We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable boutique in a great spot - right by the creek!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% off
Ranked #16 of 45 hotels in Sedona
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Adorable boutique in a great spot - right by the creek!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed at Amara a couple of weeks ago for a company retreat, and had an absolutely great stay. For one, the location (right next to L'Auberge) is terrific, the property line goes right up to the creek, one of the prettiest spots in Arizona. The staff and service were great throughout, and I can't say enough about the food. They have a great outdoor courtyard area with an infinity edge pool, and there's an overall friendly, approachable vibe to the resort. I've stayed at other spots in Sedona where the service verged on too formal, the Amara seems to have found a great balance - everybody was professional, but also genuine and friendly.

Room Tip: Views from the higher floors are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
psny1971,
I wanted to thank you for taking time to share your experience. I'm glad you felt at home in our home and that the staff were relaxed and made you feel like a friend. Chef Ric thanks you for the kind words, as he takes great pride in his food. We hope you see you next time you are in Sedona.

Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    89
    37
    5
    6
See reviews for
68
133
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I were pleased with our stay at Amara this past weekend. We booked a garden side basic room and were a little underwhelmed with the room itself and size. But we weren't in Sedona for the room so that wasn't a big deal. When I booked the room, the staff suggested that the garden side room was a little quieter since it didn't face the pool and it was, but our view was just of a tree and another building. In the future we would pay the up charge for a better view.

The standout feature of this hotel is the staff. From the time we checked in until the time we checked out, all staff members went out of their way to make sure we had what we needed. They have a very pampering attitude.

We loved the free wine tasting hour daily at 5p and the fact that we could do yoga for free on site in the cute little spa. Also, valet is included which was really nice especially when returning from a long day of hiking.

The location is ideal right on the main drag but down a little hill making it feel more secluded. With the creek right behind, we were able to wander down from the pool area onto some big boulders creek side and enjoy the view. And speaking of the pool, the infinity salt water was a nice change. The view from the pool was awesome.

All in all, a great place to stay if you want an upscale feel while still maintaining a relatively practical value for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
AmyNoelle,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Amara. We appreciate the kind words about the team here; they love what they do and where they do it. We are very lucky. I’m glad you enjoyed the wine hour, I love hosting it on Wednesdays and it is the best part of my week. You get to meet some really incredible people and hear about their adventures for that day or week. I love it. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Ca
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My partner and I had an excellent stay at the Amara Resort and Spa. After a long 8 hour drive from San Diego we were greeted with complimentary valet and warm smiles from the woman pouring wine. Check in was quick and easy and the customer service excellent. We stayed in a creek side room on the 2nd floor. The room was nice and the patio facing the creek was exactly what I wanted. Every morning I sat out on that patio and watched the creek flow and the birds sing. The creekside room was nice and quiet and I didn't experience the same level of noise that other travellers have mentioned with the rooms that face the courtyard and have the red rock view. Our creekside room had no red rock view, however, the peace and quiet was well worth it. Although it rained throughout our stay we enjoyed it very much! We still dipped in the pool and the jacuzzi and the rain didn't keep us away from the pool side cabanas. The staff throughout our stay were excellent, they were always helpful and accomodating. Everyone we spoke to was kind and friendly and eager to suggest different Sedona activities. My only complaint is that the complimentary morning coffee was terrible but it's free coffee, so it came with a catch. We will definitely be back to Sedona, it was beautiful and the Amara resort added to the wonderful experience.

Room Tip: creekside rooms provide more patio privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel and all its facilities are exactly as described - nothing was less than top-quality.
The surrounding views were spectacular, the room was quiet and peaceful, yet the hotel is only 200 yards from Sedona's main street
The staff were all friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
As an example, we mentioned at the desk that our room-safe didn't work; it wasn't a problem for us, but might be for the next guest.
We returned about 4 hours later to find that a brand new safe had been installed!
I don't know many businesses that could source and install a new piece of equipment in that short time.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms overlook the spa and/or the outside dining area, but you can always look up at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I LOVE desert swimming pools with spectacular views and this certainly has one! Goes near the top of my list.

We had quality service (except one person) from housekeeping to wait staff to valet. Everyone was gracious from helping me look for a lost cooler, to giving tips on where to get the best vistas. Our room was comfortable and provided all amenities needed. There was good coffee in the lobby in the morning and the wine reception in the evening. The bar made good drinks, and our dinner and breakfast were both enjoyable.

Our check-in went smoothly except the receptionist seemed uninterested/distracted and even though the hotel was not full, gave us a room with a view of a pool wall and back of a cabana. I'm a Kimpton member paying a last minute booking rack rate so not sure why we were given the no view room. Since it was for one night we stayed put. Plenty of nice views from public locations at the resort. Kimpton did a nice job with the makeover of this mid-century property.

The path and area down by the creek could use some sprucing up. Not as attractive as it could be.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
pucgal,
Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback about your stay at the Amara. I’m sorry to hear that your interaction at check in was less desirable and you didn’t feel the Kimpton love when you arrived. That is very disappointing. I appreciate you bringing it to our attention so that we can address it. It was great to hear your kind comments about the rest of your experience and we will certainly share that with the team.
We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the property in the near future. We are hoping to complete a small renovation of the guest rooms and lobby area early next year to add a little of the Kimpton flair.
Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked a three day weekend at the Amara resort. We booked a king size room with a creek view and hot a king suite with creek and pool view. The suite was simply gorgeous!! Clean room and bathroom, comfortable bed, great view. The only remark is that the side of the resort where the creek view rooms are located are a little bit separated from the rest of the rooms, so when it rains, you don't walk under covered area. But that's really no big deal, considering the view you are getting with these rooms. The hotel restaurant served great food, and you will be entertained by quite talented singers.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Nice little hotel with friendly staff, I enjoyed the pool area, and the cabanas are nice and they don't charge extra for those. I liked the happy hour drinks (free), coffee in a.m. and breakfast was pretty good too. All in all, great location with nice views. There is a great little hike behind the property, friendly and priced right too.

Room Tip: We had second floor overlooking pool and Snoopy Rock, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#15 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most neautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to the Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining or the sounds of live music at Hundred Rox, our indoor/outdoor three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.