We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doggie Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Portal Sedona Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Portal Sedona Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Portal Sedona Hotel
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   95 Portal Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
July Sedona Hotel Special
Ranked #14 of 30 Sedona B&B and Inns
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Doggie Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We loved our four nights stay at El Portal. It is owned by our gracious and helpful hosts, Steve and Connie. They welcomed everyone and their pets. They made us feel as though we were in our own home. Enjoyed sitting in the great room with the river rock fireplace. There is a big leather sofa and leather chairs in front of the FP. They serve breakfast in the great room and it is fun to meet all the dogs (on leash) and their owners. We met several guests that did not have dogs.
Our room, #3, Garden Room, was beautiful. Our front door was made of stained glass. The detail involved in selecting the furniture was remarkable. The lamps, doorknobs, glass work was incredible. There was a welcome basket for our dog, Angel. It had a blue plaid fleece blanket, towel and doggie treats in it.
I had an opportunity to peek in some of the rooms after the guests checked out. Loved the Molesworth room and Hickory Room. I did not get upstairs to Rooms #11 or #12 but heard that they had a good view.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. We loved having Angel, and of course all of your family :)
Looking forward to your next trip to Sedona!
Oh, and we are so happy you noticed the details!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    34
    11
    17
    3
See reviews for
73
194
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is one of the most amazing places to stay. We stayed in the Green and Greener room, which is very spacious with a balcony overlooking the courtyard. Steve and Connie are gracious hosts and make you feel extremely welcomed.

I researched many luxury hotels in Sedona and I picked the best. Luxury is an understatement. The main room serves as the reception, breakfast and evening gathering spot for the guests. Its an amazing grand room in itself.

TheTlaquepaque shopping village right across from the El Portal with the best in shopping.

I highly recommend the El Portal!

Thanks Steve and Connie,

Mark and Bill

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
That is a great room - the Green and Greene....the balcony has a lovely view too. Thank you for your review, and that you consider El Portal Sedona as one of the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We really enjoyed our two night stay at El Portal, as did our Bernese Mountain Dog, Oliver! Our room was gorgeous and spacious, and meticulously decorated in keeping with the Sedona ambiance. A real plus was that Steve and Connie watched our dog while we took a trip to the Grand Canyon. In other similar places, we have had to hire a pet sitter but as Steve said, "We're a pet friendly hotel, this is what we do!" Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We loved having you and Oliver stay with us! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We've traveled all over the world and seldom enjoyed a hotel more. The owners have exhibited great care and planning in El Portal. How many times have you gone to a hotel and said, "I wish they.... ? You won't here for they've thought of everything. Furniture is hand crafted and made of beautiful burls and other expensive woods. The bathroom has a Jacuzzi tub, a large tile shower, separate WC and large vanity, all done in beautiful tiles, copper basins...etc.The architecture, Craftsman, furnishings and even the door handles are circa 1920. Julia Morgan could have been the inspiration. But all of that would fail if it were not for the dedication of Steve and Connie. They treat their guests as though this establishment were their home. It might as well be since they seem to be there day and night.
So, for those who come to Sedona to relax and let their cares go someplace else, this hotel is a great place. We've been to Sedona many times and have usually stayed at Enchantment which is a really gorgeous property with its world class spa. But they don't take dogs and this year we decided to take Rex, our German shepherd. He's very friendly and many of the other guests also had dogs. So it was a wonderful experience for our entire family. Rex seemed to understand that he was most welcome also..
When you sum up your experiences in various lodges/hotels/spas you always leave with a memory, a feeling. Rarely have I thought, as I left, "flawless." Such is the case with El Portal.

John Padget
Oro Valley AZ

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your high praises. We so liked having Rex visit. Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We came upon El Portal somewhat by accident and are very pleased that we did! The hotel is privately owned. Connie was exceptional and gave us great tips for what to see in Sedona during our stay. You can tell that the owners, Connie and Steve, take great pride in the property and the finishing detail in the rooms make you feel right at home. Our room was huge (2) and just off the courtyard. The courtyard is beautiful! There are hummingbird feeders and bird seed, making the space even more enjoyable. While El Portal does not have a pool, they have an arrangement with the resort next door to use theirs. The hotel is pet friendly, and many guests had very well behaved pets (we didn't). We had breakfast (not included) in the morning and it was good. The salsa is excellent and adds great flavor to the meal. El Portal is just a block away from the Tlaquepaque shopping area, which has great stores and restaurants of all types. I highly recommend El Portal!

Room Tip: Our room (#2) was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
So happy you had a good time! Aren't the hummingbirds the best?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The place is gorgeous- no clue of animals being there except for enjoying them as they walked their owners through the B&B. Clean, unique and just absolutely the perfect place if you want to get away yet be in the middle of it all. Garden and sitting area was heavenly. So much is in walking distance. The hotel next door allows el portal guests to swim/spa services. Eat at Ken's once, shop at Telaquepaque. Terry and Steve helped out family of four feel at home and experience so much more than we would have without their advice! Just a gem!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us! We look forward to your next visit, remember - busy people always need a little R & R!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

El Portal is the light at the end of hotel tunnel in Sedona. If have not stayed at many places in Sedona but this one is great.

Stucca finishes, large rooms and bathrooms. Old and antique finished with style. You are well located but off all the main roads to you can enjoy the quiet atmosphere.

This place will alway fill up so book well ahead.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for staying with us! We're glad you enjoyed your time at El Portal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Portal Sedona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Sedona Hotel

Address: 95 Portal Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Portal Sedona Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA 4-Diamond Rated Hotel in the heart of Sedona! Nowhere else in Sedona will you find a luxury inn or hotel with 18-inch thick adobe walls - walls that provide both quiet and history. It's truly an architectural masterpiece and one of the finest hotels in Sedona. Twelve spacious rooms have been created in accordance with the simplicity and function of turn-of-the-century architecture. El Portal is a luxurious twelve suite, pet friendly Sedona hotel. Each guest suite includes a private entrance, patio, fireplace, whirlpool bath, entertainment center and DVD, WiFi, telephone, and more. Experience the dramatic views, relax in our romantic courtyard, shop the gift shops and galleries of the renowned Tlaquepaque arts and Crafts Village, or hike the red rocks. Guests at this Sedona bed and breakfast have access to uniquely personalized concierge services for the Sedona area. Book a trip to Sedona and stay with us at El Portal Sedona Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, T4B, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your El Portal Sedona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Portal Sedona Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.