We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Labor Day getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Portal Sedona Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Portal Sedona Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Portal Sedona Hotel
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   95 Portal Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
July Sedona Hotel Special
Ranked #14 of 30 Sedona B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect Labor Day getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have only the nicest things to say about El Portal, Sedona AZ. Right from booking online until we left, the entire process was very efficient. The property itself is gorgeous. I could have spent all my time sitting outside in the garden area with a cup of tea. The hotel is pet-friendly, so we got to see many families with dogs. I was visiting with a friend and her husband, and we stayed in the Grand Canyon room. Lovely room, cozy, clean, tasteful with the best fireplace ever. Complete boutique hotel experience!

I'd like to point out that we were supposed to do a sunset tour of the area but couldn't make it back on time to be picked up. We got charged with the tour fee in full, but it was immediately refunded as soon as we pointed out the error. The owners were approachable and friendly, full of suggestions on what to do in the area.

I highly recommend El Portal to anyone looking to soak in some Sedona vibes. I'm looking forward to being back again soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for choosing El Portal Sedona Hotel for your getaway! Hope to see you back one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    34
    11
    17
    3
See reviews for
73
194
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I wanted to stay in a place that was very simple away from the likes of upscale hotels like the Hilton or the Ritz Carlton........well we got it. It is like a little hole in the wall. They let you help yourself to wine on an honor system........WHAT how cool is that. Charming staff. Terry is our favorite. I took our dog out one night to pee but locked myself out but one of the guests that was in the courtyard around the fire pit had his key to let me in. There's only 12 rooms so if you want one spacial room you have to book early!

Room Tip: If you have a dog you should pick #6 or #7 because there's a private area outside for the dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We are so happy you stayed with us - the "camp fire" is lovely in the evening isn't it?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Since getting married in Sedona in 2006, my husband and I have been back to El Portal every year! In fact, our very first experience with this wonderful hotel was indeed our wedding weekend. The hotel catered a small rehearsal/welcoming get-together in the courtyard, complete with sensational appetizers and wine pairings. Additionally, the hotel was gracious enough to let us use the property as a backdrop for so many of our wedding photos. El Portal also served as the hotel room for our wedding night, as well as providing luxury accommodation for some of our wedding guests. Since 2006, we have returned every year because we enjoy the lovely, historic, intimate atmosphere of El Portal so much.

Each room is unique, charming, and distinctively appointed with authentic period Craftsman decor/furniture. Every room in which we stay is comfortable and quiet, while also providing a relaxing and attractive ambiance. In fact, when renovating our own home, we used El Portal as an example for some of our remodeling decisions. It is apparent that each room was carefully thought out in design and theme, adding to the uniqueness of the Hotel. Small touches of comfort such as bottles of water, wine bar, and a DVD library are also available to guests. Furthermore, appetizers and drinks are served late afternoon in the cozy hotel great room for guests-- a nice touch indeed.

The Hotel has a beautiful courtyard, as previously mentioned, which is supplemented with a fire pit, chairs, tables and wonderful landscaping. My husband and I appreciate this aspect, as we like to lounge around the fire on crisp autumn nights. I also choose to sit in the courtyard to work on my computer, even though each room is WiFi equipped. It really is a pleasant feature of the Hotel.

Finally, owners Steve and Connie are hospitable, considerate, and friendly. Themselves animal lovers, they extend this courtesy to their guests by allowing pets, which I find a wonderful accommodation, especially at the level of this hotel. Additionally, Connie has gone out of her way to recommend local facilities for our horses the year we wanted to ride in Sedona.

Make no mistake about it, you definitely get what you pay for when it comes to hotels. Fortunately, you will get all you expected and more at El Portal Sedona. We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Every room is "the good room," although upstair rooms have balconies and terrific views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We love seeing you every year! And loved being a part of your magical day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

El Portal is labeled a small "luxury hotel" - it's kind of a cross between an inn and a B&B. The authentic Arts and Craft furnishings and art add an extra layer of enjoyment to the beautiful hacienda architecture. Late afternoon snacks with wine and a full service breakfast in front of the fire are high points. The patio and outdoor spaces are wonderful gathering spaces. The location is "in town" - this is not a "nature" spot, but you can walk to the Oak Creek Brewery for dinner, which is a plus. The innkeeper owner Steve is a fund of tourist information.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Guests of El Portal have access to unique concierge services for the Sedona area. The owner, Steve Segner, is an avid outdoors-man, and helps plan hikes, day trips, etc.
Thank you for visiting Sedona and choosing El Portal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pa.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Spent 3 nights October 2012. Unique and tastefully done property. More "B&B" than "Hotel". Central location within easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. Set back off the road and a tad tricky to find. Very private with an inner courtyard. Nightly fire that quests congregate around. Honor bar off dining room with wine/beer/soda. Helpful and friendly staff. Very good, although not included, breakfast. Our room, #3, was large and well appointed. Gas fireplace, King Bed, TV/DVD, Iron/Board, Robes, Whirlpool Tub w/ separate stall shower, Mini-fridge, outside sitting/dog area. All very thoughtfully done. Uber dog friendly place. Upscale place and clientele. A couple of observations. What you gain in a private courtyard with the ability to meet other guests by the fire, you lose in no view of the mountains. If you have issues with dogs, look elsewhere. Overall highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rene's in Tlaquepaque was hands down the best restaurant we went to in Sedona. El Portal's b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We loved having you stay at El Portal Sedona.Thank you for your compliments on breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Quiet, luxurious and relaxing, this very small hotel is the perfect Sedona get-a-way location. It is actually more of a Hacienda than a hotel. Even though this property is located in a complex with another large hotel and a shopping center, the walls and vegetation surrounding it make you feel that you are out in the country. The rooms huge - suites, really - and well appointed. Each unit is unique, with different shape, size, furnishings and theme. We stayed in #6, The Hile, which had its own little private patio. The staff are friendly and personable. The breakfast is to die for.

There is not much to do at the hotel itself. It is more of a home base from which to launch your expeditions into the wonderful landscape of the Sedona area. There are some fantastic restaurants within walkind distance at the Tlaquepaque shopping center.

Note that my wife and I stayed here in October of 2009. I thought that I had submitted this review at that time, but apparently not.

Room Tip: Rooms in the one-story section are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your stay - and your remarks! We do like guests to feel like they are in an oasis - an oasis of peace, beauty, tranquility and serenity, but still within walking distance of many of Sedona's wonderful activities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We recently visited Sedona, AZ, and were riveted by the peacefulness and beauty of the area. One of earth's treasures.

To top it all off, the icing on the cake... was the El Portal Sedona Hotel. What a treasure. The owners, Steve and Connie, treated us like old friends; like family. The Hotel was beautiful, quaint, and peaceful. There was a community campfire every night in the courtyard, which added to the charm. And if that wasn't enough, we sampled a homemade breakfast every morning... with the best Salsa I have ever eaten in my life. Thanks for a wonderful getaway!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for staying at El Portal Sedona - we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Portal Sedona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Sedona Hotel

Address: 95 Portal Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Portal Sedona Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA 4-Diamond Rated Hotel in the heart of Sedona! Nowhere else in Sedona will you find a luxury inn or hotel with 18-inch thick adobe walls - walls that provide both quiet and history. It's truly an architectural masterpiece and one of the finest hotels in Sedona. Twelve spacious rooms have been created in accordance with the simplicity and function of turn-of-the-century architecture. El Portal is a luxurious twelve suite, pet friendly Sedona hotel. Each guest suite includes a private entrance, patio, fireplace, whirlpool bath, entertainment center and DVD, WiFi, telephone, and more. Experience the dramatic views, relax in our romantic courtyard, shop the gift shops and galleries of the renowned Tlaquepaque arts and Crafts Village, or hike the red rocks. Guests at this Sedona bed and breakfast have access to uniquely personalized concierge services for the Sedona area. Book a trip to Sedona and stay with us at El Portal Sedona Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, T4B, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your El Portal Sedona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Portal Sedona Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.