We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Newly Renovated
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
carlsbad, california
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A special place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

right in the middle of downtown Sedona, a hop away to shops/restaurants. This great little (Can I call it a boutique hotel?) is so nice! feels like a bed and breakfast- nice travelers can get together for complimentary wine/snacks in the evening- nice you can come downstairs in the mornings (even in your bathrobe!!) and grab complimentary coffee, tea, hot choco AND a section of newspaper if you want!! they are everywhere and for free!! no coin operated vending machine, what a classy place....Salt Rock kitchen is a foodie heaven....staff wonderful...would always come back here, great views, great pool and grounds, its a great place. oh yes- and free yoga with a great instructor!! sign up quick for this one!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    147
    61
    6
    11
See reviews for
121
242
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Mentor, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The location of this hotel couldn't have been better. We drove in from Flagstaff, and upon locating the hotel we just pulled up to front entrance and car was parked for us. We were able to walk right up to the main street and go to shops, restaurants, etc. so the location was great. The pool looked nice (infinity) but unfortunately too cold in evening to try. They did have a lot of outdoor seating and fire pits going which was nice to sit by. Also the red rocks were right behind hotel so view was fantastic! Rooms were very nice, comfortable and clean. Our only complaint (or disappointment) was the only thing available was coffee and tea in morning, no bagels or muffins etc. We did find a solution - we walked the evening before up the street and grabbed muffins and breads to go with the coffee and stayed in lobby which has a lot of nice seating

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed for 6 nights in this hotel as part of a large tour of Arizona. Sedona was a place we had always wanted to visit, and we were not disappointed in it at all. The town and the trails and the views are excellent.

The hotel itself is in a good situation just off the main street, down a steep hill with great views from the pool, restaurant and garden areas. Unfortunately the room we were allocated (201) has an impressive view of the road leading down to the hotel, and the car park. The room itself was fantastic with everything you could wish for, except the poor view. This is a pity as Sedona is in such a great area. We did enquire at the desk if we could move rooms, and in fairness they did try, but the hotel was fully booked. My only gripe at this was the hotel knew we were staying for 6 days and I would have thought could have reserved one of their better rooms for a long stay client, as opposed to giving them to weekenders.

The garden area and the small pool were very good as was the hot tub. They do put out outdoor games for their guests to play and in the evening light fire pits so you can sit and watch the stars in comfort. In the garden they also host a happy hour with free wine and nibbles. This was very well done, and we are sorry but we don't know her name, but the English woman from Sheffield who was the host on several nights was simply fantastic.

Also fantastic were the valets. These guys literally run up a steep hill to fetch your car, and never seemed to hassle you for tips, which meant that you were more than willing to give them, and perhaps be a bit more generous.

There is a reasonably sized fitness room for use, and some bikes which are available for a free hire. We took advantage of them and have to say they were in very poor condition. OK it is free but simple maintenance should be carried out on them to make them function properly.

The restaurant always looked quite busy but we never used it so cannot comment on the food. We did observe several rooms whose balcony was almost part of the restaurant so we understand that there are several rooms probably in a worse situation than ours.

Wi-Fi was free provided you signed up for their rewards card which we did on arrival.

Would we go back? Probably but we would have to be certain of the room allocated first, and we recommend that when booking you understand exactly where your room will be.

Room Tip: Make sure before hand you know what room you are getting as many of them have a poor outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Amara was amazing! It was the perfect place for a girls trip. The morning yoga classes, free wine hour in the lobby, awesome infinity pool, and spa were all wonderful. The location was also great because you could walk to everything downtown in five minutes. The staff was also welcoming and always willing to help with info on great hikes or tours. Would definitey return for our next girls trip!!!!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Oh Kimpton, how I love your hotels. The Triton in SF in so edgy, the Palomar in San Diego so serene, the Monaco in Denver so cozy. I always look for a Kimpton so it's no surprise I chose the Amara Resort in Sedona for our 40th anniversary celebration. Our room, the Creekside Studio Suite was enormous! King bed was comfortable, plenty of recharging stations and the patio was very spacious with plenty of comfortable seating and a table for 4. The complimentary bottle of wine and chocolate dipped strawberries to celebrate our anniversary was lovely. So would it be so hard to put a towel rack in the bathroom??? The bathroom was so large with a huge jacuzzi tub and nice sized shower. But there is no place to put cosmetics other than a couple of tiny spots. And you have to be a contortionist to reach the toilet paper holder! Maybe my expectations are too high but I am used to getting the finest in product and service from a Kimpton. The staff was fine for the most part but honestly the valet guys were the most professional of anyone. The front desk seemed a little surly and to wait 10 minutes for the waiter to take our lunch orders when there was only one other couple there seemed lacking. I know my husband and I are older than your typical clientele but I think our expectations were not unrealistic.

Room Tip: Room 226, Creekside Studio Suite has an awesome view of the red rocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Although we got off to a rocky (no pun intended) start as our room wasn't ready until after 5:00 pm and we had made a point to get up early so as to land in Phoenix prior to 11:00 am we had a wonderful stay. The front desk clerk "Ryan" went the extra mile by giving us in $40 resort credits and an upgrade to a very nice room with a view. In the meantime, we hiked the vortex by the airport and had lunch/dinner at the airport restaurant (a hidden gem I its own right). I had recently upgraded to Kimtons Karma inner circle; their highest tier based on their matching tier program which I think helped with the room upgrade as we were originally slated to stay in a room with a wonderful view of the parking lot. We are early risers and had the additional benefit of the time change and made full use of the work out room, early coffee and social hours (included) The staff was extremely accommodating and we met some interesting folks when we weren't hiking. We also took a day to see the Grand Canyon since Sedona is less than a 2 hour drive. All in all we had an exceptional stay at a reasonable price. If you go ask about Kimptons discount for first time guests

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool as they all also face the creek and rock formations
See more room tips
Green Features: Very Green' Waste was recycled according to type in separate bins than trash.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The location is great, right by all the little restaurants and shops but a bit of the beaten path so you can feel relaxed. We visited Sedona, Scottsdale and Phoenix and my favorite food was right here at the hotel. The room is just fine. Not extremely impressed but it had everything we needed.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#11 Family Hotel in Sedona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#15 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most neautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to the Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining or the sounds of live music at Hundred Rox, our indoor/outdoor three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.