We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Sedona
Hawaii
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I were only going to be in Sedona for a quick two-night stay, and, having never been to the area before, we weren't quite sure where to stay. After looking into several places, we decided to give Amara Resort a try, and the reviews we read on TripAdvisor were pretty good, so we booked it. The picture on their website was so pretty, and the reality did not disappoint. As soon as we stepped out into the terrace, outside the restaurant, our breath was just taken away by the view in front of us -- of the Snoopy Rock formation. We arrived in the afternoon, and the light was striking the rocks so beautifully. We were actually going to sit down and order food, but we had to start taking pictures to capture that gorgeous, close-up view. One of the pictures will grace our holiday greeting card. The grounds of the hotel are really nice. We paid a little extra for a creek-side room, but I think even having a room facing the pool/courtyard area would have been just fine. The property is not enormous, but the landscaping is great and the area near the terrace is very modern and sleek. A great place to sit and sip the free wine samples that are handed out in the early evening. There's also a nice infinity pool, which fits in so nicely with the area. The rooms are not super fancy, but they are clean and functional. I guess, having admired the terrace and pool area so much, I had a higher expectation for the room. We had a little patio, which faced the creek, so it was nice to sit out there in the early morning to read a book and inhale the fresh air. The on-site restaurant is delicious. The food was of great quality. We were only in Sedona for a short-time, so we didn't get an opportunity to explore too much near our hotel, but, a short, steep stroll up the hill from the hotel (totally do-able if you are good with walking), you'll find stores and restaurants. Most of the stores closed around 8 pm when we were there. The Amara Resort seems to be right in the heart of the activity, should you desire it, but, being down a hill away from the street, ensures the privacy and charm of being in this beautiful area is retained. Another neat stroll is to the adjacent L'Auberge hotel. We found chairs along the creek that we sat at and enjoyed watching the ducks. The Amara Resort was a great choice for us -- we were pleased with the location, the ambiance of the hotel and area, and the awesome views that this hotel enjoys. It's a gem!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Aloha056,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that one of the pictures will be your Christmas card. Thats pretty cool. We think we have a little piece of heaven here. I will share your kind words with the team. We hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. -We will be renovating our guest rooms next summer (the end of May and June).
Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    138
    61
    6
    11
See reviews for
117
233
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Guilford, CT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I recommended that my son and his girlfriend stay here as I frequently use Kimpton. Boy was THAT a mistake. First, it was raining and cold and their hot air balloon ride and horseback riding were cancelled due to rain. But rain one can understand. Not having a working pool or jacuzzi when there is not much else to do and you're in a SPA, is not something one can understand -- especially when you call the hotel, which I did, and ask what it would be if I paid for them to stay for an extra night so they could recoup some of their lost days due to rain and they offer to charge me TEN DOLLARS MORE than they purchased through expedia and certainly not when you get a very rude clerk on the phone who says, 'and the pool is likely not to be fixed tomorrow either.' I explained that the clerk was not being helpful and no I was not satisfied. I told the same clerk I can get a room at the resort MUCH cheaper than what she just quoted. She told me to go ahead and book that then. Sorry Amara. Sorry Kimpton. There is no excuse for rudeness of your staff. Facilities not working with not an I'm sorry, let alone even a damn voucher for a drink in the lounge in return? Really? Even when I explained that I recommended the hotel to my son for his very first vacation ever and he's dropping well over $200 a night there? You know what, Amara, you just lost a customer in him that you could have had for life. There are lots of great hotels with nice settings in Sedona and nicer staffs who understand the value of good customer service. Forget this one. I am very disappointed in Kimpton which I usually use for both business and personal travel. But, no more.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am sorry the weather put a damper on your son’s experience as well as the lack of assistance from the team here. The hot tub and pool heaters going down were certainly disappointing to all our guests. The inclement weather certainly did significant damage to the heaters resulting in brand new heaters having to be shipped in. It did take longer than anticipated but we did make arrangements for our guests to be shuttled to our neighbors next door to still enjoy a pool and hot tub. Thank you very much to our very kind neighbors for helping us out.

Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed 2nights, with the rest and relaxation packaged, so had $200
spa credt, where we had fantastic massages, room was large, nice view over the patio and could see snoopy rock. Join the Kimpton in touch program if you are going to stay there, free wifi, and $10 credit at the bar or the mini bar.
Front desk people were helpful, valet staff very quick bringing the car around. Would stay here again if in Sedona. Location is right in the middle of the main town are?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Tn1933,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to relax/pamper yourself in our Spa. The spa team is amazing!!!
We think we have a little piece of heaven here. I will share your kind words with the team. We hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This resort really goes out of it's way to make your stay enjoyable. It's located in town, but they do have a shuttle which will take you & pick you up in town. Our room was decorated with the southwest touch. They had a wine reception nightly and we had breakfast there which was good and reasonably priced. They've also got the spa there, but didn't have time to use it. We loved sitting by the firepits at night, but the best was the fantastic view of the red rocks.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here when we visited 2 years ago in fall. It was a family trip with my in-laws, and they loved it too! I think this place suites all ages and the fact that they have breakfast included made it easier for us. Sedona itself is such a beautiful place to be, but at this price range, no other hotel beats it!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Chia2005,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am ecstatic to hear the entire family had a great time. Sedona is certainly a magical place and makes you want to find a reason to come back. We just hope you don’t wait as along to return next time

Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in July and loved it. The view is amazing - get a room overlooking the pool. The staff was the best. We arrived late after some travel delays and they gave us a great room and a welcome cocktail. You can walk down to the creek that runs through Sedona. There was a wedding near the creek the weekend we were there.

Walk up the hill and you are in the middle of all Sedona shopping and entertainment. We are definitely planning another trip.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool area and the mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a corner room just overlooking the mountains and the river, through the branches of the huge tree : superb. The room was very quiet and the service good. everything very simple. The equipment in the room is basic but fitted our needs. The valet parking was excellent and the concierge very helpful. Great stay for exploring the vortex and the Sedona fantastic natural wonders and the mysterious Vortex effects.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back of the hotel and as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#11 Family Hotel in Sedona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#14 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most neautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to the Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining or the sounds of live music at Hundred Rox, our indoor/outdoor three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.