We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the splash, stay for the view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crescent Moon Ranch

Crescent Moon Ranch
Red Rock Loop, Red Rock State Park, Sedona, AZ
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 153 Activities in Sedona
Type: State Parks, Ranch & Farm
Attraction details
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Come for the splash, stay for the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We came here after a morning of driving around Sedona. This place has a $9 fee that's not covered by the Recreation Pass. We picnicked here (nice area, but were besieged by flies as we ate, but only then; we were probably too close to the main area). It also has restroom facilities.

It has a spectacular view of Cathedral Rock. The creek is a short distance away. The creek is deep in some areas and the rocks are slippery with some natural slides. The boys had a ball playing in the water. Go into the creek for an even better view of Cathedral Rock.

Tip-don't spend the buck for the map unless you're going to hike; if you're just going to the creek don't bother because you just follow the sidewalk to the treeline and the creek is just a few yards beyond that.

My kids (boys 10 and 12) liked this better than Slide Rock State Park. If you have time, go to both. If you only have time for one then come here. It has a better view and it's half the price of Slide Rock.

Recommended.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    2
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Kentucky
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent price for a tranquil day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I loved this area. We went on a Tuesday and there were very few people. The water is fun but super slippery so make sure you bring good water shoes that grip. The easy walking trail towards the red rock is peaceful. There is a small natural water slide but the deep pools were more my speed. I didn't get a "mystic feeling" when entering the "vortex" other than being in awe of the beauty and the cute little rock formations folks made at Buddha Beach. I saw lots of folks mediating, reading, and just relaxing in their own little world in this sweet little park. We brought a picnic lunch and just enjoyed the water, birds, people playing in the water, and lizards that were everywhere!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Point, NY
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Go in search of the vortex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

A short trail leads you to a red rock site in a stream that is supposed to be a vortex. Very pretty. Many people were enjoying the stream. Another short walk leads you again across the red rocks to the other side of the creek. A pretty little state park.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Serene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Serene, beautiful location in Sedona. Minus the obnoxious, drunk people with their Pabst Blue and coolers it was a nice day. Will try again in the "off season" to get a more peaceful experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Easy hiking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Some easy hiking with great views of Cathedral rock and one of the "Vortex" areas at the end of the path along the river. Wasn't crowded at all when we were there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crescent Moon Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Crescent Moon Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crescent Moon Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.