We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So amazing we visited twice during our short stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dahl & DiLuca

Dahl & DiLuca
2321 W. Hwy. 89A, West Sedona, Sedona, AZ 86336
928-282-5219
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 153 restaurants in Sedona
Price range: $18 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“So amazing we visited twice during our short stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 NEW

Mu husband and I visited Sedona during the busy 4th of July weekend. Since Chicago is known for its wonderful Italian cuisine, we seldom try it out of town. We are so happy our Concierge recommended we visit Dahl and DiLuca. The setting is well done and comfortable. The location was convenient, even though we were at Enchantment ,just outside Sedona. The service was great both times, with both Violet and Steve. They helped us to select our dishes and wine. We even had Violet pick between two entrees which can be difficult.

The food from start to finish was AMAZING!!! The bruschetta and Caprese were wonderfully done with great flavor on ciabatta bread. Most salads can be ordered in two sizes and the Rustic and Caesar were exceptional. Our pasta with sausage (Pavarotti was in the name) was one of the best pasta dishes we have ever had, with both the pasta and sausage house made. The lamb chops were beautifully grilled and flavored. The portions were comfortable and I never eat everything on my plate but did that night!!

The selections were so perfect we retuned two days later for the same menu!!! The wine list was nicely selected with lots of good choices in many price ranges. The only thing we were sad about is that we were too full for the desserts on both visits. We saw them selected by others and they looked great, but after everything else, we couldn't eat another bite.

To top off our fantastic evening, the owner, Lisa Dahl, stopped by our table to check on our meal. That effort is not made nearly as much as it used to be in restaurants. She was very gracious and obviously passionate about her food and overall business. Our check was very reasonable even with a decent bottle of wine and a port.

We can't wait for our next visit to Sedona! Please open something in Chicago!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    710
    217
    68
    32
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, AZ
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A gourmet restaurant with a lot of unique dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 NEW

This is an up-scale Italian restaurant in Sedona. Dinners start at about $20. If you want a salad, it is extra, depending on which of the six you choose. They begin at $6. They do bring cibatta rolls and garlic olive oil for dipping, which you can make a meal of by itself.

According to the menu, they make their own Linguine and Fettuccine Pasta. This is a gourmet restaurant with a lot of unique dishes, and I don't recall a children's menu, although I'm sure they could fix something that kids would like. If you are not that budget conscious, I highly recommend this restaurant for dinner. I don't think they are open for lunch. You can explore their menu and website at http://dahlanddiluca.com/

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John X, Guest Relations Manager at Dahl & DiLuca, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi sflbib--

I want to thank you for writing such a lovely review. We love having our neighbors come in an enjoy our restaurant. Unfortunately we are not open for lunch at the restaurant but we are happy to fix anything for children if we have the ingredients in our kitchen. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food and Dog Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 NEW

A friend told us that this was the best place for Northern Italian Cuisine. All 3 of us had veal, although prepared differently (please no comments about the baby cow). It was fabulous! Their linguine is home made and next time I will have to try that.

We had two dogs with us and the other tables on the patio also had dogs with them. A great restaurant! Good Food and dog friendly!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John X, Guest Relations Manager at Dahl & DiLuca, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thanks for the great review. We love our own dogs and we are so happy to make our guests welcome on the patio with theirs. We really pride ourselves on our veal dishes and we are so glad you got to try three of them. Come back and visit us when you want to escape the heat of the Valley of the Sun.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth Junction, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 NEW

Wow. First off the manager Jim greeted us with a very warm welcome. This was our first time at this restaurant. We found it on trip advisor. We are staying at The Enchantment. The restaurant is only a 10 minute drive. Well worth it!!! The Caesar salad was the best I have ever had. The home made mozzarella with tomatoes I will surely dream about. Our meal was fabulous. Our waitress Lisa was so kind. We don't drink and we appreciated her not being pushy about that. The atmosphere is wonderful. We brought our children who also loved their meal. Highly recommend this place. We hope to return before heading home.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John X, Guest Relations Manager at Dahl & DiLuca, responded to this review, 2 days ago
You made our day! Thanks so much for the lovely comments on our restaurant. Thanks, too, for giving mention to both Jim and Lisa. While we always love to hear how much people enjoy our food we are thrilled to hear about how great our staff is. Come back and visit us again when you are back in beautiful Sedona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A real gem in beautiful Sedona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We drove down Oak Creek Canyon from Flagstaff on a Tuesday...arrived at restaurant just as it opened at 5 p.m. Needless to say at this time and day of week, it was NOT crowded at all.
The decor is very European and lovely. The Cosmo I had before dinner was probably one of the best I've ever had. Service was very efficient and non-intrusive (a unique combination in many restaurants we've visited). We shared a salad, and then I had the Veal Picatta and my husband had a different veal dish (his with prawns and mushrooms). Both dishes were GREAT!!!

Be warned, it is NOT cheap to eat here, but well worth it for that "special occasion" or not so special occasion in our case.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John X, Guest Relations Manager at Dahl & DiLuca, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Mary K

Thanks for coming down from Flagstaff to eat at our restaurant and thanks, too, for the lovely compliments and for making D&D a special destination. We really love our restaurant and when we can share those feelings with our neighbors it is even more special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dahl & DiLuca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dahl & DiLuca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.