We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchantment Resort Che-Ah-Chi Restaurant Sedona” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Che-Ah-Chi Restaurant at Enchantment Resort

Che-Ah-Chi Restaurant at Enchantment Resort
525 Boynton Canyon Rd, Sedona, AZ 86336 (Formerly Yavapai Restaurant at Enchantment Resort)
928 282 2900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Che-Ah-Chi Restaurant at Enchantment Resort is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 159 Restaurants in Sedona
Price range: $25 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Hwy 89A
Description: Named for what the Apaches called Boynton Canyon, the resort's signature restaurant sets the stage for a memorable dining experience…where the food lives up to the views. Contemporary American cuisine with a hint of Southwest influence is paired with a wine list that earned Wine Spectator's "Best of Award of Excellence." Relax on the Wine Bar terrace or enjoy the spectacular centerpiece of Enchantment at Che-Ah-Chi.
Kitchener, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enchantment Resort Che-Ah-Chi Restaurant Sedona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We visited the Enchantment Resort on March 19th., 2013. We had lunch and it was excellent. Not cheap but the view is worth the price. We were however somewhat disappointed as we made reservations to sit on the terrace at the Tl Gavo restaurant and when we got there we were told the it was first come first serve for the Terrace. We were not told this when we booked the reservation. We could either wait 45 minutes or chose Che-Ah-Chi. Since we were only in Sedona for a day we decided to chose the alternative restaurant. There was a terrace although it is not set up quite as nice. The views are amazing anywhere at the hotel so make sure you take your camera. Another option would be to chose the bar at the Enchantment and see if you can sit on the terrace which is located next to the TI Gavo. Service at the Che-Ah-Chi was excellent but because we were not told about the first come first service at the TI Gavo, I would rate their service a mediocre.for that restaurant. We were also surprised that this restaurant did not offer glutin free menu options.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    69
    38
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of my worst-ever dining experiences.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My birthday dinner at Che-Ah-Chi, with my wife and two children, was one of my worst-ever dining experiences.

The food was bad. Not even mediocre. Bad. And very, very expensive. Maybe we caught them on an off night (Sunday), but here are examples:

Risotto was tasteless. Needed salt, pepper, seasonings.
Buffalo entree arrived stone cold
Lobster bisque was overpoweringly fishy, heavy, inedible.
Short rib, which should be moist and tender, was dry and stringy like pot roast

A bad meal now and then doesn't ruin my day, but my kids were very adventurous (for them) in their eating and were rewarded with some truly awful food.

It took more than 10 minutes before someone took our drink order (we had to hunt someone down), and the wine recommendation was so weak as to be useless.

I expect a lot more at this price range. I dine out frequently and have for decades, so I know what the food and service should be.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Go at sunset!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

There are many expensive restaurants in the Sedona area, but few have the view of the majestic red rocks. Opt for a window seat about an hour before sunset, and enjoy your meal while watching the sun move across the mountain.
The food is superb, although I would have wished for a vegetarian option besides those for salads, starters and sides. If you like elk, buffalo, lamb, etc., you will be satisfied. There are three seafood options, and my scallops were delicious. But if a restaurant can make side dishes of roasted vegetables, then how difficult could a vegetarian option be? I must say that I did not ask, so maybe that would have elicited another choice not on the menu.
The wine list is extensive; the service is attentive without being overbearing.
This is indeed a special occasion restaurant, especially for those not staying at the Enchantment Resort.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“More than just a great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

When you are seated with the stunning views of the red rock canyon walls around the resort, you might think the restaurant would lean on those laurels. But Che-ah-Chi delivers quite well on several other levels. The menu offers updated cooking and preparation techniques comparable with big city restaurants (not always the case at getaway resorts). The lamb and sea bass were very well prepared when we dined. The wine list is notable - the sommelier said they have the largest selection of Arizona wines in the state. Ordering a local bottle is an opportunity that should be taken. The service was accommodating, courteous and friendly. The prices are a little higher than one would expect for the restaurant, but that's a premium you often pay when dining at a resort that's isolated from close competition.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Restuarant at Enchantment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Had breakfast there a couple times. Food excellent (they make a great bowl of oatmeal) but a little pricey.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Che-Ah-Chi Restaurant at Enchantment Resort also viewed

 

Been to Che-Ah-Chi Restaurant at Enchantment Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Che-Ah-Chi Restaurant at Enchantment Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.