We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service makes the difference” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% off
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Lafayette, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service makes the difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I spent one night here on a driving vacation throughout the Southwest. The room, bed, facilities, etc. were all nice enough -- I'd give it four stars, consistent with most other Kimpton locations. The fifth star is for the great service we got, specifically from the shuttle drivers. We wanted to go for a short hike on some nearby trails; we got a lift from the shuttle driver, who took us straight to the trailhead, described the area, made some recommendations about specific trails to include in our loop, and gave us some good ideas for dinner afterward. After our (beautiful) hike, we called back to Amara and a different shuttle driver came and got us, and took us to the recommended restaurant for dinner. Quick, polite, friendly, informative, just really super helpful -- and hence the fifth star!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    106
    40
    5
    8
See reviews for
79
160
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johnson Creek, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our final day-all my daughter's purchases were stolen from our room. Very nice clothing and pottery were taken. These things were carefully chosen for her small children back home and she was heartbroken. Hotel management said they'd file a claim. But I have a feeling I won't hear from them and I'll have to call them before they'll call me. Unfortunately this left us with a sour taste for the hotel. Frankly, our feeling was that they weren't too concerned that someone had stolen items from our room in our absence. Oh to add insult to injury - they handed me a bill for resort fees at checkout!

Room Tip: one that's safe from thieves
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I spent two nights at the Amara Resort recently. We are loyalty In Touch members so are familiar with the Kimpton brand. In Sedona for a conference and a Federal gov't employee I asked for any government discount available and no one seemed to be aware of any which is a first for us staying at a Kimpton Hotel. Paid full price and the resort fee is up there for what you get. I think we were fortunate not to stay the two nights with a wedding reception or yards of kids creating fun havoc. All quiet on the western front, but I could see it easily could be otherwise. Not handicap friendly--the wings are all connected together a little haphazardly. Balcony was shallow and overlooked the neighboring condo complex. Quiet and lucky neighbor didn't sit out in his same time otherwise we'd be playing rock, paper, scissors. Could hear the gently roll of Oak Creek from the balcony seats which was nice. Best balcony views are facing the inside courtyard. Yes, you deal with pool noise which there was none when we visited, however seeing the red rock formations of Snoopy and Woodstock makes its worthwhile. We loved the Happy Wine Hour from 5-6 PM each day, even weekends. Good wine and a few appetizers, the comfortable Adirondack chairs made for perfect company with Snoopy and Woodstock. Beds were comfortable. I didn't like we had to call down for ice every time we needed it. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. It did take longer than normal for the reservations and check out. Valets were very friendly and speedy. The driveway down into the resort is very steep--get those brakes checked. The walk up I needed to stop only once for CPR from my wife. Visited the restaurant only for one breakfast and food and service both very good. Best rooms 2nd floor at the ends of each wing nearest the Creek. Room fragrance was pleasant. Rooms were clean. Good size closet for storage items.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I choose this hotel because I have loved the Kimpton brand in the past. It was soon apparent that this was a "converted" Kimpton. The property is beautiful and the service is unreliable for the hotel. The restaurant, on the other hand, is excellent - unique menu, friendly servers and great service. The courtyard is spectacular with beautiful views and fire pits at night. I loved that atmosphere.

Do not rely on the staff to follow through on what they say.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor of the main building are on the access road and are not "private"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This resort is gorgeous. The best part about it for us, however, was how dog friendly they are. My girlfriend and I were traveling cross country with our two large greyhounds. Most hotels don't allow pets, which makes long trips a real challenge for us. The Amara Resort, however, prides itself in how it treats the pets of its guests. We (all 4 of us) were treated very well. The food was delicious. The views were stunning. All in all, a wonderful place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor, on the south side, are the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a beautiful hotel the staff are very friendly help in every way they can,those valet guys run there buts off to do what they can to help and get your car or get the shuttle to take you up town

Room Tip: A room on the patio I think is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first time in Sedona and decided on the Amara because of its location. The hotel is in the central part of town and is walkable to bars, restaurants and shopping. The property overlooks Oak Creek and the surreal vistas of the red rock mountains.

We chose a room with a creek view and were pleasantly surprised that we had a very large suite upon check-in. We had a balcony that faced the creek and every morning we were greeted by quacking ducks and hummingbirds.

The décor was modern, tasteful and had an Arizona vibe that made you feel a sense of place that, if done poorly, would seem cheesy. At the Amara, the feel is sleek and comfortable.

The bathroom was wonderful, with a full spa-tub. We liked the marble accents in the bathroom, which gave it a really luxurious feel, without the luxurious price.

Our room came with a television, couch and desk in the suite area. There was a mini-bar, but I would have preferred an empty refrigerator so I could stock my own water, beer, snacks, etc. You can get free Wi-Fi if you have a Kimpton Karma membership, which is free to join.

The pool area is wonderful. It overlooks the red rock mountain and Oak creek and only seats 25-30 people, which keeps the craziness to a minimum. If you plan on using the pool, arrive early to ensure a good spot. We arrived at 9:30 one morning and took the last spot!

The restaurant had the best menu in all of Sedona. We had several meals there and would highly recommend checking it out for breakfast, lunch or dinner. We never went to the bar, but it seemed nice and the selections were good.

This is a great resort for a long-weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Creek view is very nice & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#14 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most neautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to the Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining or the sounds of live music at Hundred Rox, our indoor/outdoor three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.