We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot to like for a boutique hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Welcome Hot Toddies
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
San Francisco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A lot to like for a boutique hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for a Valentine's getaway and arrived to find champagne and chocolates in our room, which was lovely. The hotel is centrally located, small, a true boutique hotel with good amenities. We enjoyed a few meals in the restaurant, which was solid. Our most fun at the restaurant was in the bar watching the SNL special on the large TV. The rooms all look out into a courtyard into other rooms, so they are not particularly private. Some rooms likely have better views. Rooms were large and had nice amenities. The coffee in the morning is a bonus. The spa was lovely, worth taking a little time in the steam sauna and the relaxation room, even if you are not getting a massage. There is another popular resort just up the creek, next door, with a phenomenal brunch and more of the romance factor if you want to crank it up to the max. This hotel seemed to have good value, however, and was very relaxing. The right speed for a quiet getaway. It helps to be a Kimpton member, so join in advance!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view... Maybe second floor? Closer to the stream?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    122
    48
    6
    9
See reviews for
94
210
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

First off, Sedona is an amazing destination. For the entire weekend I was there, I could only say, “Wow.” The people in the town, locals and tourists are so amazingly polite and hospitable.

Now onto the resort. I booked the Amara after reading reviews on Hotels.com and selecting it based upon the amenities, the view and the price. The purpose of the trip was to celebrate my anniversary with my girlfriend and the Amara did not disappoint.

When booking, I had to call the hotel because I had a difficult time understand the room selections (you want to overlook the pool/courtyard). They were amazingly pleasant on the phone and supremely helpful. Right away, I had a great experience and I still had weeks to go before I stayed there.

Some people say it’s tough to find, but if you do your diligence and map it out, understand how the town works, it’s not that tough to find. The road off of 89A is marked with their hotel sign and the road is even named Amara Road.

We were greeted by the valet who was one of the better valets I’ve had experiences with, his name was Orlando and he was helpful the entire weekend. Valet is included in the resort fee, but don’t forget to tip every time you want your car, it’s just polite.

We entered the resort to check in and the front desk staff knew enough to wish us a Happy Anniversary (because I mentioned it in the comments when booking). It was a great way to kick off the weekend.

The resort is smaller than you think, but that’s not a bad thing at all. You get to know the staff pretty quickly and you get to meet others who are staying there as well (all were very nice and open to talking). The heated pool is a little colder than you think, but the hot tub makes up for it.

Entering the room, we were greeted with a bottle of wine and chocolate-covered strawberries. I didn’t ask for those, they were a present from the resort and they were very welcome. Also, we had a handwritten note wishing us a happy anniversary. You don’t find things like that anymore.

The room walls are a bit thin and proximity to the courtyard is pretty close, but since you go out hiking all the time and out for dinner, you don’t really notice.

The view is spectacular as is the walk down by the creek. Check out the restaurant for brunch, but I recommend venturing out for dinner.

Speaking of which, one thing to keep in mind about Sedona, everything closes in that town around 9pm, including nightlife - so plan accordingly.

We will definitely be back and I will recommend this place to all my friends!

Room Tip: Face the Courtyard - Second Story
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was a great place, right in the middle of town. The property has a view of Snoopy Rock (red rocks) and is close to great hiking trails, vortex locations, jeep tour companies, restaurants and stores. It is a relatively small resort, which is what we wanted. Our room was on the second floor, and that provided great views. Friendly staff, nice pool when it was not too hot to be outside, very clean, recently renovated, and overall a positive place that I would return to. And, as an added bonus, there was a stream through the rear of the property covered by a canopy of trees.

Room Tip: Rooms further from the lobby and on upper floor have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Michael L
Location, location, location…It’s tough to beat… Glad you enjoyed everything the Amara had to offer especially the intimate feel of the property…The creek is roaring after the snow in Flagstaff and the rain here the past few days… We can’t wait to welcome you back…Thanks for taking the time to share your experience.

Warm regards,
Patrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I love this resort! This is the only place I want to stay when we visit Sedona. Staff is amazing and it the location is awesome. We've used the shuttle service to get around several times (within a mile of the resort) and it's been great. We love to sit out on the patio and listen to the musician on a Sat night. Top rate all the way! :) You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We always stay on the lower level. They all have sliding door to an open patio area. On a weekend n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Greetings Mobile Roper,
You just made my week! I love that you love Amara and that you felt spoiled…that is what we are aiming for. The location is amazing and the views are incredible as well. We look forward to your next visit to Sedona.
Warm regards,
Patrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just off main street and along Oak Creek, this resort is close to downtown shops, galleries and restaurants yet back from the street and quiet ... ideal! Nice outdoor eating, big comfy lounge chairs everywhere, an infinity pool, a hot tub and a games area in their big outdoor courtyard ... something for everyone there. The happy hour wine tasting, of course, was a nice touch! For a little solitude, a beautiful walkway down Oak Creek is out behind the property.

The service was exceptional too. The valets, the front desk staff, the room service ... everything was top notch! And of course Kimpton does a great job of subtly integrating dogs into the equation for those traveling with their four legged friends. We haven't had a bad Kimpton experience yet and with the beauty that Sedona has to offer, this was maybe our best stay ever!

More reviews on my blog at bloganogan.com

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Greetings Doug R,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our location is ideal, from the proximity to the restaurant and shops to the views of snoopy rock, and don’t forget the creek running though our backyard. I am thrilled you felt at home and well taken care of by the team. I love that you are a Kimpton fan and brought your four legged friends with you on this visit. It’s always important they feel the love as well. “Best stay ever?” ……That is certainly high praise and we appreciate the recognition and accolades.
Warm regards,
Patrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a spectacular experience there. We were there for our anniversary and they took such great care of us. Wonderful views, and the location on Oak Creek was so peaceful. All the employees, from concierge to front desk to valets were so friendly and professional.
Special thanks to Chrysta! We had champagne, chocolate dipped strawberries and an upgraded suite for our 40th anniversary and she made our time there truly unforgettable!
The rooms are large and the decor is fresh and modern. All the seating in lobby, over the beautiful grounds and in the rooms is very comfortable. Mattresses, pillows and linens were very high quality. When you walk in there is a beautiful, very light floral fragrance that exemplifies the entire experience for us, delicious!
The grounds are so beautiful, our room was off the creek, spectacular rock views and water sounds.
Every question we had about the area and hikes, they had info on. We cannot say enough about how welcome and special we felt for our 2 night and 3 day stay. We will be back and highly recommend them.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Greetings RobertVander,
Thank you for spending such a special occasion with us. 40 years that is certainly something to celebrate and glad the team took it upon themselves to recognize it and get the celebration started. Crysta and the entire team appreciate the recognition and are thrilled that this stay was unforgettable. We hope you wait too long to come back for another memorable experience.
Warm regards,
Patrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From arrival to departure, the knowledgable & friendly staff went out of their way to make our stay one of the best ever @ any hotel. Rooms were clean & spacious, well stocked with anything we could have wanted or needed. The wine hour/tasting every evening by the pool & fire pits was a great & relaxing time to meet & talk with other guest. Can't wait to return.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Martha1947,
”……Best stay ever” We are blushing a bit but couldn’t be happier that your stay was so incredible. The team here takes great pride in what they do and where they do it. Thank you for the recognition. We can’t wait either until your next visit.

Warm regards,
Patrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#9 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#11 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most neautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to the Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining or the sounds of live music at Hundred Rox, our indoor/outdoor three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.