We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Sedona's Best Options” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Portal Sedona Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Portal Sedona Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Portal Sedona Hotel
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   95 Portal Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
July Sedona Hotel Special
Ranked #14 of 30 Sedona B&B and Inns
Nyack, New York
1 review
“One of Sedona's Best Options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

For a family that travels a lot, it's great to have accommodations that feels more like home rather than a hotel. Room #12 for a family is the way to go!

Room Tip: Room number 12 for a family is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope you return!
El Portal Sedona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    34
    11
    17
    3
See reviews for
73
194
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

If you want to be treated like a number, have a pool boy bring you a fancy drink with an umbrella, and basically have the same vacation you always do, this is not your place. If you want to be treated like a friend, your four legged fur kid to be treated like a member of the family, and see Sedona like the locals do, this is most definitely your place! We spent 4 nights at El Portal and Steve & Connie were unbelievable hosts.... From long talks around a fire about the history of Sedona to personalized day hikes to a customized trip to the Grand Canyon, we will absolutely return and El Portal is our new fave B & B.......

Room Tip: Stuck my head in while they were cleaning the rooms... Don't think there's a bad room there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Oh, thank you! We enjoyed having you and hope you return. El Portal Sedona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stayed there the beginning of January. We brought 4 dogs two flat coats, a lab, and a golden. Nice room, best to call and reserve a room from the friendly owners. We'll stay there again when we make our second trip to Sedona.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Bring your Retriever's again! We enjoyed having you all :). El Portal Sedona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed in the Governer's Suite with our 2 sons, and dog, breathtaking views from the master suite. Loved the steam shower,and Bain Ultra air bubble tub in the bath! Enjoyed the fireplace in the living area, and lovely antique furniture. This Inn was built by master craftsmen,13 inch plaster walls, solid wood crafted doors. Each room was designed with a special theme, with beautiful arts and crafts furnishings. The lobby was cozy and comfortable, with its warm fireplace, Stickley dining area, and impressive custom chandelier. Location was fantastic, right in Tlaquepaque Plaza. The owners were super nice and took great pride building this inn.

Room Tip: Highly recommend Governors suite for family, master suite had thick solid sliding doors for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
What a nice write-up! Mind if we use this on our Blog and on Facebook? Please come back again when you can! El Portal Sedona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We travel with three small dogs. It is hard to find a place that take dogs, let alone 3 dogs. We found this gem in Sedona. They do not just take dogs put they took our three dogs and there was no charge for them. The hotel is a very comfortable, roomy and well appointed. Steve and the staff were very attentive to our needs and the breakfasts were great. We will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for the great review! Do come back and bring your 3 puppies too! El Portal Sedona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

What a wonderful place! My husband and I took our dogs to Sedona between Christmas and New Years and couldn't have picked a better place. Truly a great find in a fabulous location in Sedona. You couldn't ask for nicer people. The owners of the property, staff and guests really made you feel welcome and at home. Location wise, you couldn't ask for a better spot. Walking distance to shopping and dining (casual and fine dining). This is a really quaint property with unique characteristics in every room and so much personalized detail. We loved it so much, we already booked another stay and are returning in the Spring. If you have well mannered dogs of any size or just want a romantic stay with your sweetie this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Best rooms for larger dogs are rooms 4-7, nice private yards (4 & 7 specifically). Best couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Thanks for the great review! Looking forward to having you back in the Spring.

El Portal Sedona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

The El Portal was recommended by our neighbors and this lovely B&B exceeded our expectations! Steve, Connie and the girls were the nicest most accommodating, warm and friendly hosts you could ever meet. We loved the casual yet elegant settings and our Cisco died and went to dog heaven meeting and playing with Steve and Connie's Boomer and Cooper another vacationing dog. They serve a mean breakfast - fair priced for the quality and amount of food being served, all the salsas and moles are homemade (as are the rest of the menu items). The room we had boasted a nice back patio and run, gas fireplace, whirlpool tub, marble sink and separate shower. The guests mingled over wine in the Great Room in the afternoons and evenings. All of this within walking distance of 40 art galleries, extensive dining choices and more. We plan on making this an annual if not bi-annual trek. Thank you Steve and Connie from the bottom of our hearts!!

Room Tip: Suite number 3 has a king sized bed and a nice back patio plus a fold out couch bed! Cisco took cont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Do make El Portal Sedona an annual affair! So glad you enjoyed us. We enjoyed having you and Cisco too!

El Portal Sedona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Portal Sedona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Sedona Hotel

Address: 95 Portal Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Portal Sedona Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA 4-Diamond Rated Hotel in the heart of Sedona! Nowhere else in Sedona will you find a luxury inn or hotel with 18-inch thick adobe walls - walls that provide both quiet and history. It's truly an architectural masterpiece and one of the finest hotels in Sedona. Twelve spacious rooms have been created in accordance with the simplicity and function of turn-of-the-century architecture. El Portal is a luxurious twelve suite, pet friendly Sedona hotel. Each guest suite includes a private entrance, patio, fireplace, whirlpool bath, entertainment center and DVD, WiFi, telephone, and more. Experience the dramatic views, relax in our romantic courtyard, shop the gift shops and galleries of the renowned Tlaquepaque arts and Crafts Village, or hike the red rocks. Guests at this Sedona bed and breakfast have access to uniquely personalized concierge services for the Sedona area. Book a trip to Sedona and stay with us at El Portal Sedona Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, T4B, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your El Portal Sedona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Portal Sedona Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.