We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beutiful resort centally located in Uptown Sedona” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Welcome Hot Toddies
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beutiful resort centally located in Uptown Sedona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We spent 4 great nights here, October 28th to November 1st.

Service: Wonderful. Staff from housecleaning to concierge were attentive, friendly, helpful and welcoming. Only a couple of small issues: we added an extra night, and front desk had to reactivate our keys--not a huge deal, but front desk young woman could have offered an apology with her explanation. Same young woman seemed less polished/professional when answering other questions. Also, nobody from valet to concierge could direct us to the best nachos in town, which were, by the way, at their own restaurant and bar. The nachos are ONLY on the bar menu, but you can order from main restaurant. Nachos are SHRIMP, big ones, avocado, and a very tasty mango sauce. THIS SECRET SHOULD BE OUT!

Rooms: First, somebody told my husband the jetted tubs were only available on the ground floor. NOT TRUE. We changed rooms after the first night; our room was on the ground floor and we could hear everything from upstairs...foot steps, doors and drawers opening and closing...you get the picture. Also, we were very near a fire pit and could hear the people laughing and talking outside. I used ear plugs and slept well, but asked to be moved. The next room was facing Oak Creek. VERY quiet and peaceful WITH a jetted tub. The peace and quiet lasted until a wedding party checked in next to us. Back to ear plugs. Not sure if the noise issues were just dumb luck or if the property could use better insulation between rooms, but be prepared. Not enough to lose sleep, just enough to need earplugs!

The rooms had plenty of closet and drawer space, felt very open with room to spread out, and had a great mini bar with things you may have forgotten at home (razor, toothbrush, plus sweets, juice, water, etc.) Internet is free if you are part of the rewards program. There is a business lobby where you can print off boarding passes if you don't have internet/smart phone.
Beds: SO comfy. As were linens (as well as towels..thick and plush as they should be!)

There is nothing over the top outstanding about the rooms, other than being well appointed and roomy. The location is prime, however, and couldn't be more convenient to shopping, eating, tours, hiking, and all there is to do in Sedona!

This a dog friendly hotel; if you mind the occasional bark or are allergic, this may not be the place for you. We enjoyed the occasional dog, and it didn't seem there were very many on premise.

BTW, it was too cold for the infinity pool, but the hot tub and pool overlook the red rocks and snoopy rock; the fall colors were delightful and sitting in the hot tub enjoying the stars after a long day of hiking was awesome.

Restaurant: Very good breakfast, and like I said, best Nachos in town!

Regarding Sedona: We didn't plan our hikes, etc, before we got there. If you find yourself in the same situation, do one of the jeep tours FIRST. The guides are great, and will direct you to appropriate hikes and areas of interest tailored to you. Also, what's Sedona without a psychic encounter? We had a couples reading with Banya. She was so spot on it was a little spooky. I would highly recommend her. (On main street Sedona, across from Pink Jeep tours).

I would recommend this hotel for the attentive service (no hassle with the room change, staff always willing to help with planning, etc.) and it's location.

Room Tip: Second floor overlooking Oak Creek. It's worth it for the quiet and the view!
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel has recycling program and green "to go" cups alongside glass mugs.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    131
    57
    6
    9
See reviews for
104
223
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Amara. It was so serene to sit on the balcony overlooking Oak Creek. The pool area was such a beautiful setting with the spectacular view. As we sat outside for dinner, the view of the rocks was totally splendid. The staff was more than friendly. The shuttle took us up the hill to the main street. Ending the day with the wine hour was a nice touch. We loved Sedona and would definitely stay at the Amara again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Kipper27,
Perfection? You are too kind Thank you taking the time to share your experience. Perfect resort, I’m blushing a bit. Thank you for the kind words. I am ecstatic to hear that you that enjoyed your time in Sedona. It truly is an incredible and unique place. I look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Thank you
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was our first time in Sedona and did not know where to stay. This hotel was perfect. Clean, friendly, comfortable, centrally located, local shuttle, and wonderful restaurant. It was too cold to use the inviting pool which will do on our next trip. You cannot go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, but I asked for a sunnier room and it was 2nd floor facing the pool. From the b...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are very environmentally concerned and ask guests to also participate by providing blue baskets for recycle, reuse towels and more.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Auntcaryn,
Surprise and delight....I am very excited that you chose to stay with us and that the Amara was a pleasant surprise. We think we have a small piece of heaven here. I appreciate you sharing your experience with us. I look forward to meeting you on your next stay.
Thank you
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Amara is set in beautiful suroundings in stunning Sedona, overlooked by the gorgeous red rock formation, known as Snoopy. Our room was spacious and nicely appointed, though nothing special considering the top end price. Staff were friendly and very helpful. We arrived around lunchtime and a room was made available early for us, which was much appreciated. Nice bar and good food. However, we felt the restaurant was a bit over priced, which is how we felt about the hotel in general. Not great value for money. The additional resort fees were less than welcome too. Lovely pool, but too small for the size of the hotel, and not many sunbeds around the pool, so can get a bit crowded. No complimentary breakfast. Free wine at 5pm was great though. Hotel Singer was less so. Couple of points to note: on our last day the pool was closed to guests from 3.45 to around 5.30 as there was a wedding, as this was the only time we could get to the pool and our last day of our holiday, this was really disappointing. The only prior warning was a note in the pool area, and no offer of compensation. This reason alone, means we wouldn't rebook. It's also a little bit noisy from outside bar area until around 11pm, so be aware of this if choosing poolside/courtyard rooms. It was a nice hotel, but nothing special and not great value for money. I cant quite put my finger on what's missing, as this could be a really great hotel, but it just isn't. It guess it simply lacks the charm of a smaller boutique hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The staff were super friendly and always helpful. Valet service was very fast and available. Did notice it was pet friendly. The wine hour was very nice to end the day with. The view of the rocks was amazing. The pool area/lounge area is just spectacular. It was a bit of a walk up the hill to the main strip, but they had a shuttle at the ready to take you anywhere you wanted to go. Nice walk in closet. Make sure to go to the Spa next door - its also fantastic. The bar menu as well is very good - we ate there 3 of the 4 nights

Green Features: Recyling efforts were greatly appreciated. the infused water in the morning was also a plus
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed three nights at Amara Resort in Sedona in October 2013. We checked in late at night and were relieved to have a quick, easy, and effortless check-in upon arrival.

Rooms: Rooms were clean and updated. The beds were very comfortable. Only complaint here is that it was an "upgrade" to get a room with a king bed instead of two queens. I haven't seen that before.

Service: The service was very good. The front desk helped us with information on hikes and the local area, even providing some hiking maps. The valets were nice, polite and prompt.The servers in the restaurant were the same. A shuttle was offered for free to take you anywhere within a couple miles of the hotel, which was very nice for dinners.

Restaurant: We only had breakfast there one day, but the service and the food were good. About on par with prices of other local places.

Location: The location was incredible. Right near Oak Creek, shopping in uptown, close to hiking trails, etc. Only downside is it is a little difficult to walk to uptown unless you're geared up for it - the resort is down a very steep hill - but I'm sure the shuttle service would take you to the top if you asked.

Other Info: Highly suggest hiking and getting off the beaten path. Sedona is gorgeous! Take the pink jeep tour. From Amara, walk down to Oak Creek (just beyond the pool), take a right and walk along the creek down to L'Auberge for breakfast. Have breakfast on the water with the ducks swimming by. Fabulous and such a short walk from Amara. Enjoy the happy hours in the evening with a complimentary glass of wine and Amara and live music 6 days a week.

Overall, we loved Sedona and greatly enjoyed our stay at Amara. We were there in what is likely a 'peak' season (October), but we did feel the hotel rates were a bit high (considering we stayed in a room with no view, queen beds, and a $20/day resort fee is tacked on). This is the main reason for giving four instead of five stars - the value. With that said, Amara has many excellent touches and qualities (valet parking, friendly service, recommendations, live music in the evenings, great location). We were very happy with our stay and would stay at Amara again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our first time to sedona and amara. The hotel exceeded our expectations. The staff went out of their way to make sure all was well. The rooms were spacious, clean and the beds were like floating on clouds. The food was good,and the waitstaff efficient. Used the spa for a massage, I would highly recommend this to anyone, as soon As you walk in you feel relaxed and pampered. We liked the fact that the fitness room was open 24 hours. The staff knew good restaurants, and were able to make reservations if needed. They also knew of the best hiking areas and the less touristy
areas to go see. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The courtyard has the best views, but could be a little noisy until 10ish at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
#13 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most neautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to the Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining or the sounds of live music at Hundred Rox, our indoor/outdoor three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.