We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel with a View and Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% off
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel with a View and Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We planned a last minute roadtrip from Scottsdale to Sedona. I found Amara online and it looked really nice! And let me tell you, it was perfect! The rooms aren't huge and the balconies aren't private, but the chic infinity pool with a view of the redrock, the firepits, yellow accents, water features and friendly staff made us feel like we were at a very upscale boutique hotel! I would definitely recommend! Romantic music on the patio in the evening was romantic! Then breakfast on the patio in the morning was wonderful....It was a homerun for us! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    96
    40
    5
    6
See reviews for
75
149
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

From the minute we arrived and were met by the super friendly valets (valet parking is included in the room) we felt pampered and loved. Our group took advantage of the nightly happy hour as did many of the hotel guests. The facilities were beautiful, quiet and serene. We loved the pool and open spaces. The spa faclities were clean and relaxing. I felt younger after my anti-aging facial and my daughter & niece both loved their mother of pearl body treatments. Amara offers a lovely setting in uptown Sedona but due to it’s location down the hill, there was no city noise. Amara offered a free shuttle within a mile of the facilities. Great for dinners out and for those that don’t want to walk the very short hill to the uptown Sedona. Overall, perfection.

Room Tip: Our adjoining rooms were located on the backside of the hotel and were very quiet and cool. I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This beautiful property is well located in uptown Sedona. An efficient greeting by the valet had our car taken care of and the friendly front desk had our key in our hand in no time at all. Our room was very comfortable with contemporary decor. We were at the backside of the hotel but still had view of some red rock from our small balcony.
The pool area is absolutely gorgeous with an infinity pool looking over the river and up into the red rock. Comfortable lounges, beds and cabanas are available.
The evening cocktail hour offers complementary wine, specialty cocktail or a non alcoholic drink to sip on while watching the sun set over the red rocks. The lawn area has comfy seating and a fun touch is the giant Jenga that is set up in the middle of the lawn area for people to go and try their luck at! All this accompanied by quiet, live guitar.
We didn't dine at the Hotel restaurant but were advised that reservations were recommended.
In the morning we enjoyed the complementary selection of newspapers and coffee available in the lobby. Before you book, join their Club Karma to get free Wi-Fi during your stay

I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north bergen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

this resort was perfect in every way! the staff is absolutely amazing, very friendly and accomodating. They upgraded our room for free and welcomed us with a bottle of wine. The location is great, within steps to everything and the grounds are beautiful.
I would highly recommend this resort to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was there for a week and was taken care of very well by staff and if had any issues were taken care of immediately and if needed shuttle anytime during the day to go anywhere in town were taken care of.

Room Tip: Room facing toward pool or river.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are friendly in every way from the linens in the rooms to the grounds, the exterior and interior of building.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The view of the mountain changing colors all day from the fresh water pool and lawn chairs in the green areas was refreshing and romantic. Happy hour each evening with very good wine enhanced the relaxing atmosphere. A new chef and menu made dining a good experience. Nice rooms, pleasant staff. A very enjoyable 3 days.

Room Tip: We were on wing which was quiet and private. Call hotel directly for reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter and I were travelling cross-country from Cape Cod Mass to LA, and the only place my daughter wanted to go to was Sedona and after 1 night stays at hotels and getting up early each morning to continue the trek with a dog and a Uhaul trailer, we were both looking forward to spending two nights somewhere.....the ride there was scary - AVOID Rte 89A at all costs (especially if you have a Uhaul trailer!). But once we got to Sedona, the welcome from the bellmen couldn't have been better....and they managed to find a spot for the car and trailer, and continued to be outgoing and friendly and helpful during out entire stay! I remember the names of Orlando and Regan but the other guys were just as wonderful! We took advantage of the Amara Spa and had a massage and reflexology session - staff there were also delightful!
Christine (?) welcomed us when we arrived and she presented herself with professionalism and obviously "knew her stuff". Wish I could say the same for the rest of the front desk ladies....They were a bit snobby or forgetful! When I called for Ice, I waited 20 minutes and then walked to the front desk....Wonderful Orlando saw me and said "Do you want ice?" I looked at the gal a the front desk .....but she kept her head down. When I stopped at the front desk the second night we were there, I asked the front desk young lady to make us a reservation at a restaurant.....we got there and there was no reservation for us.....so the ladies need to take some lessons from Christine!!!!
The restaurant was closed the week we were there but they offered a complimentary continental breakfast. My daughter asked the man working there (I WISH I remembered his name!) if they had soy milk...he said he would check, but after waiting a while, we thought he forgot...but lo and behold, didn't he come out with a little pitcher of soy milk and the next day it was on the buffet alongside the half and half and milk! KUDOS for THAT wonderful customer service!!!!!! And thanks for the nice man that works there that came through with it!
Overall, a wonderful experience - they even had a dog bed and dog food bowls delivered to our room as we were getting settled in! I have stayed at the Kimpton in NYC and because of that wonderful experience, we chose the Amara - will continue to stay at Kimpton's whenever we travel and you are there! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND the Amara!!!!

Room Tip: We had a dog, so they put us in a great room with a grassy area, right off our room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#13 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most neautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to the Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining or the sounds of live music at Hundred Rox, our indoor/outdoor three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;