We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay with a great view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Break in Sedona
Ranked #17 of 46 hotels in Sedona
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent stay with a great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Amara Resort this past weekend and simply loved our stay. Our room was spacious and well appointed which opened onto the courtyard. The grounds are immaculately maintained! We loved the fact the the property is on the creek and the courtyard/pool area has an amazing view of the Sedona red hills.
If that wasn't enough the service was impeccable. Every staff member we encountered was genuinely interested in doing whatever they could to make our stay wonderful. We were so impressed with the friendly reception we received at the front desk. We had lunch on the patio which was excellent! As, we're the cocktails. Brent the food manager works very hard at servicing the guests as do the wonderful people up front and the housekeeping staff.
We simply loved our stay and hated it leave. It was outer first experience with a Kimpton hotel, we will definitely be looking to stay at the amaranth again and their other properties if possible!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    65
    26
    3
    6
See reviews for
51
103
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This is my second stay. And Wow what a difference. Management has gone out of its way to make this a wonderful place to stay. They make you feel like you are family. Warm atmosphere. Great location. Loved it

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is an older property, but has been updated. I would not refer to this as a spa property.
The spa is adjacent to the property. I did not notice many guest using the spa.

There were many families at the pool. I understand that people return year after year,
We did not score a lawn chair once at the pool. They present a spa atmosphere with sparse chairs and cabanas.... They need 25 plus more chairs....for families and guests.
.
The location is good. You do have to hike a hill to get into the main drag. The hotel will also take you a short distance.

The staff was great... Especially the valets. Very friendly....nice evening reception,

Great sandwich shop behind the main street. They are open until 2pm. Natural, healthy,and huge!!!

We enjoyed live music at the Hilton. The Verde train ride and Loved dinner at the local airport!

The hike on Bell Rock was very enjoyable...easy! Parking was a problem so arrive early.

I would love ti hike more....so many options!!'

Sedona is very beautiful...

Room Tip: We did not have a room with out door seating....you need a room with a deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Woods, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I only had time to stay one night but it was the most enjoyable 24 hours. The location is perfect as the resort and pool has views of the red rock landscape yet you are very close to all the shopping and restaurants of Sedona. We enjoyed relaxing at the cabanas and poolside drinks once we had checked into our room. After failing to get dinner reservations elsewhere we opted to eat at the hotel . . this was a wonderful treat. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner on the patio with heated lanterns and great attentive wait staff. After a great night sleep on very comfortable mattresses, we took advantage of a wonderful yoga class at the spa. It was fantastic and a great start to our day. I'm definitely returning to this hotel and will plan to stay much longer next time! :)

Room Tip: Enjoyed our 2nd floor balcony but the truth is we didn't spend much time in our room as the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great location, extremely guest focussed staff... They spoil you. Loved the evening views while lounging in the heated pool and the hot tub - cabanas offered on first come first serve basis. We only did breakfast ( were out hiking in sedona rest of the day) and it was top notch. Loved their complimentary wine idea and included valet service. All in all, a great experience and would highly recommend to other families.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Amara is a gem hidden in uptown Sedona. The location is fantastic and convenient to everything. It is surrounded by shops and restaurants all within walking distance. They also have a complimentary shuttle that will take you and from any location within 1 mile.

Aside from the wonderful things Kimpton usually offers such as Complimentary Wine Hour in the evening and morning Coffee and Tea, we were greeted by a spa employee offering 10 minute chair massages. He was excellent.

We did not get a chance to participate in morning yoga, though the ladies coming from the class looked both exhilarated and relaxed at the same time.

The grounds of the resort are lovely. There is a creek hidden 2 minutes on a walking path from the hotel. A compact but beautiful heated salt water pool surrounded by lounge chair and cabanas. Plenty of outside patio space for Hundred Rox, an EXCELLENT restaurant we had several breakfasts, lunches, and dinners. The only thing we had an issue with was the restaurant charging us another guest's bill, which they removed when they discovered they could not find the receipts. This took us extra time at check-out for them to resolve.

The rooms were updated but could have used a little help. My room had ripped curtains, the bathroom vent fan sounded like a motorcycle, and noise was easily heard between rooms. Housekeeping was the only service I would not have called excellent, as they would forget to bring back clean glasses, shampoo, conditioner, etc.

We would like to especially thank Mattea who was cheerful and smart. She was exceedingly helpful and able to identify problems and solutions quickly. She also recognized me from a phone call the previous day. She reminded me of service I commonly receive at the Four Seasons.

Crysta checked us in and though we were the only guests checking in at the time. While the other ladies are the front desk were busy chatting and avoiding contact with us, Crysta cheerfully greeted us and helped us quickly.

Emilie at Hundred Rox was exceptionally gracious and accommodating.
Reagan was amazing as well. He went out of his way to ensure that a lost pendant was returned to my friend. He also drive us up a block because we didn't know where we were going. Though it was embarrassing to us, the service he offered reminded me of the Four Seasons as well.

The two ladies I was traveling with had never experienced a Kimpton hotel, but after this experience, they both swore to try Kimpton's more regularly.

Thank you all for the wonderful experience!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are broken up with stairs, so if you have issues with stairs, I would men...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved it. The entire staff, from the front desk to the spa personnel to the valet was exceptional. Free wine hour at 5pm to 6pm...and they love to pour. The first night we sat next to the outdoor patio fire pit with our wine, admiring the scenery, to include the awesome infinity pool and hot tub. We had dinner in the resort restaurant our first of the two night stay. Excellent food and service but pricey.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the creek and ask for a coffee pot delivered to your room otherwise you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona
Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#14 Family Hotel in Sedona
#17 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most neautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to the Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining or the sounds of live music at Hundred Rox, our indoor/outdoor three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Amex, Tingo, Otel, Venere, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.