We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than advertised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Portal Sedona Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Portal Sedona Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Portal Sedona Hotel
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   95 Portal Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
July Sedona Hotel Special
Ranked #14 of 30 Sedona B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better than advertised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

What a great place! Everyone in my group was impressed with their rooms, the service and Steve and Connie's hospitality. Have already recommended to several friends in Telluride.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for coming and enjoying our Inn! We enjoyed having you and hope you return to El Portal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    34
    11
    17
    3
See reviews for
73
194
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

This was our first visit to Sedona and we were two out of a group of eight. One of our friends knew someone in Sedona who recommended the "El Portal Sedona" as THE place to stay for our visit. WOW! AMAZING! INCREDIBLE! The owners, Steve & Connie, have created a magical atmosphere in an intimate setting - combined with "over the top" hospitality. It's a small, elegant, intimate property - only 12 rooms. Each one is uniquely decorated with an eclectic collection of antiques and special furniture. The rooms open to a courtyard with a firepit and comfy Adirondack chairs. At night, the vines overhead are sofly illuminated - adding to the magic of El Portal. When we arrived, Steve & Connie showed each of us to our rooms and told us "We want you to feel like guests in our home..." and that they did - over and over again! The hotel is also pet friendly and the pets we saw were also having a great time. Steve & Connie know just about all there is to know about Sedona and they helped us maximize our time and experience. I can't describe how nice and accomodating they were. Try this place. You'll love it and want to go back and experience it again. Simply outstanding!!!!!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are on the ground floor - easy in and out with no stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dennis,
Thank you for your great remarks! We hope you come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Four perfect days for four couples in the heart of Sedona. We researched this one thoroughly including recommendations from locals and it paid off. Small and quaint, built new to be old, very comfortable, and in the perfect Sedona location, surrounded by great shops, galleries, and restaurants. Like staying in a warm and interesting home. The owners, Steve and Connie, couldn't have been more accommodating and helpful. Make time to talk to Steve--fascinating history, knowledge, and energy.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
We so happy you came! Hope to see you all again! El Portal Sedona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Sedona is beautiful and this B & B fits well into the setting. The outdoor fire was quaint - the staff, very friendly. Breakfast was good but rather expensive. Our room need repairs --- soaked paster outside of the shower was crumbling, furniture (dresser drawers) was rickety in need of some TLC - sofa had stains - the "fence" which separated our outdoor area from the other rooms was falling down. We most certainly couldn't have left either dog unattended in our private area. The irrigation hoses sprayed water onto the seating area and on the dirt (which made mud because they didn't have anything planted there). The location was good but I doubt we stay here again - just not worth the money.

Room Tip: Sometimes I wonder if the people associated with the hotels, B & Bs, etc are going on here to bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
So sorry you were not happy with a few things. Just as an FYI, it snowed the day before arrival, so the patio and dirt were wet. So sorry for the mud. We don't plant until May when the weather permits. Also, the plaster is old looking on purpose for an authentic look. We certainly hope you will come again when the weather is warmer in Sedona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We had a great time at this hotel... very clean, unique pet friendly hotel. The staff was so accomodating to both us and our pets. Our room (#5) had a private enclosed patio which made nightime potty breaks a breeze. The location was perfect... just a few steps from Tlaquepaque (shopping and pet friendly restaurants). We will definately return in the future!

Room Tip: We loved the suite-like floorplan of room #5. The bathroom was fantastic and the private patio was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Thank you for the review! We so hope you and your pets return! El Portal Sedona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

What a fabulous place. Totally hip and cool, very laid back...just yummy. Our room even had its own little backyard/courtyard which our dogs loved. The outdoor fireplace lit every night, with a glass of vino in hand, in energy filled Sedona - life doesn't get much better!

Room Tip: Get a room with your own fireplace, and a little courtyard, if you have pups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Thank you for the review! We hope you and your "pups" return soon! El Portal Sedona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

El Portal Luxury Inn will be the best hotel you ever stay in. When we first got there, we were welcomed and showed to our room. The owner, Steve, is very helpful and they have just about everything there. The breakfast is excellent. My mom had El Portal Omelet twice in a row. She says it's better than Red's (in Salem, MA)! We stayed in room # 12. I think it is the only suite in the hotel. It was a beautiful room. The bathroom has a steam shower and the water is warm. They have movies on the 2nd floor that you can take to your room and watch whenever you want. We stayed there for two nights, but we liked it so much that we asked Steve if we could stay until Friday; to which Steve said that it was booked on Wednesday, but he said we could stay on Thursday until Saturday. We left and came back on Thursday. There was a slight misunderstanding about us coming back, but it was all cleared up. We didn't stay in the same room, but our new room (# 3) was just as beautiful. Our shower wasn't a steamed one, though. That was sad. The staff and Steve were still as kind as they were before and treated us well. Steve and his wife, Conney have three dogs. My favorite was Boomer. Boomer goes to the hotel with them. He is a playful dog and very sweet. I would recommend this hotel, because it is the perfect hotel for relaxing and meeting new people.

Room Tip: Room #12 is a beautiful suite. Room #3 is beautiful as well. Very nice and dark. Peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Awww, thank you for the wonderful review. We hope you and your Mom return! El Portal Sedona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Portal Sedona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Sedona Hotel

Address: 95 Portal Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Portal Sedona Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA 4-Diamond Rated Hotel in the heart of Sedona! Nowhere else in Sedona will you find a luxury inn or hotel with 18-inch thick adobe walls - walls that provide both quiet and history. It's truly an architectural masterpiece and one of the finest hotels in Sedona. Twelve spacious rooms have been created in accordance with the simplicity and function of turn-of-the-century architecture. El Portal is a luxurious twelve suite, pet friendly Sedona hotel. Each guest suite includes a private entrance, patio, fireplace, whirlpool bath, entertainment center and DVD, WiFi, telephone, and more. Experience the dramatic views, relax in our romantic courtyard, shop the gift shops and galleries of the renowned Tlaquepaque arts and Crafts Village, or hike the red rocks. Guests at this Sedona bed and breakfast have access to uniquely personalized concierge services for the Sedona area. Book a trip to Sedona and stay with us at El Portal Sedona Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, T4B, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your El Portal Sedona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Portal Sedona Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.