of just missing the (fabulous!) happy hour, and found the bartenders engaging and attentive even though it got very busy. The decor is best appreciated as evening sets in although the patio is charming. We started with the affinato (mozzarella-filled radicchio wrapped in prosciutto) and I would have had seconds had the main courses not been so attractive (try the salmon arancione). For later in the evening, have the Rustica Wine Lovers plate, which is a "gentle" charcuterie platter with ham, cheese & olives.

Reservations are recommended (for good reason) and the menu is complex and interesting. There is generous information online re: all three places & Chef Dahl if you're not sure this is for you!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“overhyped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Intake was a little rough, with a management-type gentleman berating a hostess for misbooking some party due in a few weeks hence. The decor was quite nice, and our server was quite affable, and made me a nice virgin prickly pear margarita, but he came off just a little too polished, maybe.
The food was pretty good. I had the special seafood pasta, which had nice flavour, but the pasta was a little gummy. My wife's veal and scallops dish was prepared well - tender beef, and plain but appropriately-cooked broccoli. Nothing to write home about, really. The recommended flourless chocolate cake was typical of the species, not the transcendent example it was promised.
So, a decent meal, but not particularly memorable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Enjoyed a wonderful meal on the outside patio on a perfect spring evening. Excellent food and service. We will be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cucina Rustica also viewed

 

Been to Cucina Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cucina Rustica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.