We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Butterfly Garden Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Butterfly Garden Inn
Save
You added The Butterfly Garden Inn to your Saves list
9440 N State Route 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Awesome Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were in Sedona last December. Family holidays: 3 teens and 4 adults. Our cabin, The Monarch, was perfectly cozy and warm. The morning surprises were the original breakfast delivered at the door. It was our joy to open it and discover what was hiding in the cute basket. We enjoyed also their little communal living room where teens found games while one was looking at his/her email. The owners are young and passionate lodgers, which is reflected in their services, and little touches here and there. It was a pleasure to be their guests and we, my husband and I, have decided to return again in April! It is our first time going back to the same place, a big sign of our satisfaction!

Room Tip: Each one has its particularity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
54
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice bed linens and towels, clean cabins, breakfast of fresh scones, granola and yogurt delivered to your cabin in the morning, and adjacent to Oak Creek: a great addition to canyon accommodations. The new owners are adding outdoor seating to their cafe and store.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was one of my favorite places to stay ever - so much so that I am finally writing a TripAdvisor review, rather than just benefiting from others' reviews. The setting is idyllic - lovely log cabins nestled among stately trees, facing an awesome view of the canyon wall. We spent a wonderful, relaxing night in Mary's Giant Skipper cabin. The hosts - Frank and Nicole Garrison - were outstanding - friendly, helpful, interesting, and modified our breakfast to accommodate some dietary eccentricities. The bed was comfortable, the fireplace delightful, the outdoor chairs and picnic table lovely. Our stay here was a highlight of our week in Arizona.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We spent our spring vacation in the Linda cabin. Our teen age daughters like the privacy of having the separate bedroom. The owners were very accommodating and friendly. There is a store on the property that comes in handy when you need something quick. We loved the morning basket of goodies delivered to our cabin. It was always filled with fresh fruit and delicious baked goods. While we were there, we visited the Grand Canyon and many of the Sedona scenic attractions. The Butterfly Garden Inn is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

spent 3 nights at the morning glory cabin....super clean; great bed to sleep in; enjoyed the fireplace in the morning, after temps dropped a bit overnight; our "breakfast basket" was at the front door, before we would get up...juices, muffins, yoghurt, fruits...perfect to get the day going; there was a coffeemaker in the cabin as well...the property sits on rt 89 about 10 miles north of Sedona; the drive was nice and plenty of stops to pull over and admire nature...the owners are such a nice couple...helpful, friendly and always willing to go out of their way to help; we did take 2 suggestions of theirs ( a hike and afternoon short trip to Jerome, AZ) and were glad we did...I would highly recommend the butterfly garden inn, if you wanna try something different instead of the usual hotels-motels scene....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bragg Creek, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing getaway, a place that is fresh and clean and well maintained, where the linens are crisp and the beds are comfortable and if you want to feel that the proprietors really care if you have everything you need and respond quickly and efficiently to anything that might need attention, then the Butterfly Garden Inn would be a splendid choice.

The cabins are beautifully renovated with attention given to finish and quality. Its a place that allows you relax and put your feet up. It snowed while we were there with temperatures on the cooler side so we were grateful for the thermostatically controlled gas stove which kept the cabin really cozy. Lots of huge trees outside so I imagine that there is lots of shade in the summer. You can hear the river flowing as you fall asleep at night!

The place is perfect for multi-generational family gatherings, romantic get-a ways or like us, a birthday celebration with friends we haven't seen for a long while!

I concur with what everyone else has said about the owners. They are eager to help you have a memorable experience and really do go out of their way to make sure it happens. Their breakfasts are lovely and fresh and I highly recommend you try their lattes or cappuccinos... better than Starbucks!

Room Tip: Cabin #15 has 3 very generous bedrooms so perfect for a family or 3 couples. Its very close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have never written a review before but this place was so great that I really wanted to share how wonderful it is. We just returned from a stay in cabin #1, Julia. There was about 8 inches of snow which added to the already amazing beauty of the surroundings. The cabins are cozy with very comfortable beds like you would find in a top hotel and a cozy gas fireplaces. The couple that owns the property are very nice and thoughtful. Each morning there was a picnic basket of wonderful breakfast treats hanging on the porch (I have never has such a fabulous continental breakfast- homemade and delicious) and they were even thoughtful enough to include dog treats for the dog. The immediate area has lots of options for great activities such as visiting Sedona, wine tasting at the Page Springs Winery or a fabulous hike on the West Fork Trail but you could be just as happy staying in the cabin. We will be back.

Room Tip: There are several cabins that are dog friendly for a small fee. Our dog had a blast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Butterfly Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Butterfly Garden Inn

Address: 9440 N State Route 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Butterfly Garden Inn, formerly Don Hoel’s cabins, is the perfect destination for individuals, families, and retreat groups who want to relax, unwind, and find refuge from the stress of everyday life. Situated 10 miles north of Sedona in the heart of the Oak Creek Canyon, our tranquil inn has charming cabins ranging from one to three bedrooms with full kitchens, each offering a delicious continental-style breakfast basket delivered to the cabin each morning. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Butterfly Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.