We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice overall with some room for improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% off
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very nice overall with some room for improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Amara Resort is located just minutes away from the heart of the main strip of Sedona. The caveat is that it's down a very steep hill so walking to the street level can be daunting for some. They do offer a shuttle service but I find that slightly inconvenient since I would rather walk. However, the location allows for the hotel to be secluded while very close to the action, which makes the overall location great.

The service seemed very good. We were checked in by Teah and she was very friendly and efficient. Kimpton had just recently purchased the hotel so we didn't know if we would get our Inner Circle benefits at the hotel. However, we found that they had taken care to leave "treats" in our room and had even gotten balloons and a card (signed by about 10 staff) for our daughter who was celebrating a birthday that weekend. That special touch is what makes Kimpton hotels stand out in general and Amara met that high standard. However, I would say that the staff friendliness in general seemed a little less than other Kimpton's we've stayed (which means that the service was still very good).

We were a little disappointed with our room, we had a view of a wall and outside storage area with stacks of bottled water (we were on the first floor). Also, there were these three small windows covered with blinds that did not seal out the sunlight so the room in the morning was too bright. The beds were fine, great bath amenities as you would expect at a Kimpton and overall the room was good but could have been better.

My only really complaint was with the pool area. We really liked the pool area but the seating was too limited. When we went out to use the pool at 2pm, all of the spots were taken. There are three "cabanas" that occupy a significant portion of the pool deck and they are available on a first come, first serve basis. While I applaud the generosity of doing cabanas that way (I really do, it's nice to see a hotel not nickel & dime people), it just creates a situation where people get up very early in the morning and claim them. So then there are probably about about a dozen chaise loungers left and a couple of miscellaneous chairs. Those cabanas could be removed and the number of chaise loungers greatly expanded. We found it very irritating to be at a 100 room property and have no spots at the pool available since this is usually an issue only at large resorts in our experience. I would also point out that the staff person manning the towel spot was probably the only example of mediocre service we received at the property but don't weigh that too heavily since we were irritated to have to wait about 30 minutes for an open spot.

The Hundred Rox restaurant was good at breakfast. The service was good and the food was very good. We ate outside on the patio and the morning atmosphere at the hotel with the view was very nice.

We also really enjoyed the live music in the evening. They had a guitar player over the 4th of July weekend and when they lit the firepits, it made for a relaxing evening.

To recap, we would definitely recommend the Amara if you are traveling to Sedona. It's location is wonderful, the overall property is really nice and the staff is welcoming. There is room for improvement but I imagine that Kimpton will "upgrade" some things once they appraise the property. We enjoyed our trip to Sedona (our first time there) and we expect to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
TudorTravels,
Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback about your stay and the property. We are certainly excited to have a Kimpton property in Sedona and look forward to raising the bar. We are very fortunate to have incredible people like Teah that are able to have such an amazing impact on you and your daughter. We certainly appreciate your loyalty to Kimpton and thank you for celebrating your daughter’s special birthday with us.
I am so happy that you enjoyed your breakfast; I honestly feel we have the best food in Sedona. We certainly have some areas of opportunity but your honest feedback is greatly appreciated. I am sorry we missed the mark on service in a couple of areas but will use this to improve service levels. As we go through the renovation of the property the pool area is certainly an area we want to improve upon.
Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    108
    40
    5
    8
See reviews for
81
164
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Enjoyed our stay...but have to say they don't meets your needs when you call front desk gor service. Honestly, request some simple like toilet paper and 1 1/2 hrs later still didn't show up...had to go find some on a housekeeping cart. That is what I will take with me as a reminder of customer service. Shame shame!! The guys in the parking area were excellent!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
4louisesw,
I am so very sorry that you had this experience. This is beyond disappointing and upsetting. I appreciate your honest feedback and it is certainly something we will address. Clearly valets made a positive impression on you and the team can learn from that. I hope will give us another opportunity in the future to show you a much more enjoyable and memorable experience.

Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel has recently been taken over by the Kimpton property line and they have once again turned an average hotel into a true gem. It begins with the valet/bellman that greet you upon arrival and assist you to the front desk for check-in, might I add that the lobby is very fresh and inviting with the recent remodel. We dined at the resturant for lunch and dinner and all of the wait staff were very friendly and accommodating. The Amara resort is on its way to becoming one of the most popular places to stay in Sedona from my opinion. The last time we were in Sedona we stayed at the Enchantment resort which turned out to be nothing more than a well maketed dud in our eyes, we would reccomend to anyone the Amara resort over the Enchantment resort. For us its all about service quality, property condition and attention to detail and they nailed all three. The most important benefit for us is that they are BEYOND pet friendly and since we don't travel without our pet we are able to stay somewhere that doesn't make you feel unwanted. At this point we feel spoiled and will not give our business to any other property line, we hope they continue to grow as it's always refreshing to be able to visit somewhere new. Well done Amara staff you have earned a repeat customer.

Room Tip: Pool View closer to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Travelin Dog g
Thank you for the wonderful comments about the team and the property. We are very excited to have Kimpton in Sedona as well. One of the best parts of staying at Kimpton is being able to bring your pet without any hassle which is extremely important for me as well. We always want Sparky to feel as important as his parents. We look forward to your next visit with us. And don’t forget to tell your friends about us. Please let me know if I can be of any assistance.


Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed for two nights at the newly rejuvenated Amara Kimpton resort July 4 & July 5.

I was planning a trip to Arizona/Grand Canyon when I received an email as a Kimpton Member alerting me to the newly refurbished resort. I was excited as my previous stays with Kimpton have been extraordinarily memorable (Seattle and DC).

I have to agree with chadz78 - the resort and its location in uptown Sedona is nice, making it walkable to restaurants. The room (101) I stayed in was an accessibility room (why? I never requested for it), was barely average with a view of a wall, and a painful showerhead designed to point only at some one sitting down. When I checked-in, of course I didn't see the shower :( The next morning, on my way out, I asked the front desk to fix the showerhead so I wouldn't have to perform any aerobics to just get a shower. Late that night when we returned from our day trip, I discovered it wasn't fixed. Exhausted, I gave up.

I wouldn't be staying here again. I thought I paid nicely for a good room and a first-rate resort ($387 for 2 nights) however the room was below expectations.

The staff was overall nice as Kimpton staff usually is.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get the accessibility room if you don't need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
ZunairaD
Thank you for taking the time to provide your honest feedback about the property. My apologies that you were placed in an accessible room and your request to have the problem resolved was not addressed appropriately. That is frustrating and disappointing. I am sorry that your Sedona Holiday getaway was not what you anticipated. The property will go under a renovation here in the next year, specifically the guest rooms. I hope that if your travels take you back Sedona that you will give us another opportunity.

Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Amara for one night July 1-2. The overall hotel property is very nice, but the rooms were not as nice as expected. The walls were thin, allowing noise from the hallway to travel through. The shower controls were slightly confusing and once we figured it out the temperature didn't warm up. We both felt the beds/pillows were lumpy and did not have a good nights sleep. Those issues aside, the resort was beautiful. Located right in Sedona, there is easy access to main street with food and shopping. The scenery around the resort is fabulous. We were not there long enough to enjoy the spa or pool. We had breakfast at Hundred Rox in the morning and it was outstanding. The staff at the hotel were all great and made us feel welcome. They addressed our concerns when raised and did everything they could to help us enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
chadz78
My apologies your stay wasn’t the relaxing experience you were anticipating during your short time in Sedona.
I do appreciate your honesty and willingness to share your feedback. As a newly acquired Kimpton property, renovations to the guest rooms will happen over the next year and this feedback is certainly helpful. We are very proud of the restaurant team and food our talented chefs produce. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back after the renovation.
Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

First off, the hotel itself is absolutely immaculate. Great location, amazing view, and very well managed. Second, the food at the hotel restaurant was surprisingly decadent. The ribs and the rib eye were as good as any i have had. Third, the room. Wow. Every detail and need was met. Portable device charging station, hd tv standard on every channel, biiiig walk in closet, and a great shower. We are coming back. Top shelf. Top notch.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Berger_inferno,
Can't wait to see you again!!!!
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience. We are very proud of the property, the team, and chefs that create such incredible food. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The location of this hotel was perfect because it was within walking distance of shops and restaurants and close to Slide Rock and numerous trailheads. They also have a free shuttle that will take you anywhere you want to go within a certain distance of the hotel. Their pool and courtyard areas with the beautiful view were our favorite places to hang out. In the evening they offered free wine in the lobby and there was a pianist playing out in the courtyard. It is a pet friendly hotel, (we do not have pets) but there was no evidence such as smell or fur anywhere so their housekeeping staff must do a wonderful job ensuring all areas are cleaned thoroughly. All the staff were very friendly, greeting and visiting with us each time we came through the lobby. We would definitely stay there again and strongly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Jburnsey,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience. We are very proud of the property and the team and share your amazing comments with them. We are very fortunate that we have amazing people that love what they do and where they do it. Next time your travels take you to Sedona we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#13 Family Hotel in Sedona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#13 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most neautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to the Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining or the sounds of live music at Hundred Rox, our indoor/outdoor three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.