We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful retreat and dog friendly to boot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Portal Sedona Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Portal Sedona Hotel to your Saves list
El Portal Sedona Hotel
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   95 Portal Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Pets Stay Free with Us!
Ranked #15 of 31 Sedona B&B and Inns
Fort Worth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delightful retreat and dog friendly to boot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed at El Portal in June 2012 and had an excellent experience. I was on my way across country with my dog. They were excellent hosts and very helpful with arranging a jeep tour for me and also an in room massage. Wow!
It's also nice to meet other fellow travelers with their four footed friends.
People were very friendly.

Room Tip: If you have any issues with stairs, might be good to ask for the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
We're glad you were able to stop in! happy to help with the Sedona jeep tour and in room massage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    36
    13
    17
    4
See reviews for
78
204
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I live in the Phoenix area and have been looking for a good hotel or b& b for last minute trips and long weekends. When searching on dog-friendly and Sedona I found El Portal. Upon arrival I knew I'd found my new weekend getaway. The rooms are lovely as are the guests and staff. I was honestly wondering if someone was playing a joke on me - everyone was so friendly to my dogs both at the hotel and in the local restaurants. I had a choice of long walks the staff recommended as well as lots of great places to eat. I never touched my car after arriving. I was honestly doing this to escape the heat and found I was able to work quite well fom the hotel. Cell phone access is limited by the thick wlls but the wifi worked well and I was able to get a good cell signal on the property.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, be honest about how much space they need. The patios vary in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for making El Portal Sedona your "getaway retreat!"

Being so close to the Phoenix area you would think Sedona is just as hot, but it isn't! With the tall, cool pinion pines and red rocks, Sedona is inviting and cooler than Phoenix; with so much to do and see.

With free WiFi throughout the boutique hotel, doing a little work is a breeze! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I love El Portal. The rooms that we booked for our family vacation were huge and beautifully decorated with antiques We had the latest DVDS to choose from in the library. The king sized bed was super comfortable and we all slept really well. The shower was so super that I really didn't want to get out. Breakfast are very special, try the huevos rancheros. i loved my view of the red canyons. To get around town is a breeze. Steve, the owner is a real sweetheart and was there every day, always suggesting a great idea for us on where to hike, get a special piece of Indian art, the best way to see the Grand Canyon or simply a restaurant in our price range with great food. The places that he suggested were always spot on!.
It was so good to see that folks with pets are so welcome at El Portal.Steve, Connie and Fran make EVERYONE feel so welcome. I had a FANTASTIC time there. It was hard to say goodbye.
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND EL PORTAL IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR WAY MORE THAN WHAT YOU COULD HOPE FOR ON A VACATION . EL PORTAL ROCKS!!!

Room Tip: WE STAYED IN 11 AND 12-TOTAL PEACE AND PRIVACY UP THERE. great views of the red rocks and lovely fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We are thrilled you chose El Portal Sedona Hotel for your family vacation. We love it when our guests are happy and feel well-taken care of. Our personalized concierge services are there for you - to help you choose your hike, museum, get you to the Grand Canyon, whatever we can do to make your stay and vacation more enjoyable and relaxing!

Thank you for making El Portal your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This place is incredible. It's cozy, it's private, they love animal and respect what gender one loves. My wife and I had an incredible time stay at this amazing place. The rooms are nothing you would ever see at a chain hotel and the hospitalities are remarkable.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing so you have nothing to worry about
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, we so enjoyed your visit. And thank you for "getting" us - we appreciate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A hidden gem, this place. I used to live in Sedona, and needed Mapquest. But once you find it - such a wonderful surprise! Close to Tlaquepaque, near the "Y" - you're just a few moments from great food, shops, and hiking/sightseeing. The hotel has a great lodge-like reception area, a wonderful common 'green' with evenings by the fire, and nice, over-sized rooms (some with a fireplace). The only thing missing is a stunning 'red-rock' view - but you're never far from that in Sedona. Oak Creek is a short stroll, Rene's (one of the best restaurants in Arizona) a 3 minute walk, and the in-house breakfast is excellent -- in other words, you could come here and not need to 'drive' for days.
Lastly - the hotel is dog-friendly (too few and far between for folks with a pet). Our little one was made to feel welcome and loved by staff - and we enjoyed our stay all the more having a place that welcomes, understands and enhances the 'family with a pet' experience.
We'll return here often, and look forward to our next trip.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed Suite 9 - the Rim View. While the view was a bit California affordable ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We are "tucked away" in Sedona, but close to many activities and attractions just like you said. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Looking forward to a pleasant long weekend, we booked four nights at El Portal because they accepted pets and we wanted to take our four legged friend with us. From all the reviews I read, it seems like a nice place. They describe them self as a ‘Luxury Boutique Hotel”, We have found that the term “luxury” is used constantly when it just isn’t the case. In April we were at the Mandarin Oriental in Hong Kong, and that is indeed a luxury hotel, but El Portal isn’t quite sure what it is.

First of all, it is stuck behind a parking lot. Our room, # 7 had cars parked right outside the fence. The location is not relaxing, nor pretty. There are no views at all, and lots of noise early in the morning and of course all day with the parking lot to the small artsy mall overflowing with shoppers.

Secondly it isn’t sure what it is. Breakfast isn’t included in the excessive rates, and the first morning our tab was $40 for breakfast. I would say that was pretty steep. Oh, I would like to mention that the same person that serves your breakfast is also cleaning your toilet. Just doesn’t seem right to me. So even though El Portal is listed on the Bed and Breakfast website, it isn’t because you have to pay. The rates are not even correct on their website………….coffee is $3 not $2.

There are 12 rooms, and they do appear pretty on their website. However, ours was dark, the television did not work, the pillows were almost flat, and there was just nowhere comfortable to sit. Like I said earlier if you sit outside on your small patio you are looking and listening to the large parking lot.
The staff was okay, kind of fake, and pretended to be so glad we were there. Other comments have been left about the owner and you can read them if you like, and they are spot on.

Disregarding all the above comments, the two women sharing the room next to us had two very large dogs. The first night they went out to dinner, left the dogs in the room and they barked for at least an hour. I mentioned this to an employee, and was assured this would be taken care of. The 3rd and last night of our stay the dogs started barking at 3am. Much to my surprise there was no staff there, and if the place was burning down I would have had no idea who to contact. So, we got up, and I sent an email to the hotel that we were leaving and to send us a copy of our bill. Little did we know that they all go home and no one is in charge of this “luxury” place. THERE IS NO ONE THERE! I did find out that they are not members of the Arizona Bed and Breakfast Association as the ABBA requires a person there 24 hours a day………Oh, we never received a bill, but they didn’t hesitate to charge our credit card.

It is disappointing to go somewhere and it is nothing but a joke. Stay somewhere nice, you won’t spend any more money and you probably would have a view.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
El Portal Sedona Hotel is located in the heart of the Arts and Crafts District, just a short walk from Tlaquepaque Arts and Crafts Village, with wonderful, eclectic shopping, dining and entertainment. It is close to Oak Creek, convenient for walks, and close to and hiking trails.
It is not in the downtown area, or on the main street, where Sedona is busiest.
Owners Steve & Connie love to help guests plan their day with maps, directions, even making arrangements for the many activities in the area.
There is always someone available if guests need anything, just pick up the room phone and call the front desk.
El Portal is a small, luxury inn, a pet friendly Sedona hotel. They cater to all their guests and pets, even offering free pet sitting services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My Partner and I stayed at El Portal Inn last week for a, much needed, couple of days of rest, relaxation, quietness, and grieving our friend's passing. The room, the courtyard, the breakfast, and the staff far exceeded our expectations. It was one of the most peaceful, quiet places we have ever stayed. Thank you for having such a beautiful retreat!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for understanding what El Portal is all about. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope it helped.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Portal Sedona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Sedona Hotel

Address: 95 Portal Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Portal Sedona Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA 4-Diamond Rated Hotel in the heart of Sedona! Nowhere else in Sedona will you find a luxury inn or hotel with 18-inch thick adobe walls - walls that provide both quiet and history. It's truly an architectural masterpiece and one of the finest hotels in Sedona. Twelve spacious rooms have been created in accordance with the simplicity and function of turn-of-the-century architecture. El Portal is a luxurious twelve suite, pet friendly Sedona hotel. Each guest suite includes a private entrance, patio, fireplace, whirlpool bath, entertainment center and DVD, WiFi, telephone, and more. Experience the dramatic views, relax in our romantic courtyard, shop the gift shops and galleries of the renowned Tlaquepaque arts and Crafts Village, or hike the red rocks. Guests at this Sedona bed and breakfast have access to uniquely personalized concierge services for the Sedona area. Book a trip to Sedona and stay with us at El Portal Sedona Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Portal Sedona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Portal Sedona Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.