We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“transit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% off
Ranked #16 of 46 hotels in Sedona
Nieuw-Vennep, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“transit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

After a long journey that began in LA via SFO and many natural parks we have chosen this hotel to relax. Well that works out.It is a beautifully situated hotel with friendly service. the Spa is a bit expensive but we have holidays and to relax so we make use of it. delicious.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    83
    35
    5
    6
See reviews for
65
129
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell Junction
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Newly renovated, immediate sense of comfort. The staff could not have been nicer and the valets were always at your disposal with smiles on their faces. The outside patio, with fire pits, comfy chairs and couches, along with a great margarita or glass of wine is the perfect way to end the day. The view of the Red Rocks is spectacular. The rooms were comfortably large with a real southwestern flair. The Amara met and exceeded all of my expectations. I'll certainly be going back!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Amara stands out as an extremely well-run hotel. The staff is very professional while being friendly and accommodating. The hotel offers free valet parking as well as a shuttle to downtown Sedona. Get to know the valets, they drive the shuttle and are a great source of local information.

I clicked "Trendy"...it is meant to be a positive statement. The hotel is well designed and the style is a blend of mid century and southwestern styles.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Went there for my birthday weekend- as we love Sedona and we have a cat and this was a pet-friendly hotel. As well as chosen the hotel for its the location in the creek, which I knew would be great and quiet and surrounded by red rocks.
It is one of those places in hospitality where kids run the operations and have no clue what hospitality is about.
For example, arriving on my birthday and announcing it to reception and staff, there was not a hint of care.
In contrast in the Ritz or Four Seasons, there was a beautiful bunch of flowers, a personalised card or a chocolate cake delivered to our room. Oh well...
To top it all off, on the Sunday morning the management decided to send the gardener out with a chainsaw to literally cut 10 leaves off the hedges off our back patio.
That's exactly how I love to spend a birthday relaxing weekend!
Not to mention, no organic food AT ALL in one of the highest rated hotels and chlorine swimming pool and jacuzzi. There are so many other ways of keeping the pathogens low in water, it is 2014 and they still don't know. Obviously, management needs a trip to the good old SPA Capital of the World, Budapest and take exploring trips to their unbelievable medicinal spas where the last thing on their minds is to taint the wonderful healing hot springs with chlorine. And funny enough the thousands visiting and bathing every day miraculously HEAL and not get dead from the waters.
Stop ruining all that is good- and start learning what it takes to be in the hospitality industry!
(Ps- valet boys were superb and we loved how they were treating the animals!)

Room Tip: If you have a pet go for ground floor patio rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

a girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a long girls weekend in Sedona, and we loved it. The hotel is tucked away behind the uptown shops of sedona, so really conveniently located, but still quiet, with great views of the red rocks, pool was nice, clean, and peaceful, valet and use of the serenity room in the spa is included in the price of the hotel, as well as shuttle to wherever, pink Jeep Tours will also pick you up from this hotel, and we used all those services daily. Initially we got a room with a tiny balcony that can't fit chairs, so we asked for a different room (I think there are only 2 of these rooms tucked in the corners of the hotel) and they moved us immeidately to a room with a balcony that we can sit and relax on. also free bottled water right by the valets (ask for it!) It's also located right next door, and therefore very short walking distance, to L'auberge hotel, which has a delicious breakfast, and sunday brunch.

I also used the spa 2 days in a row, very relaxing serenity room(again included in resort fees, so if your flight leaves late, just check out and hang here!), robes, lemon water, trail mix and fruit, clean showers, steam room, and I got 2 massages, both extremely relaxing. Highly recommend this place and would stay here again, especially with the proximity to everything! also highly recommend the hotel, Enchantment. upscale, gorgeous views, great restaurants and pool, but just a little bit off the beaten path, so not as convenient to uptown Sedona. better for "getting away"

I left a book in the room after check out and the front desk person ran up there and brought it to me. Shortly after check out I hung out in the spa, serenity room and massage, and the front desk person at the spa told us of a wonderful restaurant for dinner before we caught our flight home. after we left, we went to the restaurant, and she called me to tell me I left stuff in my locker and she would leave it with the concierge, and I was able to return and pick up. they were just so nice, and thoughtful, and accomodating.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is a quiet little gem in Sedona. It's tucked down in a canyon with great views. Sat in an Adirondack chair or on our balcony each night to watch the light on the rocks and the moon rise overlooking the infinity pool (which is awesome). Coffee every morning, wine reception at night and VERY prompt and attentive service from valet to front desk to restaurant. No complaints and will stay here again with no reservations. Great spot for families, couples or just a quick getaway.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a courtyard room. The rooms on the outside overlook privacy walls. The vi...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very green focused with recycling cans in rooms and messages about towels.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked here last minute. Beautiful property, great service, live music in the bar. Would definitely stay here again. Even got upgraded to a view of the creek and the red rocks. Drinks in the bar are well poured. Free happy hour at 5. Love kimpton hotels.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#14 Family Hotel in Sedona
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most neautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to the Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining or the sounds of live music at Hundred Rox, our indoor/outdoor three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.